We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location - Big Room”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - Big Room”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We traveled with 2 adults and 4 children and stayed in a one bedroom suite for 7 nights. The 2 beds and pullout couch were comfortable and the kitchenette was well stocked.

The hotel is 1/2 block away from the subway and across the street from Starbucks and two high-end grocery stores. It is located within walking distance of Central Park and many of the Upper West Side's best restaurants. The neighborhood was quiet at night.

We will stay there again when we go to New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annev462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,152
    1,175
    148
    47
    23
See reviews for
1,410
1,004
121
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of May and cannot fault the hotel, the staff or location. We had a room on the 24th floor with a view over the Hudson and Broadway, the bed was so comfortable and the complimentary wine and chocolates were a lovely surprise. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our first ever visit to the east coast and NYC-could not have picked a better place to stay!
Close to everything yet quieter than midtown. Our room was huge and the kitchen a big plus.
Great shops and restaurants on Broadway, Columbus and Amsterdam streets and just a few blocks to central park. Handy laundry room on site and friendly staff.
Loved it!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators and a higher up floor and see if you can get a central park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetWEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We're just back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Beacon and I have to say, the hotel is fantastic. We stayed in a suite which had lots of room, even a separate room where we could store our suitcases, and sitting room & kitchen area which was very convenient. The staff were very nice to us upon arrival, and the wine & chocolates on arrival was a very nice touch!! :)

The girl at reception gave us a map and was very helpful when we asked for recommendations on where to eat. The rooms and general hotel were clean and modern. The hotel was right beside the 72nd street subway station, which we used every day to get from A to B, as it was 30 dollars for 7 day metro pass (unlimited) and saved us a fortune on taxis! We didn't dine at the hotel so I can't comment on that. Nor did we use the leisure facilities. The Beacon bar looks nice and relaxing, but again we never got to experience it (which is a pity), but we were only there for 4 nights and we had such a packed schedule while in Manhattan!!

The hotel was perfect for us on our stay and we were very happy with everything, from check-in, to cleanliness, to staff, to location... Highly Recommended!!!

Room Tip: Go for a suite if it's within your budget. Lots of room and more luxury!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glittergirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My family was in NYC for a wedding in May of 2014 and stayed at the Hotel Beacon for two nights. Since we were traveling with extended family, we reserved multiple rooms - two rooms for two nights, and one room for one night. This scenario caused no end of problems - at the time of the reservations, in confirming the reservations, and finally at check-in.

The rooms themselves were quite large for NYC standards. Our room had a large bedroom with a king bed, small kitchenette, and a separate sitting room with sofa and small table. One evening we had family and friends over at the room for drinks and dessert and twelve people comfortably fit in the sitting room. The large rooms are the saving grace of this hotel.

The hotel itself seems fairly old and in need of some repair. The elevators are old and slow. The mattress was lumpy, and made for a quite uncomfortable sleep. The shower had minimal water pressure. The thermostat was almost impossible to adjust. In one family member's room, using the hair dryer blew a fuse, cutting power to the whole room.

Particularly disappointing was the poor service and unique situation that the Hotel Beacon is both a hotel and private residence. As soon as we stepped out of the elevator, we smelled smoke and we soon discovered what our neighbor was smoking. I went downstairs to ask the staff if the entire hotel was non-smoking, as our room was clearly marked non-smoking. Before I could specifically mention what I thought our neighbor was smoking, I was told my the concierge,"that room is a private residence, and he is allowed to smoke whatever he wants, including marijuana." Okay. The smell of pot was so strong that we had to buy Lysol to spray in the room. Private residents in the hotel are apparently also allowed to have pets, as non-stop barking was coming from another nearby room.

Overall, we appreciated the large rooms, but I think I'd rather stick to the chain hotels for more consistent service and quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyb123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before going to Minneapolis for DD graduation. I got a great rate from Booking.com considering it was ranked very well at this site.
Check in was fast and efficient. I've got a King bed suite. The room was spacious. The sitting room just have too much furniture that it made the room cramped. Another small letdown is the bathroom which was very small considering it was a suite. But we get a kitchen, which was really cool.
But they have nice furniture and everything is clean. The linen was crisp and clean. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. And the shower was great.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, only a bar. But there are lots of restaurants in different price ranges right outside the hotel. There are also nice stores in the neighborhood. There was even a nice local supermarket right across the hotel, and it opened until 1 in the morning!!
The hotel also has a small business office where we can browse internet and print things for free.
Bell boys are hospitable, but not all front office people are pleasant though they are all fast and efficient. We didn't try their bar.
Overall, it was great hotel because of the location, the room (suite). I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We got a room on 17 floor, which was great. So quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Three nights at this classy, clean, quiet and very comfortable hotel led us to conclude it is just right for visits to NYC. The well-appointed rooms are huge by Big Apple standards, not inexpensive but affordable, everything works, and the staff is friendly. We found the Upper Westside location lovely to be in with great atmosphere, shops and eateries, plus the short access to the subway made trips to other neighborhoods short and easy. Although this property does not have its own restaurant, an adjacent one offers a wide array of good food at reasonable prices and is open long hours, while the Beacon Bar is a busy watering hole with happy hour specials. The Beacon will be our NYC hotel from now on and we recommend it. It's not too big, too crowded, too costly, too hip or haughty, but just right.

Room Tip: Trust the hotel recommendations on local restaurants. We tried two and both were exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBS-CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
5,086 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 467 in New York City
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing