We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,496)
Filter reviews
4,496 results
Traveller rating
2,815
1,382
199
63
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,815
1,382
199
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairway market upper west side central park viand cafe small kitchenette levain bakery new york street subway one bedroom suite times square laundry room natural history museum express train lincoln center short walk full kitchen few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,059 - 2,064 of 4,496 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My 21yr old daughter and I have just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Beacon. This was our first visit to NYC and I think we made the right choice in this hotel.
We had a room on the 16th floor overlooking the Fairway market and even though it was across from the lift there was no noise problems at all. The room was not huge but certainly big enough, the bathroom was a little on the small side. It was handy to have the small kitchenette for preparing meals purchased from the market across the road.
The Upper West Side is a very nice area with plenty of dining choices, particularly in the Amsterdam St area (block behind the hotel). We both felt safe walking from the Midtown area back to the hotel in the early evening and found the locals friendly and helpful.
Overall, a clean, friendly, small hotel which made you feel welcome. I would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Moretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Hotel Beacon for a family weekend. Had the 1 bedroom suite which featured a full kitchen. Room was very clean and surprisingly for a NY hotel, very quiet! We were near the elevators (UH OH!) but much to my surprise there was no noise from the hallways or the street.

Location is great and highly recommended over the hubbub of Times Square. Near Museum of Natural History, The Dakota, as well as Strawberry Fields of course. Subway is convenient to the hotel, and Uber will get you to the Broadway theaters for about $10. First experience using Uber in NYC and it was such a pleasure over the normal cab experience. While everyone was wildly hailing cabs after Wicked, we just waited calmly as our Uber driver cruised in to pick us up. There's a fierce competition between Uber and Lyft right now in NYC, so take advantage of getting black car service at less than taxi pricing.

Back to the hotel, staff was friendly, parking is at nearby self parking lots at expectedly high NYC prices. Doorman steered us to a garage that was slightly less at $46 a day.

Would stay again as it was an oasis of calm in the naked city!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank biffbulkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel Beacon is a gem in a large city. Situated beautifully in upper west side, close to the 72nd St subway station, three blocks from central park and surrounded by great eating options. Rooms are clean and relaxing with amazing beds! Staff have been incredibly helpful but not obtrusive. Without being a pricey chain hotel,Beacon has the amenities without the price tag although it is boutique style too. Incredible fresh food markets just across the road open till 1am each day. All inall agreatexperience and highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kath-lee0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which had a full kitchen which was great. Rooms are quite, clean and comfortable. Staff here are so lovely, nothing is ever a problem. Location is idea a block from the subway with a quick ride anywhere in New York! Accross the road is a Food Market which we made great use of for breakfasts or dinners in our rooms after long days in the city. If I'm ever back in NYC I would definetly come back here! :)

Room tip: We had other friends staying all over hotel and all rooms were great.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our family of four stayed in a two-double room on an overnight in the middle of a larger trip, needing an upper-west-side location vs. our usual mid-town preferences and this compared reasonably favorably to others price-wise.
The room was sharp and comfy though beds were smaller than all other equivalent rooms on this trip (as, indeed, was the room itself but that's Manhattan...!). Staff was helpful, separate garage parking around the corner, subway just a block away, and you can enjoy a pleasant walk over to the park, down to Lincoln Center, up to Zabar's, Redeemer Pres., or take a not-bad taxi ride to the theaters or Rock. Ctr area. (No real on-site "coffee" etc. and wifi was poor.) I would definitely stay again, though more likely if it's just "the two of us" next time.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClassicalEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews