We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved This Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved This Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family of six were extremely pleased with the accommodations at Hotel Beacon. We booked a two bedroom suite and were not disappointed. Plenty of room for everyone, two bathrooms, a comfortable living and kitchen area. The upper west side location was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful. Grocery stores across the street, Museum of Natural History is a short walk and a subway stop a couple blocks away. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Higher the room the quieter it is. Bring a sound machine just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    1,127
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,328
965
116
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

First things first: If you like Times Square, then don't stay at the Beacon. If, on the other hand, you want to experience New York as New Yorkers do, then don't miss this fantastic hotel. We stayed in a two-room suite that was giant by NYC standards, and even had a full kitchen. Wish we'd known about that when our two kids were small. The staff is exceptionally friendly, the location is phenomenal (fabulous restaurants and the 72d St. subway station all within 2 minutes' walk), the room was quiet and comfortable, and the price is extremely reasonable. Will stay at the Beacon whenever we visit the city from now on!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALTSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Location is perfect! Our one bedroom suite accommodation was perfect! Can't recommend this hotel enough. Stayed here for 3-nights at the beginning of travelling Coast to Coast USA. With the superb Fairways store across the road - marvellous store. So many things to see within walking distance from the hotel. If thinking of staying here, think no more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HebrideanLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel based on recommendations and other reviews.
The good things: Location is great, away from the busy midtown area but readily accessible, <5mins walk to subway, 3 blocks from central park. We had a one bedroom suite which was spacious and clean with a small functional kitchenette including refrigerator. Market across the road for any foodstuffs that you might need. Beds were comfortable. Laundry room with washers and driers.
Nice restaurant next door, lots of cafes within a short walk.
The bad things: sofa bed was quite uncomfortable with a thin mattress and bars sticking into back and shoulders. The elevators could be quite slow, often a wait for one to arrive. Our big problem, though, was the A/C in the bedroom which malfunctioned for 3 of the 5 nights we were there, cycling on and off resulting in sporadic noise making it impossible to sleep. We were told twice that it was fixed, but the problem recurred. Sleep disturbance turned a positive stay into an only ok one, at best.
Wifi available, but not uncommon to be told that "all available access is in use, please try later". That is irritating.
Oh yeah, and the bar: $16 for a glass of average wine, avoid it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammyhybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 5 days at this hotel after a 14 day bus trip around Eastern US and used it as a base 'to do' New York and it's was superb. We were in room 708 and had a lovely view over Broadway. On 75th and Broadway the Beacon is just a 5 min walk to Central Park, and far enough away from Time Square and the down town rat race to be almost sedate - but still close enough and has got plenty of great nearby eateries and some quality boutique shopping and a great food market [Fairway] over the road where you can "get anything" and really well priced. Rooms have a small well equipped kitchen including microwave, small stove and fridge so can do your own breakfasts (or other meals) - oh - and lovely beds AND the room was thoroughly cleaned daily - not always our experience in US. The hotel had the best wash house we saw in 15 hotels on our trip with Maeteg washing machines and drivers and well priced to do your washing and drying. An on site small boutique bar had happy hour daily from 5-7 (as did many others and eateries) but being on site, provided a good interaction opportunity with other guests. Front office staff superb including Concierge and Bellmen. When needed, subway is one block away, bus stop almost at door and taxi only $15 to Times Square and other down town spots. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and definitely recommend it and if we return to NY will without doubt be our hotel of choice. Thanks to all at Beacon you helped make our NY stopover so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Any room that looks out over Broadway good and get good afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here 3 times, most recently in June 2014. The rooms are huge by New York standards, and beautifully furnished. The location is fabulous - only one stop from Times Square if you catch the express 2 or 3 line trains. So close to Central Park, the Lincoln Centre and great restaurants. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Having a kitchen in the rooms is great, particularly with the market across the road, it meant we could buy breakfast supplies. Love this hotel, it will always be my first choice in Manhattan.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Friendly and helpful staff.
Comfortable rooms + kitchenette. Good value for rooms with 2 beds in (to allow our teenage son and daughter to share a room)
Location on Upper West Side close to the river and Central park.
A good variety of places to eat nearby - Viande Cafe next door excellent for breakfast
Not too far to downtown Manhattan via subway or cab.
Somehow my review on Booking.com came out at 7.9- it really should be 9.0!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank argylldread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing