We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else but Beacon!!!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #59 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else but Beacon!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Couldn't Give this hotel enough credit! Best hotel ever. Great value for money. We stay there for a week and then moved hotels to a different area, which did not even come close and was highly ranked also. We had a very spacious room with a little Kitchenette which was handy. The view was great. The king bed was so comfortable and room was very clean. The windows opened slightly so you could get some fresh air. This hotel had a great feel and was very cosy. The fairway markets is just across the road where you can buy a range of different foods. It is worth a walk through. The hotel also has a bar which has happy hour and the beacon theatre is next door also. Very close to Central Park. Starbucks is on the corner which is handy and a great little cafe next door that do a cheap and yummy breakfast. This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle but subway is close and only 6 mins to Times Square. Highly recommend this hotel and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MV1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,120
    1,152
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,370
991
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We got a one room suite with 2 queen/double beds. This hotel room is very spacious. I was with my husband and 2 kids. Check in/out was a breeze. There's a fresh grocery across and a Duane Reade beside it which makes it very convenient. There's also a laundry area which is a plus for our 3 week travel. The sitting area is spacious and we could order in and eat here and even do a workout video! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haydeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is our new favourite hotel in NYC. We just spent 5 nights and loved it. King beds are super comfortable. Great location with Fairway Market across the street, Starbucks on the corner and the 1, 2 and 3 subway line a couple blocks to the south. The windows have been upgraded which reduces the street noise. No issues with wifi in the rooms. Try the great restaurants on the blocks to the east (Columbus and Amsterdam).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've stayed in several different hotels in NYC and nearly always have had a tiny room but no such problem here - we had a lovely big room with a big window letting in lots of natural light.

The location of this place is excellent, 2 blocks from 72nd st 1-2-3 and about 20 minutes walk to Times Square. It's close enough that you can get where you want quick enough but quiet enough that you don't step out onto the hustle and bustle.

Our room was really well appointed with everything we needed. The fridge and small kitchenette was very welcome. We did have a problem when we got back one night where the TV, AC and bedside lamp would not turn on, I believe due to a fault with the thing that you put the room card in near the door. I mentioned it to reception the next morning and by the time we came back later that day it was fixed.

The room was nice and clean each day.

Overall we really liked this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again for future visits to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely hotel and once again was great. Staff all friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. Great to have microwave and some cooking facilities with fridge as well. Two blocks from subway and only about 20 min walk to Times Square if feeling energetic!! Beacon Theatre next door with various events and cinema nearby as well never mind restaurant next door and deli across the road. Most definitely the place to stay in NYC!,!

Room Tip: We were on 18th floor great view and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are another Aussie couple who enjoyed a fabulous 10 night stay at the Hotel Beacon in April 2014 and would highly recommend this hotel as a very comfortable home away from home whilst in New York.
Fantastic location with restaurants, grocery/wine stores, great shopping and subway within easy walking distance. Easy walk to Natural History museum as well as across Central Park to The Met.
Friendly, welcoming staff plus well appointed and quiet room with very handy kitchenette. Good closet space esp. for someone who started with 2 suitcases and left with 4!
A very special thanks to Reservations Team especially Jim who ensured we had a wonderful room on the top floor (Level 25) with amazing views across Central Park to celebrate my birthday! I think Jim might have even arranged the late evening snow fall on the evening prior to my birthday - thanks again for this incredible spectacle!!
.

Room Tip: We loved our higher floor ( top level 25) which faced Central park and had amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisLonging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In April we stayed for 20 nights at the Hotel Beacon. We were delighted with everything. Location is close to trains, Central Park , Natural History Museum, supermarket across the road and other shops nearby. The room was spacious and the small kitchenette meant that we could prepare our own breakfast and heat soup or other prepared meals from the supermarket across the road when we were too tired to venture out for meals. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Having a laundry on site was extremely handy and meant we could do other things whilst the clothes were washing. Thank you Hotel Beacon for making our stay in New York such a happy one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wen3938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,353 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 468 in New York City
4,854 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#237 of 468 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing