We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, back in New York at Hotel Beacon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Once again, back in New York at Hotel Beacon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our 2nd trip to New York in 2 years, and once again, stayed at Hotel Beacon. Quieter area of New York, close to 72nd St subway, Fairway supermarket just across the road, excellent staff on duty, quiet and comfortable rooms, great size rooms for New York, safe area to walk around, our laundry handled once again by Oxford Street Laundry Service just around the corner (will pickup and deliver back to the hotel), kitchenette so handy to have when you are travelling. No complaints at all. Always recommend Hotel Beacon to any fellow travellers when visiting New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamandrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    1,127
    136
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,328
965
116
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have just been on a four day trip to New York (12th December ) and stayed at Beacon Hotel. We booked a suite on the 17th floor and were very impressed on entering the room. It was very spacious, had its own kitchenette with living room and a king size very comfortable bed. The room was spotless. It was bitterly cold whilst we were there but the room was always warm.
The hotel is a short walk to a subway so although not in the centre of things you don't have far to walk to catch a train, which themselves are reasonably priced. We did not use the subway the first couple of days as we enjoyed the walking .
We never ate at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel in New York.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor room 1708
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hotel Beacon for 11 nights. This hotel was one of only a few that offered a two bedroom suite with living room and kitchenette that would accommodate all of us.

I was extremely impressed by our room as it was perfect for us and had all the amenities required, this is one of those times when the expectations set on the website are met in real life. Two really good sized bedrooms, a living area, a place to eat and a small kitchen. Being on a corner it had good light and views into Broadway as well.

The location on the upper west side was also ideal. Just two blocks from 72nd street station which is also an express station stop! meaning that it is only one stop or 5 minutes to Times Square Station. After a day in the hustle and bustle of mid town and lower manhatten, the upper west side is a quiet oasis by comparison. It was also very convenient to Central Park where we enjoyed several walks.

The hotel is simple in character and not over the top compared to other more pretentious hotels, with very helpful and attentive staff who didn't hesitate to assist with any enquiry.

I would not hesitate in recommending Hotel Beacon and I endorse all the positive reviews on trip advisor that I saw before selecting the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Beacon with my 2 sisters for 7 nights. Staff were helpful, service very good and the amenities were everything you could want for a long stay. Also the position was excellent. A short walk to the subway and a grocery store over the road to mention just a couple of things close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmgavsid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Hotel Beacon is on the upper west side, pretty close to Lincoln Center. It is a smaller hotel and less expensive than many in NYC. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly small, but in line with many other hotels in NYC. They are not so small as to be a problem. The bathrooms have no shelf space so toiletry bags are a problem. The rooms use the European system of requiring the room key to be in a slot for power to be on, which represents a problem when trying to charge devices while not in the room. The biggest problem for people not attending Lincoln Center events is that this away from other venues, and getting a cab is difficult, particularly at peak hours. However, a subway stop is only 3 blocks away, and you can be in Times Square in 5 minutes. The bar in the Beacon is friendly and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Had a great stay here. Needed a value hotel in NYC, but was concerned about what "value" would look like. A few blocks off of Central Park on the upper west side, this location works. Frankly, it's in a nice section of town an away from some of the craziness. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice. Great bed, clean and contemporary surroundings, microwave & fridge (not that I needed it). I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks when I came to run the NYC Marathon and had a great time. The rooms are large and despite facing onto Broadway the insulation on the windows meant I didnt hear the traffic. Loved the kitchenette in the room which was handy for breakfasts

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and I'll definitely be staying here again. Great value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeh479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,364 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing