We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #67 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The upper west side is a great place to stay in NYC. Its far enough away from the hustle and bustle of times sq etc that it is reasonably quiet at night time which is rare in NYC. Having said this it is by no means out of the way. Subway station 1 block away runs all the way downtown and still within easy walk of attractions like Central Park, Natural History Museum. Groceries and liquor stores nearby to easily stock the in room kitchen. Rooms are large by NY standards and very neat, clean and tidy.
The only downside we experienced was a less than helpful concierge desk at times and not the friendliest welcome at check in/check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br0ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,154
    1,178
    148
    47
    23
See reviews for
1,413
1,006
121
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whiting Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I loved the Beacon, like all properties in NYC it was expensive but it was a lovely neighborhood. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen was all that you needed. We did not visit the fitness center but we noticed that there was a bar on the first floor.

Room Tip: We had a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have not stayed on the upper west side before, but we gave it a shot. What a pleasant surprise.

The hotel is located across the street from Fairway Market and Citrella's Market. Fairway is an old time grocery store with great values. Citrella's is more upscale, and has a great fish market.

The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms were good size and had a kitchenette. The rooms and baths were nicely appointed and appear modern and fresh.

The location was terrific. Subway stops at 72nd St and 79th St. The Beacon is between 74th and 75th. Only a few blocks from the Museum of Natural History and many good restaurants. We ate at several places that were on New Amsterdam St and were great values and quality.

It was about a $10 cab ride to most places in midtown or the east side.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had 4 families stay at this hotel, we did a lot of research and decided Hotel Beacon was the best value. Its 1 block from the train station, 3 blocks from central park, across the road from amazing market as well as other restaurants and shops. The rooms also seem to be newly renovated and each of our rooms had separate lounge and kitchen area. The room rate for the size and location was very reasonable. If you want to feel like an upper west side resident stay here

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our 4th trip to NYC and after staying in the Times Sq area twice and Midtown once we opted for the Beacon in the Upper West side after hearing positive reviews from friends. We offered a great rate so couldn't refuse. The hotel quickly became my favourite NY hotel due to many reasons including the proximity to the red line subway, the Fairway grocery store across the road, being able to open our window instead of using air-conditioning, the fantastic view from our room on the 25th floor and the very friendly staff.
I cannot fault this hotel at all, it was clean & comfortable with a lovely King Size bed. The hotel is a short walk to Central Park and it is great to be away from the tourist madness down in Times Sq and if you do want to go there it is one stop on the Red Line express!!
We plan to stay here for all future trips to NY!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family of 4 includes 2 older teens - its hard to find a room with enough beds - especially in New York. Getting 2 rooms was really $$$$$$$$$ so we opted for a 1 bedroom (with King bed), living area with pull out couch and it had enough room to get a cot as well ($25/night). This is one of the only hotels in New York that can accommodate that set up. Plus it had a kitchen! There is a Trader Joe's and a Fairway Market right across the street. We only stocked up for breakfast and drinks and while there is a stove and stove top it would be really really hard to cook anything as there is no counter space at all and the tiniest sink ever. Besides who wants to cook their own food in New York with so many great places to eat?? We were on the 15th floor with a nice view and no traffic noise. There were 3 closets...not sure why .. It would have been nice to either have a second bathroom or one with some space on the counter instead. The bed was very comfortable!! The location of this hotel is great in my opinion. Aside from the grocery stores, there is also a Starbucks right on the corner and a subway stop 2 minutes on foot. Coming back late at night - it was just a safe hop to our hotel. Central park is around the corner - about 8 min on foot. You can get a metro pass for $30.00/person for 1 week. We only stayed 5 nights but it was WELL worth the $ as we took the subway everywhere all day long. It would have cost a fortune to pay per ride. On a bad note....I was horrified to see a giant cockroach run out from under the stove on our 3rd night there. We got rid of it and didn't see any more but I had the heebie Jeebies from then on checking everything and everywhere. People told me that's to be expected in New York and it was probably "lost" cause the higher up you stay the less roaches you will see. So we should have been safe on the 15th floor. The hotel is a bit older.. The elevators took turns being out of order and there were some paint chips missing from doorways etc. but it was clean and fairly updated and I am pretty picky when it comes to that.I would stay here again with my family. If it was just my husband and I and we could take a smaller room - I would opt for a swankier place. They also offered 2 bedroom units which were sold out. This is one of the only properties I found that could accommodate all of us and was still nice with great reviews and an awesome location. Book early!!!! They sell out fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor as high as you can get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Hotel Beacon was a great place to stay on our trip to New York, it's in a great location with shops and restaurants all around it, a 30 minute walk to Times Square, a 5-10 minute walk to Central Park and a few more minutes walk to the Museum of Natural History. There is also a cinema a 5-10 minute walk in the direction of Columbus Circle and a theatre in the same building as the hotel so there is plenty to do within walking distance or a short cab ride. The rooms in the Hotel are spacious and very comfortable, the staff friendly and curteous and the cleaning staff are a credit to the hotel, we returned to a spotlessly clean room every evening.
The hotel concierge's will help with any tourist information or trips you would like to do during your stay and are very helpful. We will definetly stay at this hotel on our next visit to New York.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MD0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 466 in New York City
2,384 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
5,102 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#225 of 466 in New York City
3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,630 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 466 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing