We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Beacon”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the Beacon”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Loved the location, the staff and the room! We will come back! Always stay on the Upper West when we visit NYC, and The Beacon is now our new favourite hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carinao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,099
    1,142
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,357
981
117
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just wanted to say thank you for an enjoyable stay at Hotel Beacon. My girlfriends and I travelled to the US last month and spent 10 days in New York. We had a comfortable 2 bedroom suite and we were welcomed with some goodies on arrival. The location was very convenient, very central to nearby shops, cafes and the subway. The staff were also very friendly and helpful at reception!

My parents and relatives have also stayed at the Hotel Beacon several times so I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family!

We will be visiting again hopefully same time next year :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Went to NYC for 4 nights on business and stayed here. Was surprised at how up-scale the place was. Immaculately clean room. Did the obligatory complete check for bed bugs and none found. The room had an equipped kitchenette with a real stovetop, dishes, pots and pans. Microwave and fridge and a kitchenette sink. I found this useful as the hotel is right across the street from Fairway Market. The desk help was very pleasant and helpful. Best part of the hotel I thought was how peaceful it was. After a long day at work ,the hustle and bustle of NYC felt miles away. I would recommend this place to anyone. I stayed on the 10th floor and knew others staying in the building on other floors and they all said it was a similar experience, excellent in everyway.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel was fabulous!! Very roomy! We had a king suite which included a small kitchen.
We shopped at the market across the street. There is also a wine store 2 doors down.
We found the neighbourhood to be quiet & felt quite safe. We were 4 women travelling alone.
The theatre next door was closed but looks like a beauty!
Getting around wasn't difficult at all as the subway station is only 2 blocks away. Central Park is very close to walk to as well.
The staff was fantastic other than a couple of men working at guest services whom we found to be quite rude to us. The doormen are great fun!!
Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Booked four nights at this Upper West Side hotel (W75th and Broadway) mostly due the good reviews on this site and was not dissappointed. Room (double double) was clean, nice up-to-date decor, bigger than usual including the marble bathroom. While not inexpensive this is good value ($235/night for two of us) and the location is close to subways, Central Park, Lincoln Center and lots of great brunch, lunch and dinner restaurants on neighbouring Amsterdam Avenue all the way up to the W90's. Room has a little kitchenette with a two-burner cooktop, minifridge, sink, dishes for two etc. and one of the best Manhattan supermarkets right across the street open til 1 am. so although we never cooked, we were well set up for light breakfast or late night snackin. Staff were efficient and friendly. Only downside: $9.95 a day for WiFi, which isn't really clear on their web site. I am a pretty fussy hard-to-please guy and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gulfislandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The 2 double bed suite we had was spacious and well equipped. Normally they are smaller than they look in the photo - our room surprised us as it was bigger than we were expecting! The hotel is very good value, and as a result we could afford a suite rather than a room.
Perhaps because of the value, WiFi wasn't inclusive - the only hotel we stayed in during our trip that didn't include this.
The Fairway market opposite the hotel has all the food you need, and the kitchenette was a fantastic facility that enabled us to easily do breakfasts in the room. Location was convenient too - being just a short walk from the subway station. At the end of our trip, the hotel were only too happy to store our bags for the day before we had to go back to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRT_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is the fifth time we stayed in this hotel.
I love the hotel and the neighborhood.
It is a rather simple hotel (3.5 stars), the location is excellent in the upper west side.
The rooms are large for NY and all have kitchenettes. There are suites available with one or two bedrooms and a living room which is excellent for a family.
The prices are very reasonable for NY.
The hotel was renovated about three years ago (a little late in my opinion), and now has modern amenities and very nice, pleasant rooms.
Just across the street you have Fairway Market, Starbucks, Citarella gourmet, and a nice diner in the hotel building.
The subway is 2 min from the hotel.
As I said, I love the location and the hotel even though it is not a 4-5 stars hotel I usually stay at.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing