We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Location - but where is the tea & coffee?!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #109 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab Location - but where is the tea & coffee?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

My hubby and I went in March for a long weekend - the Hotel is in a fantastic location , the rooms are good sizes but no tea & coffee in the rooms! Very helpful staff - we could not connect to the internet, so they didn't charge us, and we had access to the computer in the business rooms at no extra charge! Breakfast was a little expensive but it was good!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    412
    104
    32
    16
See reviews for
235
418
79
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Whenever we visit New York we try to stay here. The Kitano is in Murray Hill, a quiet residential neighborhood in Midtown. The hotel is right around the corner from the Morgan Library and is convenient to the Empire State Building, Grand Central Terminal, and other points of interest.

Choose a "Premier Room" if possible. These rooms are only slightly more expensive than the lowest-cost option and offer space and comfort that are unheard-of in Manhattan hotels. Also, the soundproofing throughout the hotel is extremely efficient so traffic noises do not intrude.

The Kitano is not a destination for tour groups so you won't encounter middle-aged people in t-shirts and shorts with lots of screaming children in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caravanseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I arrived at check-in time, exactly 3 pm. I was told by the desk clerk that if I wanted an up-grade, I would need to return 30 minutes later. Being tired after traveling and going around the city, I declined (BIG MISTAKE!). My room was on the 3rd floor, much lower than previous visits. Outside there was a loose manhole cover so that, whenever a vehicle hit it, I heard a loud thump. At bedtime, the jazz band on the floor beneath was causing the whole room to vibrate. Previous stays at the Kitano were much better, I must say.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

my husband i and decided to go to nyc for the he; he to a concert and me to see some friends. we checked out expedia and came up with a few hotels. we wanted to stay close to grand central and on the east side...and then we took the cheapest one.
the walk from GCT to the kitano is 3 minutes...no cab...just a very short walk. the location for our purposes was fantastic...
at check in, the staff was courteous, but not overly friendly. we were the only ones checking in at that time(which i might add was early, so that was great), so it was very quick. they asked us if we wanted smoking or non..which in this day and age in the us, i found kinda wierd. i asked why they had smoking rooms and she told me that because they had a lot of japanese businessmen, they had to have smoking rooms. ok.
we got up to our room on the 6th floor, and we could smell the smoke. now, i smoked for many years and the smell does not bother me at all, but let me tell you, it stunk. between the smoke smell and the cleaning products that were used afterwards, it was awful. we decided to open the windows, turn on the air, and leave it like that until we came back. if it still smelled we would deal with it later.
by doing that we dulled the smell. however, there was always a faint smell in the hallway and in the room and lobby.
i called downstairs on sunday am to ask for a later checkout(just needed an extra 1/2 hour or so) and was told that they were very buzy and could not. ok. they then called back 2 minutes later and said we could check out at 1. a little unorganized.
the room was fine but a little small. the bathroom was great-awesome water pressure in shower. the bed was fine. there was a flat screen with not too many channels but fine for us. for a former nyer it was not loud, but for some it might be. the room was small but perfect for our needs.
we were there for less than 24 hours and again, it was fine. if i had paid what they normal rate is i would have been livid. rooms are def a little dated and worn and could use a sprucing.
the location in fantastic-right in midtown-close to all things in midtown. i walked to dinner on park ave so(where all the cool resturants are) and it was great.
but, if you cant stand the smell of smoke, this is not the place for you...
would i stay here again, probably not...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shmemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

My wife and i stayed here on our honeymoon for 5 nights and I could not fault the place at all.

Its in a great location, its got great staff, the resturant is very nice, I'm not a big jazz fan but we had a couple of drinks and listened to a very talented performer.
The room is silent even during heavy traffic is a mad feeling looking outover a busy new york street just 5 floors up and hearing noting.

The hotel is clean, friendly and welcoming what more could you ask for in the city that never sleeps.

If your in New York in winter why not visit the Bronx zoo, its a fab day out but quiet far away, oh and the Statue of Liberty looks amazing from the ground where you will be staying like us if you didnt know that you cant go up the statue unless you have ticket purchased on line.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for the first time in June, 2010; it was selected by his company for its guests to NY. I am from New York and we both had lived there before moving elsewhere and any subsequent visit to NY involved a disappointing hotel stay. The Kitano, however, not only lived up to the reviews on Trip Advisor, it exceeded them. From our first point of contact with the front door staff member Amin, to the daily service staff, our needs were answered quickly and politely. I know some reviews have criticized the front desk staff for rudeness; we did not experience that although the difference in cultures (the Kitano caters to and is almost completely staffed by Japanese) may make some Americans feel less comfortable than they would with American employees.
Nevertheless, we felt the hotel and the staff were wonderful and we are spoiled for any other hotel in NY.
The front lobby is small but opulent with very comfortable chairs and couches. There is a reserved, subdued hush in the lobby that is echoed throughout the hotel. We requested a corner room with a view on a higher floor; we stayed in 1108 and had a great view of the Empire State Building. The room itself was quite big in terms of what you would usually see in NY; we had a double premier room. As you walk in the room you see a small open dressing area with a built-in chest of drawers and mirror; across from this is a very spacious closet with complimentary robes and slippers. In addition to two sets of large windows (which do open slightly) we had a small sitting area with a couch, chair and low coffee table as well as a desk and chair. The beds were extremely comfortable with a varied selection of pillows. And the best thing, besides the view, was the absolute quiet of the room. Once in your room, you never hear anyone else on the floor or outside unless you open your windows. And New York is a loud, busy place even in the middle of the night.
The hotel is in a very handy location for shopping (Fifth Avenue is two blocks away) transportation (about four blocks from Grand Central) and nightlife (Third Avenue in the 30s and 20s is full of bars and restaurants and only two blocks east.) There are always taxis outside if needed. And within a five block radius of the hotel you can find Duane Reade, a drug store; numerous diners; the New York Public Library and enough New York architecture to keep your interest, if you are inclined to walk around.
We did have the hotel breakfast once or twice because of the convenience; it was expensive (about $28) but that's what you expect in NY hotels. If you can get out, just go to one of the many diners for your breakfast, the front door staff or concierge are happy to direct you.
As we stayed in the hotel for about 8 nights, we got to know some of the accommodating staff. Most notable is the aforementioned Amin, who staffs the large front doors. He is a welcoming, happy person and will eagerly answer any questions you may have. He also posed for a photo with me in honor of the upcoming World Cup games! (He is from Ghana, and the US was to play them in the tournament.) Our weekday housekeeping staff was very good as well; I did see the standards slip somewhat in the room-cleaning during the weekend days. But really, the room was always left clean and comfortable for the most part. The other service members are helpful to a fault; one day I had a bouquet of flowers and requested a vase; I was given a choice of two. A word about the Japanese tea kettle; it's a great invention and much better than a cheap coffee maker. If you don't like green tea, bring your own hot beverage of choice---cups are already there.
We did utilize the hotel valet parking service; while a bit expensive ($40 a day) it was necessary. If you want to take public transportation you can walk to Grand Central Station for the subway (many lines converge at the terminal) or use the New York City buses (ask at the front desk for information if you are not sure.)
There are so many things to do in New York, most visitors to the city can wear themselves out trying to get them all done. But the Kitano Hotel can offer a restful retreat from this 24-hour city and allow you to recharge in a tasteful setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Like all New York hotels, rooms were small but clean. The bed looked more like a king single than a double but in the city that never sleeps it didnt matter. We were in a great spot on 38th and Park Ave just USD6 cab ride from Time Square and a short walk from Grand Central Terminal. Airport shuttle drops and picks up from Grand Central. Internet is expensive though and they closed off the terrace which is just criminal, those views of Empire state and Chrysler are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulastaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing