We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,418)
Filter reviews
4,418 results
Traveller rating
2,758
1,370
194
61
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,758
1,370
194
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairway market upper west side central park viand cafe small kitchenette levain bakery great supermarket new york strawberry fields street subway one bedroom suite times square laundry room express train natural history museum lincoln center full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,981 - 1,986 of 4,418 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I consider the Hotel Beacon a great value for the money. Rooms are nicely furnished with quite enough space. We had 2 queen beds and enough space for the baby cot when we moved 1 chair out of the way. The kitchenette helped us to store some food for the baby and we had an impromptu pic nic dinner with delicious food from Fairway market and Citarella!

Staff was very helpful, with regards to my delayed luggage but also at the bar and at check out.

only draw back was the 'traffic jam' with elevators just before check out time :) with 24 floors and only 3 elevators we waited about 10 min to get on a free elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baebsjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Beacon for 5 nights in August. Staff on arrival were really welcoming and our room was typical 3 star standard but with the added benefit of a small kitchen, complete with fridge, microwave and hob. This really helped us out as we could eat breakfast in the hotel instead of eating out every morning. We were really impressed by its great location. It is just outside of the frenetic midtown location, so you can experience true New York living without being too far away from anything. The subway station is only a two minute walk down the road and it is only one stop to Times Square. Across the road is a fabulous gourmet supermarket called Fairways, which is an event in itself looking around at the produce on offer! There is also a great cafe next door to the hotel serving typical American food including breakfasts. There is also a Starbucks just across the street as well as many eateries in the surrounding area, providing great food choices such as pizza, Italian, Indian and Mexican food. Central Park is only 2 blocks away and if you have children the Natural History Museum is only a 5 minute walk away also. A truly fantastic hotel that we would not hesitate re-visiting or recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel and were given a suite on the fifteenth floor.
The position is terrific, right next door to the theatre and so close to 75th street subway .
The staff were very helpful, accommodation was excellent, having small kitchenette which enabled us to make own breakfasts etc with provisions from Fairway Deli across the road, so many delicious foods !!
The only minor complaint was the Airconditioning , not really cool enough in hot New York summer.
Laundry facilities available.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a suite, so spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My 21yr old daughter and I have just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Beacon. This was our first visit to NYC and I think we made the right choice in this hotel.
We had a room on the 16th floor overlooking the Fairway market and even though it was across from the lift there was no noise problems at all. The room was not huge but certainly big enough, the bathroom was a little on the small side. It was handy to have the small kitchenette for preparing meals purchased from the market across the road.
The Upper West Side is a very nice area with plenty of dining choices, particularly in the Amsterdam St area (block behind the hotel). We both felt safe walking from the Midtown area back to the hotel in the early evening and found the locals friendly and helpful.
Overall, a clean, friendly, small hotel which made you feel welcome. I would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Moretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Hotel Beacon for a family weekend. Had the 1 bedroom suite which featured a full kitchen. Room was very clean and surprisingly for a NY hotel, very quiet! We were near the elevators (UH OH!) but much to my surprise there was no noise from the hallways or the street.

Location is great and highly recommended over the hubbub of Times Square. Near Museum of Natural History, The Dakota, as well as Strawberry Fields of course. Subway is convenient to the hotel, and Uber will get you to the Broadway theaters for about $10. First experience using Uber in NYC and it was such a pleasure over the normal cab experience. While everyone was wildly hailing cabs after Wicked, we just waited calmly as our Uber driver cruised in to pick us up. There's a fierce competition between Uber and Lyft right now in NYC, so take advantage of getting black car service at less than taxi pricing.

Back to the hotel, staff was friendly, parking is at nearby self parking lots at expectedly high NYC prices. Doorman steered us to a garage that was slightly less at $46 a day.

Would stay again as it was an oasis of calm in the naked city!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank biffbulkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews