We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York Has Space!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“New York Has Space!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel has a great location--a block from a Subway Station on Broadway on the Upper West Side, next door to the Beacon Theater (hence, the name) and an easy walk to neighborhood shops (including the always helpful Duane Reade), the American Museum of Natural History, the New York Historical Society, and even Lincoln Center (about 12 blocks).

But this is the kind of hotel where you'll want to spend time in your room. Staff was helpful and efficient. For the same price as a cramped room in a midtown Hotel, we got a 1 bedroom suite with a kitchenette, nice-sized living room, huge bedroom with king bed, a separate bathroom--and complimentary Internet (which most hotels want to charge for). Furnishings were beautiful, the bed was really comfortable. Although we wanted to see a lot of the city, we weren't in a rush to get there.

The hotel gave me a new perspective on New York City; I always thought midtown was the best place to stay. This hotel changed my mind; I'm now high on the Upper West Side.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    1,127
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,328
965
116
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We usually stay in the Times Square area but decided to try this hotel near central park. This hotel was very nice. The rooms were large, modern, clean and quiet. Nice location. Convenient to subway. Parked overnight 2 blocks away for $35 at Hertz. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

The only downside was the shower curtain smelled a little mildewed - however there was no visible mildew.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motherofthreeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Beacon is on the Upper West side of Central Park. It is on Broadway and is less than 10 minutes walk into Central Park using the W 72nd Street entrance.

The location is great. It is a relaxed, friendly and safe part of Manhattan. You are away from the hustle and bustle of midtown, yet it is only a 5 minute subway ride into midtown or a little longer downtown. There is a major subway station at 72nd Street (2 minutes walk away) that goes anywhere you want.

There is a very good supermarket (Fairway) straight across the road if you need anything. There are quite a few restaurants and cafes around the area (there is a 24 hour cafe right next door). Some are cheap and the food is average at best. Others are a lot better but obviously cost more. Generally, you get what you pay for. If restaurants / cafes are important to you, do a little research before you go. We found at least half a dozen good restaurants / cafes within 10 minutes walking distance.

The Hotel appears to be quite busy. There are quite a few people checking in each day but the staff were efficient and polite and nobody ever has to wait more than 5 minutes at Reception. The lifts are on the small side and they could do with another lift. Occasionally, you might have to wait a minute or so for a lift.

Our room was a 1 bedroom suite on one of the higher floors. The cost was $280 per night which I thought was pretty good value. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a kitchenette. Our room faced east which meant we had a good view (partially obstructed) of the bottom part of Central Park and the taller buildings in mid-town.

My only point of caution is about the Hotel's Internet room. It has 2 computers and is tiny. The Internet is free so there is high demand. There is a time limit of 30 minutes so it's a bit of a problem if you want to use it for longer than that. I found myself going down every morning before 5 am so I had the place to myself.

All in all, the Beacon is a very good Hotel. I doubt there are many better hotels, value for money, in Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rickey_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel has a great location, is clean and good rooms. We stayed 6 nights while in New York and felt at home here. Our room was a King Suite with bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom. We were on floor 17 and the view was nice, ask for a high floor. Our first day a lift broke down and we were upset and complained and the manager left an apology card and a box of chocolates in our room - nice touch. The hotel is an older building but kept well. Service was very good. The kitchen has everything you need, Fridge, stove, plates and utensils. There is a Fairway Market over the road which sells everything you could ever want. I would stay here again its great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tunn-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullingworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

we had a 1 bedroom suite which gave our family space we wanted, the quality of the room and fittings were excellent, the location is good enough for every part of manhattan. The only negatives were 1 lift was being renovated and there were quite long delays for a lift to descend, we walked sometimes, also the bathroom had a rather unpleasant smell , not too bad to make a fuss but took the shine of what would otherwise have been an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed 6 nights in the Hotel Beacon last June. The location is excellent, right on Broadway, with easy access to the 72nd St. Subway about one block away. We stayed in a room with kitchenette. It is very complete, clean and relatively spacious for NY standards. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed and a living room with sofabed. Great for a small family. There is a supermarket across the street where you can buy everything and it is practical to be able to eat some meals in the room. The hotel offers no restaurant, but there is a Coffee Shop and Diner just next to it, and lots of restaurants and shops in the vicinity. Really nice neighborhood all around. The Beacon Theatre is just next door, so it is fantastic if you want to see a concert. Lincon Center is one subway stop away. Central Park is about 3 long blocks by foot. We moved all over Manhattan from this location without a problem. I've stayed in NY before in the Times Square area, and this is much nicer and quieter.

Great hotel, wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deepwaters85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscrea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

very clean nice and comfortable hotel in a great location, close to Central park and subway. the bathroom is a little small and doesn't have a fan so mirror kept fogging up. other than that I thought it was a very nice place to stay and bed was very comfy. Nice restaurant right next door, and across the street is fairways market and there is a Starbucks close by also. Was very happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxtipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing