We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2nd stay at The Beacon”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perthshire, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great 2nd stay at The Beacon”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and loved it. We have just returned from another 3 night stay and loved it just as much as last time. There are bus and subway stops nearby. The neighbourhood of the Upper West Side is very stylish and you feel safe at night. There are plenty of good restaurants and bars within walking distance. The desk staff gave us a really useful list at check-in. It told you if a restaurant was casual/dressy/needs a reservation etc. Great idea! The hotel is welcoming and calm. A brilliant place to end your busy day in NYC. We asked for a room on a high floor like last time ( 17th) overlooking Broadway. Great size room. Everything is spotlessly clean. King size bed is really comfy with high quality linens...lovely. Good quality toiletries in bathroom too. There was a problem with the elevators one night so a member of staff had to take you up or down. It was handled very calmly and efficiently so it really wasn't a problem at all for guests. We had breakfast in Cafe Viand right next door ( about 5 steps!). Great food & service. It's just like you imagine a traditional NY diner to be with a good mix of tourists & locals. If we are lucky enough to visit NYC again this would definitely be our first choice. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. I think there are 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,136
    1,162
    145
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,388
996
120
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finnoy, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I love this this hotel, me and my husband stayed here 2012 summer july..good location near everywhere... The hotel is simple but very nice, the staff were friendly, rooms were clean everything we need was there. I will recommend this hotel to anyone..and will definitely stay again when we go back to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyjmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Excellent location, safe, quiet, clean, lovely neighborhood. The hotel was perfect for 3 good friends. Good sheets, decent pillows & good blankets. Two shared the King bed (very good mattress) and one slept on the couch bed - and slept well. The bathroom is small, needs a make-up mirror. Very clean and staff was responsive to requests (except a room with a view! Maybe we needed to tip the front desk manager?). We used the kitchenette for warming up leftovers, pastries and wine. We liked the coffee maker & decent kitchen ware. So easy with the wine shop and the Fairway market/restaurant next door & across the street. Simple to get everywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Their hotel's new bar is open now, but we missed it - it looks nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb3017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at Beacon for 5 nights and found it to be a good hotel at a quiet location. The rooms are spacious, clean and offer everything you need. The ara is residential and quiet. Nice to come home to after the hustle and bustle downtown. Lines 1,2 and 3 of the NYsubway are just a stroll away and take you to Times Square in no time at all. Close to the hotel is a supermarket (quiet expensive) so we decided to have a take-away bagle breakfast just around the corner at Amsterdam Avenue. Lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood. We enjoyed a great fresh burger at Citrus Bar&Grill.
The only issue we have with the hotel is the communication. They failed to answer some of our emails, they did not tell us about the $10 Phone-card at check-in (ask for it, it'll save you a lot of money) and they forgot to tell each other about our late check-out.
But nevertheless... When we visit NY again (and we will) we'll stay at Beacon again.

Room Tip: Ask for the $10 Phone card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have just returned from the Hotel Beacon where we stayed for one week for our daughters wedding. Four of us shared a two bedroom suite which was very well appointed and well maintained by the hotel staff during our stay. All the staff we came in contact with were all very courteous and helpfull. The location on Upper West Side was excellent only a couple of minutes from the tube station on 72nd St, there is a supermarket (Fairways) right across the road and and an excellent deli adjacent to the hotel. There are several restaurants on in the surrounds and a few bars, the hotel will soon be opening it's own lounge bar which will be a great asset. Being in the Upper West Side it's away from the noise of downtown Manhatten and close to Central Park. I highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was our second stay at Hotel Beacon. It's in a great location on the UWS, only a short walk from the subway station to take you anyway you might want to go. Central Park, AMNH and numerous restaurants are all close by. The area feels very residential and safe, perfect for our family with two kids (7 and 9).
We had a one bedroom suite. The bedroom had 2 beds with TV and wardrobe and was big. The lounge had a sofa bed, TV and small dining table. The sofa bed was NOT comfortable, although the beds were! There was a small kitchenette with full oven and hob, microwave, coffee machine and fridge/freezer. We didn't cook, but did use the fridge a lot (wine, beer, leftovers etc). We mostly bought our breakfasts at Fairway, the huge market across the road and bought coffee from the Starbucks just outside the hotel and ate them in the hotel before heading out for the day.
The suite was a good size overall, but the bathroom is small.
Housekeeping was efficient and even did any washing up we had left in the sink!
The staff were friendly, especially the doormen, who were lovely.
When we return to NYC we will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithkids62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and found it to be a great place to stay. having never been to New York before we did not know what to expect. The hotel is close to public transport, restaurants and shopping. Also nice quiet rooms, which are very spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has laundry facilities for guests which are reasonably priced. We were on the 22nd floor and had a reasonable view of the city and river.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,363 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,973 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,586 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing