We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #63 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is great. few minutes walking to central Park and subway. We felt safe even when returning late at night.
The staff was very kind and helpful.
The suite was spacious and clean.
Fantastic deli across the street.
We prepared and ate breakfast in the room which was a nice and quiet start for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Limor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 3,724 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I consider the Hotel Beacon a great value for the money. Rooms are nicely furnished with quite enough space. We had 2 queen beds and enough space for the baby cot when we moved 1 chair out of the way. The kitchenette helped us to store some food for the baby and we had an impromptu pic nic dinner with delicious food from Fairway market and Citarella!

Staff was very helpful, with regards to my delayed luggage but also at the bar and at check out.

only draw back was the 'traffic jam' with elevators just before check out time :) with 24 floors and only 3 elevators we waited about 10 min to get on a free elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baebsjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Beacon for 5 nights in August. Staff on arrival were really welcoming and our room was typical 3 star standard but with the added benefit of a small kitchen, complete with fridge, microwave and hob. This really helped us out as we could eat breakfast in the hotel instead of eating out every morning. We were really impressed by its great location. It is just outside of the frenetic midtown location, so you can experience true New York living without being too far away from anything. The subway station is only a two minute walk down the road and it is only one stop to Times Square. Across the road is a fabulous gourmet supermarket called Fairways, which is an event in itself looking around at the produce on offer! There is also a great cafe next door to the hotel serving typical American food including breakfasts. There is also a Starbucks just across the street as well as many eateries in the surrounding area, providing great food choices such as pizza, Italian, Indian and Mexican food. Central Park is only 2 blocks away and if you have children the Natural History Museum is only a 5 minute walk away also. A truly fantastic hotel that we would not hesitate re-visiting or recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel and were given a suite on the fifteenth floor.
The position is terrific, right next door to the theatre and so close to 75th street subway .
The staff were very helpful, accommodation was excellent, having small kitchenette which enabled us to make own breakfasts etc with provisions from Fairway Deli across the road, so many delicious foods !!
The only minor complaint was the Airconditioning , not really cool enough in hot New York summer.
Laundry facilities available.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a suite, so spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My 21yr old daughter and I have just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Beacon. This was our first visit to NYC and I think we made the right choice in this hotel.
We had a room on the 16th floor overlooking the Fairway market and even though it was across from the lift there was no noise problems at all. The room was not huge but certainly big enough, the bathroom was a little on the small side. It was handy to have the small kitchenette for preparing meals purchased from the market across the road.
The Upper West Side is a very nice area with plenty of dining choices, particularly in the Amsterdam St area (block behind the hotel). We both felt safe walking from the Midtown area back to the hotel in the early evening and found the locals friendly and helpful.
Overall, a clean, friendly, small hotel which made you feel welcome. I would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Moretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Hotel Beacon for a family weekend. Had the 1 bedroom suite which featured a full kitchen. Room was very clean and surprisingly for a NY hotel, very quiet! We were near the elevators (UH OH!) but much to my surprise there was no noise from the hallways or the street.

Location is great and highly recommended over the hubbub of Times Square. Near Museum of Natural History, The Dakota, as well as Strawberry Fields of course. Subway is convenient to the hotel, and Uber will get you to the Broadway theaters for about $10. First experience using Uber in NYC and it was such a pleasure over the normal cab experience. While everyone was wildly hailing cabs after Wicked, we just waited calmly as our Uber driver cruised in to pick us up. There's a fierce competition between Uber and Lyft right now in NYC, so take advantage of getting black car service at less than taxi pricing.

Back to the hotel, staff was friendly, parking is at nearby self parking lots at expectedly high NYC prices. Doorman steered us to a garage that was slightly less at $46 a day.

Would stay again as it was an oasis of calm in the naked city!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank biffbulkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel Beacon is a gem in a large city. Situated beautifully in upper west side, close to the 72nd St subway station, three blocks from central park and surrounded by great eating options. Rooms are clean and relaxing with amazing beds! Staff have been incredibly helpful but not obtrusive. Without being a pricey chain hotel,Beacon has the amenities without the price tag although it is boutique style too. Incredible fresh food markets just across the road open till 1am each day. All inall agreatexperience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kath-lee0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,443 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#186 of 469 in New York City
5,479 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,446 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 469 in New York City
3,756 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £130 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing