We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Beacon
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$503
US$365
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$335
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$220
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$492
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,027)
Filter reviews
4,027 results
Traveller rating
2,471
1,298
176
55
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,471
1,298
176
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairway marketupper west sidecentral parkviand cafesmall kitchenettelevain bakerygreat supermarketnew yorkone bedroom suitestrawberry fieldsstreet subwaytimes squarelaundry roomexpress trainnatural history museumlincoln centershort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,504 - 2,509 of 4,027 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Beacon and the rooms were fantastic sized, very clean and cleaning staff were lovely. The location was fabulous and had a fantastic little comedy club a few streets up where Chris Rock turned up whilst we were there. Funny dude! There was some nice little restaurants locally and a great grocery store directly across the road. Only negative was the staff (apart from doormen and cleaning staff) were really rude and not interested in helping with information at all other than giving us a map. The hotel was really busy with groups of people coming and going constanly but the rooms are nice and quiet and spacious and free internet connection down in the lobby. Other than a few rude staff members this is a great place to stay and we cant wait to get back there!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a 1 bedroom suite on the 12th floor. Very quite room, although the aircon can get a little noisy, and if you get a noisy neighbour, the walls can be a little thin. Best things were: loads of space (although bathroom could be a little bigger), location (next to Fairway market, liquor store, and 100 yards from subway), good little kitchenette. Maid service was fine, although a couple of times we weren't left any tea/coffee and had to ring down for some, but no big deal. Highly recommended. Not particularly cheap, but you'll do very well to find anything better value round here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at the Beacon on our honeymoon/around the world trip. From the time we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff were accommodating and friendly. Were assigned a room on the 10th floor overlooking Broadway. Had a great view and no street noise. The room was ideal for us as we wanted something nice without being over the top. Hotel rooms in NYC can be quite expensive but the Beacon was reasonably priced - cheaper than many similar standard hotels. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. Having a kitchenette was also useful for making small meals/snacks. We found the location to be absolutely perfect. Coming from Australia, we found that the hotel was within easy reach of the subway which in turn made visiting the main sites of NYC a breeze. Although there was no restaurant in the hotel, the diner next door was fine. The Fairways across the road was a revelation. We were over there every day!! There are hundreds of other food options available - all within an easy subway ride. I would definitley stay here again and would recommend The Beacon to others. Great hotel + Great location + great service = great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a birthday weekend. Whenever I visit NYC with the family, our favourite area is the upper west side and our favorite is the Beacon.
Nothing bad to say other than our hallway smelled a bit smoky. Thankfully that smell did not carry into our 1 bedroom suite. The room was perfect for 4 of us and the kitchenette came in handy for pre-dinner drinks with our other friends who were staying at the Beacon (12 in all). I recommend the liqour store beside the hotel for champagne and the Fairway market across the street for fresh OJ!!

When staying here, we truly felt like at home. The room was clean and quiet and very comfortable and well maintained. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would love to be one of the permanent residents of this lovely place.

Great shopping nearby, Cafe Viand next door for breakfast, or if you wanted to get really creative Citarella gourmet food shop across the street. Of course, we also ate at Grays Papaya which is a stone's throw to the south.

Highly, highly, highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Splurge on a 1 bedroom suite - great value and space for NYC!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YYZpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you've ever dreamt about having your own Manhattan apartment but reality dicates a short stay in a hotel is more feasable, I recommend a stay at the Hotel Beacon on the Upper West Side. My husband & I stayed at this hotel about 7 years ago, and the hotel has been significantly upgraded during this time. We were assigned a room on the 9th floor, located next to the elevators. The room was spacious for 2 adults - two closets (one with a safe), a living area with a 3-seater sofa which may have had a pullout bed (I didn't check); 2 flat screen TV's - one on the bedroom, one in the living area; a cozy kitchenette with fridge, stove, oven, etc; a queen-sized bed; some drawer space; and a small but usable bathroom - the water pressure was average but heated up quickly and stayed warm throughout the shower. A door seperated the living area from the bedroom for added privacy. There is a significant number of channels available on the TV so finding something to watch shouldn't be difficult. The room had 2 large windows overlooking the NYC cityscape. Adorable artwork lining the walls provided a more comfortable "home" feel rather than just a hotel room. Wi-Fi was provided for a "nominal fee" and you had to get a code from the reception desk - we never used this service so I'm unable to comment. The only downsides were since our room was so close to the elevator, we heard the pullies and the opening/closing of the doors all night; the carpet was a bit frayed in corners. Also, the heater in our room was noisy and turned on and off all night, which could possibly disturb someone who is a light sleeper. The deskman provided a good recommendation for a nearby restaurant, and the meal was delicious. Across the street is a market and the subway is about a block or two away. Overall, this hotel helped us to feel more like New Yorkers and less like the tourists that we are - and isn't vacation all about escape??

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevators, and if possible, a room as close to the top of the building for the best view of the NYC cityscape.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelOC2NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews