We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book if light sleeper! Good value and location, but noisy air con marred stay”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Don't book if light sleeper! Good value and location, but noisy air con marred stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I like the staff here, and whist the rooms could use an update from their odd turquoise decor they are good value. Sadly the air con units are very noisy, not an issue ordinarily but certainly when it was minus 15 outside, (In UK money).

So there was a choice at night of it being cold quiet or warm and loud!

Speaking to other guests they had the same issue, and the maintenance guy (who was great) offered to change the unit but said ours was far from the worst. I had bought ear plugs so declined, I found out later even then I could still hear it. Sad because otherwise based on value and location would have given 4 or 5.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Godsownworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,098
    1,142
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,357
981
117
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our first visit to NY and this hotel came highly recommended to us. Five of us stayed at the Beacon (two separate double rooms with kitchens) and we were all over the moon with our surroundings, the service and value for money. Our rooms were very spacious with separate bedrooms each with two double beds, fully fitted kitchenette areas in the living rooms, queen sized sofa beds in the living rooms and lovely marbled bathrooms - pure bliss! I also have to mention the incredible comfort of the beds -- I suffer from lower back pain and sciatica so always dread sleeping in "strange" beds but I had no worries here, in fact I did not even have a mere twinge of pain during the 7 days stay at the Beacon!! It was a real home from home and the situation of the hotel is perfect as the tube station is a two minute stroll away, Central Park is about a 20 minute walk away and shops are just around the corner! Across the street is a supermarket called Fairway which is simply the best! We bought all of our food and groceries from there and every evening you can get divine takeaway fresh hot food so absolutely perfect and cheap! All in all a fantastic hotel which I would recommend to anyone staying in NY. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We traveled with our college-age daughter, and it's hard to find a room in NYC for three adults! And because hotels are so expensive, we didn't want to book two rooms. Hotel Beacon has two-bed suites, with cute kitchens (great for coffee in the morning) and roomy living areas for prices less than other hotels in the area. We were visiting Lincoln Center and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the hotel is in a great location for walking to both. The service was professional and helpful and room service did a great job. For breakfast, hit the restaurant next to the hotel. It's a bustling diner that seemed to be full of locals. We loved it. We had drinks at the hotel bar, and though it was quiet, the service and drinks were excellent.

Room Tip: After reading the other reviews, we requested a quiet room. We got a room facing the market across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 61adventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-north Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Beacon. It was well-appointed and clean and the small kitchenette was very functional. It was very good to have a table that seated all four of us. The location is excellent, very close to the subway station at 72nd, close to Central Park and a gourmet supermarket, Fairway, just across the road. The neighbourhood is great with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and it was nice to escape from the crowds at Times Square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 384Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in January 2014 for business. Check in was quick and easy and the room with 1 king bed was ready for me. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are somewhat larger than those in other area hotels and include a small kitchenette with a 2-burner stove, a mini fridge and a sink. There is also an ample closet with safe, a small desk, and a small (but sufficient) bathroom. There is also a Keurig coffee machine. The room seemed impeccably clean and the nicely adorned.

There were some maintenance issues including a) the toilet paper holder had the decorate disks that hide the mounting screws just dangling loosely, getting in the way of the paper, and b) the nice radio with the ipod/iphone doc had a broken doc. The bed also seemed past it's prime and sagged a bit.

The walls are pretty thin so I could hear my neighbor's phone conversation last night, but it didn't keep me up. There was no street noise in the room.

The 24 hr fitness facility is in the basement and is clean and pleasant.

Overall, a good place to stay if you value the few extra square feet of floor space or need the kitchnette. Otherwise, there are probably better places to stay for about the same money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
928 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

For New York City, the deluxe suite, composed of two separate rooms, is relatively inexpensive. The hotel has a residential atmosphere with excellent service. Convenient location on the near upper west side. Small bathrooms and rather slow performance of the internet; I do hope they increase the internet's bandwidth in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visit NYC every year and this is the first time we stayed at the Hotel Beacon. We will definitely return and recommend staying at this hotel. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. The rooms are great with a kitchenette in every room and a Keurig coffeemaker too. We were in room 2309 and had an awesome view of the city skyline and the Hudson River. Beds are comfortable, room was quiet and we both had a good nights sleep. The hotel location is perfect - nice neighborhood, Fairway Market directly across the street, plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We had drinks twice in the Beacon Bar and had one breakfast delivered (for free) from the Viand Café, which is attached to the hotel. There's a parking garage directly across the street and parking is $40/day. Our room was clean and comfy. There's a nice sized closet with safe, umbrella and plenty of hangers. We can't think of anything we didn't like about the Hotel Beacon and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room and had a great view. Deluxe rooms are on higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,697 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing