We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, fantastic spot for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, fantastic spot for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

After a 6 night stay , The Beacon was perfect for our traveling trio.
The supermarket (Fairway) across the road, deli opposite (Citarella), subway station (72nd st) a 2 minute walk away and minimal noise, makes it a prime location.
The kitchenette in room, and the (level 5) guest self serve laundry= perfect for traveling with an infant! Would return to stay when back in NYC. The 24 hr chemist 'Duane Reade' is super close and handy for kid supplies at anytime, day or night too.
Free wifi is also a bonus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyGlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,076
    1,133
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,340
970
116
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hotel Beacon was a perfect place to visit NYC without being in the thick of people & traffic. Everything is so close by....restaurants, markets, museums, Central Park, subway, etc. Rooms are very clean and roomy, and the staff was more than helpful. If we return to NYC this is where we will stay again for sure!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Again, as I say in my reviews, don’t want to come across as a creature of habit, but is it really a habit when you like a place enough to return to it time after time! This is the attitude I want to convey to you!
We Listened to Rudy Giuliani and went to NYC to give our support just a few weeks after 9/11. We had booked a brand new boutique hotel (no names), but decided to move as rooms were small, and the hotel was geared for a different crowd! It was then when we discovered the Hotel Beacon on the west side at 2130 Broadway (between 74th and 75th)/ we Moved over there and never looked back!
In the years we have been staying there, usually 2 or 3 times per year, we have watched the hotel evolve. It now has a “full fledged” lobby and a great little bar as well! It has always been a great experience- the rooms we always get are a 1 bedroom suite, which has a full kitchen and living room in addition to a bedroom. The Hotel is very comfortable, the staff is excellent (and most have been there a looong time, which is certainly a good sign!). And the price is reasonable for NYC as well! One of the best things we like about the Beacon, besides the Hotel itself is that it is in a great neighborhood, with the emphasis on neighborhood!!! A few blocks from the park, 2 blocks from the #1,2,3,subway at 72nd which can take you ANYWHERE you want to go in the city. Good shopping and fun restaurants in a several block area! If you are a "foodie!, there are interesting restaurants as well as famous and excellent food stores (remember you have a full kitchen here in the suites!), within just a few blocks The Beacon Theater, a great NYC landmark is right next door! We always check to see who is playing at the “Beacon” when we book the Beacon! We have recommended the Hotel Beacon to friends on a number of occasions and have never received a "bad" review from anyone- in fact- most loved it!
All in all, the Hotel Beacon is our hotel of choice when in NYC!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLaP0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it worked out a bit cheaper to have a suite than two double rooms for our family of four. The location of the hotel was ideal for us as I didn't want to be somewhere noisy and crowded, and this is a nice neighbourhood with easy access to the subway and plenty of places to eat close by. The room was spacious and the beds in the bedroom were very comfortable, but unfortunately the sofa bed is really not suitable for sleeping on. It was old, squeaky and totally wonky! After the first sleepless night we took the mattress off it and slept on the floor. To be honest it would be great if they ditched the sofa altogether and replaced it with a king sized bed in the living room, it would be a perfect suite for a family of four. The kitchenette was useful but we only used it for drinks and snacks really. The shower was barely more than a dribble and the Hairdryer was like something from another era! All that said, for what we paid it worked out pretty good value in comparison to others and I'd probably use it again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonia1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is very close to the 72nd street subway station, few blocks from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History.
The best thing for families is the well equipped kitchen, which allowed us to cook dinner at "home" many nights.
Across the street there is a nice supermarket and a gourmet shop.
The only thing I think that could improve is the housekeeping: rooms are not so clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coccinelle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Beacon in 2009 for several nights. I found the two bedroom apartment to be of fantastic value. Close to subway, grocery store right across the street, very handy location. It is a few blocks from the Strawberry Fields entry to Central Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

A very good hotel in all aspects but one, its bar.
Very expensive and not very friendly to hotel guests.
Location is excellent, handy for downtown or a short walk to Central Park
Would return on next visit to New York

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nivekronnoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,520 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing