We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great staff and Ideal locatio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great staff and Ideal locatio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Beacon. It truly was wonderful. We had a lovely studio room on the 16th floor. The room was impeccably cleaned everyday and the newspaper every morning was a nice touch. The kitchenette is a great addition although we never used it opting instead to eat at Café Viand every morning (located right beside the hotel). We didn't use the concierge at all however, they were always cheerful and friendly. The location for me was the biggest plus of all. The hotel is about a 2 minute stroll to the 72nd street Subway station with easy access to Times Sq etc. We bought the 7 day metro card and it was the best idea as we used the subway up to 10 times a day!! The location on the upper west side means that you are away from the craziness of times sq. etc which is great for a good night sleep but not too far away from the hustle and bustle. For me, I wouldn't even look at staying anywhere else when we come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjens66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    1,127
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,328
965
116
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed 8 nights at the Beacon, I had deliberately chosen this hotel for its spacious self contained rooms and was not disappointed. We had a one bedroom apartment and there was plenty of room for mum and teenage daughter to find their own space. Plenty of storage and room for suitcases and clothes, small kitchen and medium sized bathroom but all well equipped.
The rooms were very quiet except for the noise from the lifts(our room backed straight onto the lift well) and had windows that could be opened.
It is a low touch hotel, and the front office and door staff don't say much but are effective, but we found the two gentleman working the concierge desk excellent, their information was good and the items booked for us were reasonably priced (I would say cheap compared to how they looked on some websites from Australia.)
The area is fantastic with 72nd st station a block away with an express train to times square, literally 5 minutes away. There is a great supermarket across the road, and an abundance of restaurants, diners and takeaway in short walking distance.
Overall this was a great place to stay and I could hardly fault the hotel, it was clean, the housekeeping good, the beds and pillows good and, a kettle and coffee machine! A few small things like wine glasses and a sharp knife could be added to the kitchen. There were some minor repairs to be made, but petty in the scheme of things. There is also an inhouse laundry with very good quality equipment that is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lift well. We were on level 12 and besides that there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alihoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent a very enjoyable week at the Beacon. Our room was comfortable and well-furnished.
The hotel is well maintained. The location is wonderful -- just 2 blocks from a subway express
stop, and you can walk to Lincoln Center. Our room had a very adequate kitchenette, so we had our breakfasts there. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.

You should know that this hotel has no room service and no dining facility of any kind. we didn't epect that, and it was no problem. There is an excellent local restaurant right next door and a gourmet take-out across the street.

I have only two negative remarks, and neither may concern you. I am a coffee lover, and brought my own coffee with me. The kitchenette, however, has a coffee machine that only can work with the capsules the hotel
supplies. And we are used to having the New york Times to read at breakfast, but it isn't possible to have newspaper delivery.

If the rating permitted fractions, I'd rate the Beacon 4.5. The acid test of a hotel is always: would you stay there again? We have already booked there for our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor- you'll get a view of Broadway facing east and possibly of the Hudson River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulliver1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights in the Hotel Beacon, found the hotel to be excellent value for money. Had a one bedroom suite for three adults, room very spacious for a big city hotel. Staff courteous and very friendly, location good, excellent fairway market across the street, within walking distance of Central Park and the onwards to centre of Manhattan. Will definitely use the hotel again when next visit NYC.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SEvans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This is a brilliant hotel, situated outside the chaos of Times Square. As we were on a holiday visiting New York for the first time, we were up early every morning travelling to all the tourist attractions.

We travelled into Times Square everyday. There is a subway station 3 blocks from the hotel (6 or 7 minutes walk) named 72nd street. From this station there were express trains frequently which took less than 5 minutes to get to Times Square. The hotel front of desk staff were very helpful in showing us where to go and provided maps etc.

There is not a restaurant in the hotel beacon, however there is a diner next door which is reasonably priced, lovely food and always busy! (French toast was amazing!)

Hotel beacon rooms were very spacious, we had a two bedroom suite, one room was a double sofa bed, and the other room had 2 double beds in, which easily slept two of us in each of them. There were kitchen facilities although we did not use them, as well as tea and coffee facilities. Both rooms had big flat screen TV's, and the whole suit was very spacious.

The bathroom shower was very good (powerful) and we were also provided with shampoo, conditioner, bar of soap, body lotion and dental rinse, which were all useful.

The whole hotel was extremely clean all the time and would recommend anyone to stay here. Was a brilliant all round stay and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I was a little skeptical of all the good things I read on TA, but they were all absolutely true! The location in a busy residential area is unique and especially convenient if you are doing concerts at Lincoln Center and/or the 92nd Street Y. The front desk, doormen/bellmen, and maids were all welcoming. Our large two room king suite with three closets and kitchenette was a great value by NYC standards. The bath is quite small but usable. Our 15th floor rooms looked newly refurbished and were immaculate. Housekeeping was excellent. The Levain Bakery around the corner on W 74th has the best cookies in the world!

Room Tip: Pick a high floor (15-25) for a view or a refurbished floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents and it was fantastic. We had an apartment which was lovely and spacious. When we arrived after a long day travelling, we were told we had be upgraded to a corner suite. The views were beautiful from all three windows, on two corners. My parents had a beautiful room and walk in wardrobe. And I was very happy with my pull out bed in the sitting room. There was still space for me to put my clothes away. It gave us all space from one another so we were happy (as I am 24 and need a little peace, ha). The bathroom was nice and clean with the usual freebies. The only problem here, was the harsh shower. It hurt so much as the water pressure was so hard. No matter which we turned it, it still hurt. But we got over it as a funny story. There was a little kitchen and dining area where we had our breakfast from a bakery just over the road. Very happy! The staff are very helpful and will help you with any questions. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank anthea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing