We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will tell all our friends”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Will tell all our friends”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In April we stayed for 20 nights at the Hotel Beacon. We were delighted with everything. Location is close to trains, Central Park , Natural History Museum, supermarket across the road and other shops nearby. The room was spacious and the small kitchenette meant that we could prepare our own breakfast and heat soup or other prepared meals from the supermarket across the road when we were too tired to venture out for meals. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Having a laundry on site was extremely handy and meant we could do other things whilst the clothes were washing. Thank you Hotel Beacon for making our stay in New York such a happy one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wen3938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,095
    1,141
    142
    44
    22
See reviews for
1,356
980
117
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is in the upper west side, blocks away from Central Park which we love to explore. Hotel is also less than 2 blocks from the subway. Great place to stay for a couple or family. Each room has a kitchenette and across the street is Fairways, an awesome market. Or Zabars is a quick 10 min. Walk away. Clean hotel and we were lucky enough to get a room on a high floor so had fabulous views. Experience with all staff was positive. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliannaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in a king suite (room 1417) & couldn't have been happier with our choice which came after some searching on Tripadvisor. The rooms were spotlessly clean throughout our stay and the only minor complaint was that the shower was over the bath and the water flow from the shower rose was so strong it could have cut glass.That aside the living room was spacious and comfortable and the kitchenette with full fridge proved handy. We did eat in one night but why bother with such a choice of reasonably priced eateries close to the hotel. On that front we'd recommend Kefi's on Columbus Ave. The bed was as comfortable as we'd slept in and there was a lot of hanging space which was a real bonus.

The subway at 72nd Street was only a few minutes walk away and the express Line 1 can get you to Union Sq - 14th Street in just a few stops so its a convenient spot to be located to get all around Manhattan. There are plenty of bakeries, food markets, liquor stores and specialty shops around the Hotel which is close to both Central Park and the Hudson River and just a nice area to walk around.

We didn't need to seek the assistance of the hotel staff much at all but from house cleaning through to the doormen they were all friendly and obliging.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at the Beacon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_S255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Haven, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We started out on floor 10 and due to a malfunction in the bathroom we were located to L20. The 2 rooms were the same and had ample beds for the 4 of us. The kitchen was tiny but useful ( not that we cooked) it had a large fridge, microwave and oven. We loved the location and everything was close at hand via the subway at 72nd street. NY is a massive place and the concierge staff were fantastic in showing us how to get around the city especially Omar who was always on the lookout for how he could help you. Farmers market was across the road and many good and reasonably priced restaurants close by as well. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Happy hour at the bar 3 till 7. Great for a beer and a chat. Buy a weekly subway ticket for $30
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely hotel - away from the hustle & bustle - but only a couple of minutes to the subway. Worth paying extra for the 1 bed suite. Bathroom a bit small - but not really a complaint. Nothing to complain about at all - happy hour in the bar was great - as was the diner next door. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we booked a one bedroom suite many months ahead for an 8 night stay. The reviews were great and the communications we had with the hotel especially Dawn were timely ,efficient and very helpful.
When we arrived everything went like clockwork. Our room blew us away as we had read so much about small rooms in New York.
The room was large, clean, well decorated, there was a very spacious bedroom with King size Bed, full kitchen and lounge, Large flat screen TV's in each room and plenty of cupboard storage.
We were on the 10th floor facing west and the room was particularly quiet.
The laundry on the fifth floor was excellent with 4 washing machines and 4 dryers which all can be operated via credit card or Quarters.
The staff from reception to doorman and housekeeping were friendly and really made you feel at home.
Across the street was an amazing market (Fairway Market), specialty gourmet delicatessen . You can get fresh food, cooked food, just about anything you want.
The 72nd street Subway was literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel and basically serviced the whole of Manhattan.
Also there was a very well stocked liquor store in the same complex (Beacon Liquor Store).
We cant recommend this hotel highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we were to make a return trip to New York.
We thank sincerely for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: we were in 1014 and it was really quiet on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have not long returned to Australia after spending 8 wonderful nights in New York. 4 of these nights we spent on a return visit to the beacon. We spent the other 4 on the lower east which we enjoyed the variety of the 2 different areas. We found the staff always accommodating and friendly especially the door men. The little bar which is new since our last stay was always a nice welcome after a long day out. The upper West is a great location, always feeling safe when walking morning and night and the subway is literally a block away, and is such good value when you buy the weekly ticket for $30.00. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We would definitely stay there again on a future visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suefromballarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing