We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 6 week old son in a king studio for 2 nights. We come to the city often and have stayed at many different hotels. The Beacon is my favorite so far. The room was plenty big for the 3 of us, and having the kitchen was great for making bottles and such. Location is great, right near the park and all kinds of good restaurants. There is a Starbucks right across the street. Fairway market is also across the street, you can get anything you can think of there. I love getting "real" bagels whenever we are in the city. The Bagel Bakery on Amsterdam and 77th is really good! We will be staying here next time we are in town. It's a great place to relax after a day walking around the city!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvBloomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,079
    1,134
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,342
971
116
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family of 2 adults & 2 children 6 & 9 years old spent 8 nights at the Beacon in March. We were really happy with the location , our 1 bedroom apartment was more than big enough for all of us & having a kitchen was fantastic. Our only issue was with the smoke alarm going off when cooking, but maintenance were very quick to assist & fix the issue. The fairway market across the road is perfect as you can get all you need & you're only a cross of the road away. The Subway at 72nd made getting around with young kids very easy & we found the proximity of Cental Park & other places of interest an easy walk as the weather was wonderful. We would love to come back to New York & would stay at the Beacon again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoddsyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

As hotels go, it's okay. Nice big rooms with a kitchenette. Shame they don't have a restaurant - or even a bar. Have stayed here several times but for me, it's always the location that does it. Right on Broadway with Central Park a couple of blocks behind you. There are lots of fabulous bars and restaurants all around the upper west side so you're spoilt for choice. I have always found the staff to be efficient and courteous but not exactly friendly. However, this doesn't really matter at all because of the nature of the hotel, you only really have to speak to them whilst checking in or out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at The Beacon for a week (one couple + 1 18 yr old). The Beacon offers small apartments (suites) with a bedroom (with cable TV), bathroom, kitchenette and living area (with cable TV) with sofabed. This was perfect for us. The Beacon is very well located: close to central park, close to the subway station (73rd Street) and plenty of decent restaurants in the neighborhood. The front desk staff is very helpful as is the doorman. For breakfast you can go to the "Viand" which is in the same building as the hotel or you can go to a few diners within a few blocks.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor (>15th floor) for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterp_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Hotel Beacon is part hotel and part apartments (above floor 20 it seems). Rooms are spacey, or 'oversized', in a NYC context. Most rooms are actually two rooms and a small kitchenette featuring oven, fridge, sink and a micro. This is good since the hotel does not serve breakfast. The interior feels a bit outdated and adds to the feeling of having your own NYC apartment :)

Service is spotty. Staff had all sort of problems arranging transport, delivering utensils for the kitchenette and most noticeable, to properly close the door to our room after a parcel delivery. Could have turned nasty but nothing was stolen over the few hours the door was 'ajar'.

Internet is wireless and free and a bit quirky (leases run out way to fast and way to easy).

The hood is excellent with lots of nice restaurants and famous grocery store Fairway just across Broadway. Walking distance to Central Park (approx Strawberry Fields) and Columbus Circle. Subway lines 1 and 2 just a block up or down.

Room Tip: Anything facing Broadway I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We really enjoyed the space in this hotel and the very comfortable beds.The nearest subway stop was within easy walking distance and made it a pleasure to visit any tourisr sites. Would definately return to the Beacon for a further New York visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our trip of a lifetime. It was recommended by a close friend. Rooms were a great size for New York. the Subway was a 3 minute walk away as was the Natural history museum. Central park close by. Lots of restaurants and good shopping close by. Hotel staff were great. Even though there was work on our floor, it didn't affect our stay. Really can't say anything bad about this hotel and it was a home away from home.

Room Tip: Nice views at rooms at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevielatphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,527 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing