We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place to stay and we were not disappointed.

The staff from the moment of check in to check out (and that is all of them) have bent over backwards to help. Our room was clean and tidy and could not be faulted. We had a room at the back and did not hear a thing.

I would recommend this place for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,151
    1,175
    148
    47
    23
See reviews for
1,409
1,004
121
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Beacon recently - our third visit there. Still a good value (in so far as that applies in Manhattan) hotel with an efficient staff and a nice bar. Location is good if you don't mind not being close to Times Square; A couple of blocks to the subway, in a residential area with plenty of restaurants, cafes etc. We had a couple of minor gripes this time - lamp wouldnt light ( bulb replaced promptly), plug in bathroom sink wouldnt stay down (didnt report it) and our biggest complaint; we were given a room on Floor11 having requested a high floor. we were on floor 23 last time. When we queried this we were told they were sold out, but we had booked in January! They said they would note it in our file! We'll see. Seemed to be far more tour groups than we had previously seen.
Tip: if you want a queen/king bed be sure to specify; booking a double room gets you 2 ordinary size double beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just returned from a 4 night 5 day trip to New York and had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Beacon in the Upper West Side. Excellent location, close to 72 Subway so getting around was very easy! There is a very good Diner (Viand Diner) right next door that serves a delicious breakfast. There is also the Beacon Bar which I understand is fairly new. We visited the Beacon Bar twice during our stay for an evening cocktail. Very relaxed and comfortable. I'm not sure if they are still working out some kinks, but the service wasn't as friendly as it could have been.
The Hotel itself was lovely. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom suite on the 12th floor. It was beyond our expectations! We were a family of 5 - my husband and myself and our two daughters and a friend. There was ample room for all 5 of us! One bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed, and ample closet and drawer space for clothing. The second bedroom had two double beds, and a smaller closet. The two bathrooms are small, but efficient. The best part for families, is the suite has a small kitchen, with fridge, stove, microwave and coffee maker. It also has a nice size living area with a table and 4 chairs, and a couch that converts into a pull-out bed.We slept soundly as it was quiet with very little outside noise. Good windows!
The hotel is located in a beautiful residential area and an easy walk to Central Park,and the Museum of Natural History. Times Square is only a few subway stops away. You could walk to Times Square in about 30 minutes, but the Subway is so easy and we found it is the best way to get around in the city!
The morning we arrived, it was pouring with rain, and as we were very early, our room was not ready. A huge thank you to the front desk who allowed us to store our bags, so we could go out to explore! They were also more than happy to supply us with big beautiful umbrellas for our walk! We can't say enough about the Hotel Beacon, and will definitely stay again on our next visit to New York! Thank you Hotel Beacon for an awesome first time visit! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very large room by New York standards. Enjoyed the kitchenette, especially when we learned the maid told us to leave the dishes in the sink. She sterilized them in the room. Very clean. Excellent tv with free movies. Wonderful Fairway Market across the street. Only downside: no onsite restaurant. Close to 72nd Street subway stop, so convenient, nearby transportation. Nice bar with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a gives value in a terrific location for visiting New York. We found our room very comfortable and the staff helpful with one minor exception. Do NOT ask for restaurant locations as they send you to sub-par restaurants in the area that they have relationships with. Otherwise we highly recommend this as a base for visiting New York without squandering your budget on exorbitant hotels. We've stayed there multiple times and and have always been comfortable and felt safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant_Discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel was an excellent value for our family of 4. Service was excellent, staff knowledgable and helpful and the location on the upper west side minimized street noise so usual in parts of the city. We used both subway and taxis to explore.

Only downside were the size of the double beds...they were smallish and even two children had difficulty sharing the same small bed

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82160Chubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a spacious suite with 2 DBL beds plus a very comfortable Queen sofa bed in a separate room which provided us with all the space we needed.
An added bonus was the small but fully equipped kitchenette complete with with fridge, freezer and coffee maker.
There is a large supermarket directly opposite the hotel which was great for buying groceries to take back to the room and they also have a cafe upstairs which served super meals.
The location was fantastic - only 2 blocks from 72nd Street subway station which ensured easy access to all areas of Manhattan as well as being only a 5 minute walk from Central Park.
We were in a front room but were not bothered by any street noise as the rooms have double glazing and this ensured a great night's sleep.
All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly which added to a very enjoyable stay and, if we are ever in New York again, would definitely stay at the Beacon.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTraveller1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
2,381 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,080 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 467 in New York City
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,077 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing