We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day trip to NY and could not be more pleased with our stay at the Hotel. The location is excellent, a few steps from both subway and bus, a few blocks from Central Park and other attractions. We had a very comfortable room with a fabulous view, the room are very well equipped and the floor staff were extremely helpful and always did their best to provide us with any extra requirement. The reception staff did their best to make us feel comfortable and helped in any way they could and always with a smile which is not always the case in NY (I lived in NY for 6 years). Free internet and a laundry room are also available, the laundry room is very handy when you travel long distance like we did. Further than that there is a very good market right across the street on one side and a Starbucks on the other side. What else could we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    1,152
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
991
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

I've been to NYC almost 10 times and the last 3 times, I've stayed at The Beacon. I don't know if I'd ever want to stay anywhere else. The location is perfect. It's right by the subway. There's a market right across the street and a trader joes right down the road. Of course, there's a Starbucks right downstairs. The neighborhood is so lovely and makes you feel more like a local than a tourist. It's not so loud and busy like the hotels in the touristy parts of NYC. The upper west side is just a fabulous place to stay!

Also, the rooms are amazing. They're not your typical shoe box sized hotel room in the city. There's a living room along with the bedrooms and a little kitchen and great sized bathroom. It's like a little apartment. It's great for larger groups!

The staff is all very helpful and so nice! They seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and are always ready to help.

I love The Beacon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

As all others have said the standard suites in this hotel are spacious and well equipped with full facilities for in-house self catering. It has an excellent food shop opposite and a wine shop within yards so you can make New York a good value place to stay. The bedroom was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The room was well maintained throughout our 5 night stay. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It's a great place. I'll always check to see if there is room at the Beacon when I come to NY. Perfect location and near the subway for easy access all over town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed in a double room and was pleasantly surprised. The room looked exactly like the hotel photos -- was clean, beautiful, and very functional.

The room is good size for NYC (small by other cities' standards), and had a small kitchenette with toaster, coffee, microwave, stove, etc. Quite handy. So often in NYC the rooms are so small there's no room for additional seating, but this had a really comfortable chair for reading, and a small table with 2 chairs for eating.

I love staying on the UWS instead of in Times Square. Hotel Beacon is very close to the 72nd street subway--which has an Express 2/3 train to Times Square for touristy stuff. There's lots to do right in the UWS; a short walk will take you to the Lincoln Center (Ballet, Philharmonic, Opera, Musicals), the New York Historical Society (well worth a visit if an American history buff), and the Natural History museum/ Planetarium.

Definitely recommend.

Our room faced the back, but we still have a view over the rooftops. It was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAisMyTrueHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

WE visited NY to attend our son's graduation from Columbia Law. The Hotel Beacon was a great place to stay. We were an easy subway ride up to Columbia and down to Lower Manhattan. Great markets, restaurants, bars and things to do everywhere around this hotel. It's about a 3 block walk to get to the Hudson River pedestrian path and about 3 blocks the other way to get to Central Park. The room was extremely clean and well appointed and the staff was friendly and helpful. The price was great based on accommodations and location. Will definitely stay here again. Can't say enough great things about this place.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 21st floor and had great views south of Lower Manhattan and towards Central Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a lot going for it. First the location is convenient to access many New York attractions. The Central Park is a few blocks away from the hotel. The Beacon Theatre is just next door. Second, its got friendly staff. When I requested a room in the upper floor as i am a keen photographer, they happily obliged. When I asked for a late check out, they granted me an additional hour although the hotel's room occupancy rate was high that day. I know some hotels make a such a fuss about this. More importantly, 72nd Street Subway station is just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. You can reach theTime Square via Subway in less than 20 min. An Express train will get you there even faster.
It's a shame that they do not offer meals. It's annoying to go out looking for cafes for breakfast. Mind you, there is a good cafe next door to the hotel which does meal deliveries as well. I stayed in a Studio room which was clean and well presented but small in size. The room has a pantry kitchen so if you are keen to cook, that's a plus. What really annoyed me was their complimentary beverage pack. For a hotel that doesn't serve breakfast, and charges over $250 per night, the beverage pack with only 2 tea bags and 2 coffee bags was pretty ordinary. Overall, it was a good experience and for me the positives outweigh the negatives.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Anan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing