We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Nights Sleep in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #52 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Nights Sleep in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed In June 2014 on the 21st Floor in a one bedroom suite… lovely and quite with little traffic noise. The space was adequate travelling with our teenage daughter. Plenty of cupboard space, drawers & the kitchenette was a bonus to cook up brekky before setting out for the day. Fantastic supermarket over the road for the OJ, eggs & bacon! Terrific location to the subways & Central Park. The beds are super comfy with soft linen sheets, perfect to retire into after long day of walking. Best part of the Hotel Beacon was the doorman Omar … a genuine nice guy who had a smile on his face to greet you each day!! A great stay at the Hotel Beacon and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher the floor less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,046
    1,105
    133
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,310
954
114
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in a one bed suite on the 24th Floor for 6 days in July 2014. Hubby and I were delighted to have such a great room and view over to the east.
Liked having a spacious sitting room, kitchenette, bathroom and king bed with soft sheets. Also 2 large cupboards with space for suitcases and lots of hangers for clothes. The chests of drawers were good too- possibly for a larger family.
As it was my 50th Birthday celebration we were happy to receive a bottle of champagne and beautiful box of chocolates from the management upon our arrival.
The housekeeping and cleanliness of the hotel was perfect. Everyone was polite and attentive - as proper hospitality and service should be.
The convenience of Fairways, local Bakeries and restaurants was a real bonus. Also the attractions of Central Park, Broadway and the subway to anywhere on the island.
I'd recommend Levain Bakery for cookies and a super Italian place called Salumeria Rosi in the area...Hubby went to Shake Shack too.
Free wi-fi, laundry on the fifth floor that takes credit card payments and a comfy lobby area - we would definitely stay here again for business or a holiday. Great for couples and family. Thanks Beacon Hotel!

Room Tip: A high floor is great for views of course. No noise, although we liked to open the windows for fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whizzyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here March 2014, the hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable, staff were very helpful and close to Central Park , subway and a fabulous little bar next door, great restaurants near by, would recommend this to all, and if back in New York will definitely be staying here..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the beacon hotel as we found it very good overall. Close to the subway. Good little kitchenette in our room saved us heaps of money so we had breakfast and dinner in each night. Excellent staff and well proportioned rooms. Was our oasis after the excesses of NY.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in early July 2014 for a week.

This hotel was perfectly situated very close to Central Park, the subway, restaurants and shops. The staff were friendly, professional and knew NYC. The hotel is modern, has a tidy little jazz bar and everything needed for a weeks sightseeing or just R&R. We stayed as a family in a queen bed double and although the room was small, we survived OK.

Would definitely stay again, although with the kids would need a two or one bed apartment, for some extra space. We did try an upgrade immediately upon seeing the room, but due to the season, this was a non goer (not the hotels fault).

Pros - Location, service, jazz bar, amenities (including washing room and kitchenette), decor...

Cons - Small room (it was, was it was), shower water pressure, loud air conditioner

Room Tip: For a family, give the double bed room a miss.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary05021968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family ( 2 adults & 2kids aged 12 & 14yo) stayed at the Beacon 24-30 June. We had a one bedroom king room with a fold-out double sofa bed in the lounge area, which the kids shared ( with much complaining from my daughter!). My husband and I found the bed comfortable and we slept well especially as there was good block out blinds. Considering the size of most hotels rooms in New York, it was fantastic to be able to spread out and to have a separate bedroom. There was also a kitchenette; we didn't cook per se, just prepared cereal & fruit on some mornings. It was handy to have the utensils, fridge etc at our disposal. The bathroom was a little tight and there was only a small shelf above the basin for our (copious) toiletries!

I liked that the windows could be opened and we slept with them thus on some nights. We were on the 15th floor and were not disturbed by street noise ( we faced onto Broadway).

The air-con was a little temperamental & tended to either be arctic or the thermostat would not allow it to come on & off as needed. I just turned it off at the actual unit when I'd had enough of it.

The staff were all pleasant and courteous.

The hotel is well situated, as many others have noted, close to the subway (although I found subway connections to the East Side & midtown east a pain & time consuming) and an easy stroll to Central Park and lots of cafés/restaurants on Broadway/Columbus & Amsterdam. We really liked the Upper West side: it was lively yet far removed from crowds and chaos. It's a great area to stroll around. If we were to stay in the area again I'd definitely take more time to explore. Overall, a roomy, comfortable, well-priced & well located hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jacq67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Beacon Hotel. The room was well appointed albeit quite compact. The location of the hotel was good and it wasn't far from both Central Park and other amenities.

There were four things that disappointed us about our stay though...

1. Despite booking a King room and telling the hotel we were on honeymoon they still initially gave us a twin room. After negotiation we were moved.

2. The free WiFi has a limited number of connections so isn't always available. We contacted reception about this and were told "it happens all the time, you'll just have to wait".

3. Mould round the edge of the bath wasn't great.

4. Despite there being nice thick blackout curtains in the room these couldn't be used as there were fixings in the curtain rail to prevent them being drawn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#179 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,119 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#227 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#204 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#249 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#50 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing