We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who doesn't offer free wi-fi anymore”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #103 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. We were able to walk to and from Penn Station in about 15 minutes. It is also convenient to get to Time Square (again about 15 min walk) and very close to Grand Central Station. Had a 2 night stay this past weekend and my 2 gripes are there is no complimentary Wi-Fi in the room. It's $9.95 for a day and $19.95 for 2 days. Also our room smelled like smoke the first night even though we were in a non-smoking room. The front desk clerk explained that smoke sometimes travels through the vents, well YES it does, very easily. Had to wash clothes in suitcase that I didn't even wear. Hard to tolerate that smell if you're not used to being around it. Other than that, it's quiet. I only heard neighbors in the hall the next morning, so great construction and insulation of walls. Nice bathroom, spacious room for NYC.

Room Tip: If you smell smoke, let the front desk know, maybe they can run more ventilation? I doubt it though...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapeeape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
There are newer reviews for Kitano New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

my wife ,son and myself stayed on business/leisure travel for the first time in new York city. my company put me up at the Kitano for 3 days two nights. very close to my now favorite restaurant sarge's delicatessen. this hotel is located on the nicest streets near grand central terminal. very quiet area except for the yellow cabs who seem to always toot their horn at other cars.

property is huge but my family and I decided to walk around new York city and take in the sights and sound of nearby times square and central park. Cant wait to get back to NYC in June.

staff was first class all the way.

Room Tip: ask for a view facing park avenue.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived on a saturday and the staff was very pleasant. It's normally 500.00 a night so we got a very good deal off travel zoo. The hotel itself is gorgeous, and it's in a great part of the city. I would mention a few things though..

A. Room is kind of small, but good for NY size properties.
B. We were given the option of smoking/non smoking and chose non. We still had a room that smelled like cigarettes. It was kind of unpleasant at first, but it did bother us. Be sure to check that before you unpack.

C. They charge you for anything in the mini bar with a sensor based technology. So be careful before you open the fridge. There is no way to store food in the room that requires refrigeration. It kind of sucked because we wanted to take some stuff back with us.


Other than that, loved the hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a non-smoking room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Centrally located to midtown attractions. Elegant amenities including a towel warmer. Very quiet and spacious for NYC. No comp wifi. We booked a no smoking room however smoke from other rooms entered ours. When will public smoking be banned in NYC? The hotel is located 2 blocks from Grand Central on beautiful Park Ave and surrounded by convenient stores and restaurants. Great little Jazz club for intimate evening performances when you're too tired after a day of walking and jumping subway trains. A bargain especially if you book early.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Thanks to past reviewers on TripAdvisor, I booked my family of 4 for 5 nights. We stayed in a double-queen bed room, which was a bit of a bunk up with the kids, but we were hardly there, so no problem. Check in was seamless, even at midnight. The Kitano, on Park Ave, is well appointed and clean, with good housekeeping. It's a short stroll to Grand Central Station and is just around the corner from the Empire State Building. Times Square is a pleasant walk, or a short subway ride from Grand Central. We were there Easter weekend and Times Square was so busy it was hard to move, so glad we didn't get a hotel there, where room rates were double what we paid at the Kitano. Highly recommended as a quality, central, hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Recently back from New York with my wife , wedding anniversary surprise . Found the Kitano Hotel to be in an ideal location for Manhatton, Grand Central station only a short distance away and from there the whole of Manhatton is accessible . The hotel staff were very welcoming and professional . The hotel itself was very tranquil after the hussle and bussle of New York , the room we had was great ,very comfortable and spacious . I can recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York , central , comfortable , friendly and very peaceful ....

Room Tip: Advise hotel prior to arriving if its for a special occasion , they upgraded us to a corner suite !!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here in December for our sons wedding.Reception rude we had booked a no smoking room confirmed by e mail.My daughter in law had confirmed the day before also.On arrival we were told this had not been booked,having given him the e mail he then went off to copy.Gave us a key to a none smoking room no apology offered.Returning back from the wedding with the new in laws also staying in the hotel.We asked where was the bar to have a last drink before bed.Was told very rude again there was a private function on we would have to order room service.We just went to bed.
Cannot fault the rooms then again the price you pay it should be good for a 4 star hotel.Staff need training in how to treat guest.Coming from the UK we have always had wonderful service all over USA until now.

Room Tip: If you want a none smoking room be sure to take a confirmation e mail with you
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#84 of 468 in New York City
2,503 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £172 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing