We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made a bride VERY VERY Happy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Made a bride VERY VERY Happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

I stayed at The Kitano for my wedding weekend. I had a suite on the top floor which was lovely. My bridesmaids got ready there with me and we had plenty of space. The large bath tub was perfect for relaxing before my big day.
We also had block of rooms (about 45) for guests. All the rooms were VERY clean and spacious. The rates were good too. The staff was friendly and ready to help with anything.
We had our rehersal dinner in the Penthouse. The space is beautiful with amazing views of The Crystler Building and The Empire State Building. The food was excellent and so was the service.
The hotels location is ideal. As it's on Park Avenue it's in a very safe area that's also quite but a quick walk to Times Square.
This hotel is a win all around!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chapetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    412
    104
    32
    16
See reviews for
235
418
79
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phila
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

Just returned from a quick weekend stay at the Kitano. The hotel is lovely, the staff overly accomodating. I am a member of the Summit Hotel I Prefer club and we got upgraded to a corner room with a great view of Grand Central Station and Park Ave. The live jazz at the bar on Sat. night is excellent too. The room was quite large with ba small couch and chair, flat screen tv, desk and king size bed. The bathroom was roomy and the amenities from Gilchrest and Soames were a nice touch . I got a GREAT rate on expedia too so all in all this was a wonderful stay. (Grand Central is only 3 blocks away so it is quite convenient to anywhere in the city)

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Our six night stay at the Kitano was entirely agreeable. A very clean, quiet, and well run establishment. Assuming one can get a fairly reasonable rate, I see no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — polite staff
  • Disliked — we have no complaints to report
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eschatology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

I had a comfortable, relaxing stay at the Kitano. I was in New York for business and this hotel gave me everything I needed - a convenient location, a very clean, modern, QUIET, comfortable room, reliable internet service, free access to a gym, and an extremely polite and helpful staff. The room had a huge flat screen TV, a spacious bathroom, a large, comfortable bed, and absolutely NO NOISE from the street. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Noise level, cleanliness, comfort, staff, gym access, restaurant, reliable internet
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeliz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We booked the Kitano at out local Thomas Cook Travel Agent and were not disappointed! This break was to celebrate my 50th birthday in November and also my husbands 50th which he celebrated in December.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff and our bags were taken to our room for us. We didn't fancy the green tea which was available in the room so the porter kindly brought us some nescafe!!!
The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a huge t.v on the wall. The bedding and towels were changed on a daily basis and the room was a comfortable haven to return to after a days sightseeing!
When we arrived the mist was down but in the morning we opened the curtains to a view of the Empire State building. The hotel is situated in an ideal location for sightseeing in New York...it was really easy to visit all the 'main landmarks' i.e. Macy's, Rockerfeller Centre, Times Square, in fact we were able to walk to them!
The hotel staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We enjoyed an excellent jazz session at the hotels bar.
I would certainly recommend the Kitano to anyone visiting New York and thank them for making my birthday an occasion to remember....they even provided a card and plate of fresh fruit for my 'special' day!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Green tea!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

Our stay in this hotel was great overall with the highlight being the excellent service the staff provided from the moment we arrived.

The Kitano is quite a small hotel by New York standards, but that means you are more than simply a face walking through the door. It caters for a both business and leisure travellers, and I would recommend it for either based on this experience.

We arrived at about noon on a Sunday and check-in is not officially until 2pm, but that did not phase the desk clerk checking us in. She offered us three rooms, with a rundown of the virtues or potential issues of each, before then contacting housekeeping to ask if a different one was available. Within twenty minutes of arriving I was in the room freshening up, so that seems pretty good service to me.

During the course of the week we had cause to contact reception at midnight one evening about problem neighbours in the room next to ours, and the issue was immediately resolved by a courteous desk clerk and a helpful security guard.

The only reservation I would have in recommending the hotel would be to guide anyone who has children or wants peace and quiet to press for a room on an upper floor, as we were on the fifth floor and could clearly hear the live jazz music from the bar every evening from Wednesday to Sunday. This only lasts until about eleven-thirty, but is noticeable even over the sound of the television, so could considerably detract from a peaceful stay for some travellers.

That aside, the room was a good size and the double-glazing is fantastic - barely any street noise can filter through. The decor is still fresh and looks relatively recently refurbished, and all the facilities one would expect from a 4-star hotel are in evidence. The only area we cannot comment on is the food as we ate out all week, enjoying the variety of options in New York instead. The breakfast option was pricey, but in line with western hotels everywhere of this standard, so should not surprise travellers.

Our stay lasted six nights and it was a good base for a longer stay such as ours. The location is good; Grand Central station is four (?) blocks north and can be seen from the entrance to the hotel, or there is a subway station five blocks south on the same street, so it is great for the subway. Being mid-town means you can reach anywhere relatively easy and for us meant plenty of opportunity to walk when we wanted, or not if we didn't.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was a great recommendation by our travel agent, so hope others will give it a go too.

  • Liked — Service from the staff
  • Disliked — Noise from the live jazz music some evenings
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We had an excellent room on the 6th floor for our 8-day stay (covering the NY Marathon and the Obama election!): no great view but by crouching you could just glimpse the top of the Empire State building. Spacious room, enormous triple bed, luxurious bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff at all levels: we asked beforehand by email for blankets instead of a duvet and blankets had duly been substituted before we arrived. Free NY Times delivered to your room daily (exc. Sundays).

There's an efficient water heater (like an electric kettle) for the Japanese green tea provided, but if you want to use it for ordinary tea or coffee, take your own (and buy fresh milk from a nearby deli for the small refrigerator). No biscuits (cookies), nor sweeteners, are provided. Internet access in the room is fast and efficient and not unduly expensive at just under $10 for any 24 hours.

Eating in the Kitano was much too expensive for us but there are plenty of alternatives. We strongly recommend Bloom's Deli and Café on Lexington (corner of E40th St: http://nymag.com/listings/restaurant/blooms-delicatessen/) for splendid and affordable breakfasts, and lunches and dinners too. Much better and cheaper than the place in Pershing Square opposite Grand Central recommended by others. There are good Indian and Chinese restaurants as well as ordinary diners in easy walking distance: explore Lexington and Third Ave. between about 30th and 45th Streets. And don't miss the surprisingly affordable Oyster Bar and Restaurant inside Grand Central Station -- one of the sights and experiences of New York.

Brian Barder (London, UK)
http://www.barder.com/ephems/

  • Liked — Spacious room, cleanliness, helpful staff, good location
  • Disliked — A bit of a trudge to the nearest subway. Eating in the hotel very expensive.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing