We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Clueless Managers”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Clueless Managers”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As noted by prior reviewers, this is a reasonably priced hotel in a great location, within walking distance to Central Park, the subway, the American Museum of Natural History, restaurants as well as two great places for take-out food, Fairway and Zabars. Even more important for us, since we were traveling with our adult children and two grandchildren (a 5 and a 3 year old), was the availability of a two bedroom suite. This was perfect for our group of 6 so we booked it 8 months ahead.
We were therefore quite shocked and disturbed to receive a call a day before our planned arrival from a D____ at the Hotel, telling us that they would not have a two bedroom suite for us on arrival but that we could all be accommodated in their one bedroom suite. When we said that this would not work, she arranged for us to have two rooms, a one bedroom suite and a regular bedroom.
On arrival (after 10 hours of traveling and with two sleeping toddlers in our hands) we were asked to sign the check-in and give our credit card. When I asked when our two bedroom suite would be available, we were told that we could move in any time the next day. The next day, around 11AM, when I went down to the front desk to see about our two bedroom suite, we were told that we should pack up all our stuff and leave it in the room and then they would move our things since the room was still not available. As anyone knows who has traveled with young kids, this necessitated picking up all their toys and repacking, etc.
Thankfully when we returned from our days activity, our belongings had been all safely moved to the two bedroom suite. The next morning when we attempted to make coffee in the Keurig
K-cup coffee machine, we ended up with coffee grinds in the coffee and all over the top of the machine. We called down to the front desk who promised that they would send up an "engineer" to fix our coffee machine. When the same thing happened the next morning, we called down again and were again told that they would send up the engineer again. This time we happened to be still there when she came up. This person argued that it is "normal" for this machine to spew coffee grinds into the cup of coffee.
On check out, we were presented our bill which only included the cost of the one room suite for the first night (in addition to the two bedroom suite for the subsequent nights). When I pointed out to this person that we had a second room the first night, she responded that the
hotel had decided to "comp" that room to compensate us for not having the room we had booked on our arrival and the inconvenience of moving. I thanked her and said that was very nice of them.
When I returned home, I found out that this was not true. Although we had not checked out,
the hotel had gone ahead and charged my credit card without informing us despite having our phone number, email as well as our still being present there. When I called to complain, the person who I talked to, E______, felt that the hotel was within their right to charge us without informing us. Call me old-fashioned, but to me the hotel has a responsibility to let you know before charging individuals. In this case, they had numerous ways to tell us and show us the bill (including our phone number, email, as well as us still being present in the hotel) before charging our credit card. Unfortunately these manager's attitudes detract from a great hotel with hard working and responsible hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,135
    1,160
    144
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,385
996
119
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Travelling as part of a tour group and arrived at the hotel late at night. Fortunately, the check-in went very smoothly and we were in our room very quickly. In fact, the room was like a small apartment with a fully fitted kitchen and it was kept spotlessly clean.

The location of the hotel was good - within walking distance of Central Park and easy access to the subway as well as good restaurants. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our say here, although it wasn't until we got home that I realised how much it costs to stay there! It may well be competitive with other NYC hotels, I'm not sure. I would certainly recommend it, but would just suggest that you have a look around to see what else is out there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our first family trip to NYC and we are very pleased to have chosen the Hotel Beacon.

We were there with our two children. We had a large bedroom with a big kingsize bed, they were on the generous fold-out sofa bed in the kitchen/sitting room. All very comfortable. There was plenty of storage and all was very clean and well kept. Kitchen was a huge bonus with the kids and we picked up breakfast from the Fairways Market across the road.

Location is wonderful. Subway within a couple of blocks and only 15-20 minutes walk from Times Square. Central Park is also a couple of blocks away and we hired bikes to explore the park. Amsterdam Ave has lots of good restaurants and the smaller side streets have a selection of local shops - deli, drugstore, laundry etc.

Beacon Bar downstairs is a nice spot for a drink and the staff are very friendly.

Would definitely return to Hotel Beacon next time we are in NYC, and have recommended to friends too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

my family and I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks. We experienced two kinds of room, single room suite and a double room.
Location is very good. It's situated at 75th St Broadway in Upper West of Manhattan, a decent neighbourhood where you feel safe and everything is easily accessible including subway, supermarket and Central Park.
The service is up to standard. The good thing about this hotel is that the rooms are equipped with a kitchen. We spent many days in the kitchen preparing breakfast and dinner, which is important especially to budget and family travellers. A supermarket Fairway is just located across the street. We loved to visit there once every 2 days to fill up the fridge with food, especially fresh fruits.
My boy attended summer school in NYC for 3 weeks. Every morning we took subway at 72nd Street which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. There are also buses going along broadway. Transport to and fro the hotel is not a big issue. The walking is almost minimum.
There is also a Laundry Room on the 6th Floor which opens 24-hr. You can just use your credit card for the washing and drying service. Again, a credit for those staying long in a city.

There are several things that the hotel could improve. The hotel is poor in terms of sound proofing. You would hear door banging every night up to hundred times. Also one time my wife need to call the front desk for assistance and ask them for help as the people next door were holding a miniparty at 11pm!
Because of the availability of cooking facility, I found the room having a slight stinky odour. Perhaps the ventilation is the mini-kitchen is not as effective as our household ones.
The last thing is about the free Wi-fi. It was extremely unstable. You merely can't log-in in most of the days. Instead, the one in the Bar at lobby level sounds more steady somehow. Goodluck to everybody if you rely very much on Wi-fi in your room!
In short, this hotel is valued for money when you want to stay in such a nice neighbourhood in Manhattan!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bupuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just recently stayed here for 4 nights with family of 4 .As previous posters have mentioned the hotel's location can't be beaten, it's a lovely neighbourhood and feels like you are amongst "real" New Yorkers rather than than just tourists. The subway is very close and the Fairways Market across the road is very useful, especially if you are travelling with always hungry teenagers. We had booked a 2 double + sofa bed 2 room suite with kitchenette . Kitchenette consisted of cooker, microwave, fridge and coffee maker but we missed an electric kettle although a stove top kettle was provided so no great problem. We had breakfast and a couple of dinners in the room- convenient when tired.
We liked it that the bathroom was in the corridor and could be accessed without going through the other room. Service was courteous and professional rather than friendly . Room was kept very clean and dirty dishes were replaced daily- great service.
There are loads of foodie options nearby, try Island Burgers on Amsterdam or get a takeaway Pizza from Freddie& Peppers on Amsterdam (entrance looks shabby but Pizza is great)
I would have loved to give 5 stars as we really liked the setup but here are our 2 gripes:
1) The air-conditioning is very!! noisy and difficult to regulate so we had to keep it off at night hence being very hot
2) Our sofa bed was very uncomfortable so we had to resort to placing the mattress on the floor, which was ok to sleep on but defies the object of the sofa bed.
Kids were pleased though as they had a bed each in the bedroom as they were too small for us parents to share, so we ended up sleeping on the full size mattress lol.
Apart from these gripes the set up worked really well for us and I would happily return but would opt for the King suite +sofa+ extra fold up bed.
So all in all a great place especially when travelling with family, convenient and reasonably priced for NY standards with easy access to all the major sights.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Bedrooms are huge and well appointed. Good kitchenette for self catering
Location brilliant. Supermarkets, liquor stores, cafés, subway station all close by. Ditto lots of attractions cabin be walked to.
Great place.
Added bonus was fabulous helpful friendly staff, free wifi and a gym.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent location, next door to the Beacon Theatre, which is an absolute must. We were lucky and saw the Fab Faux in concert the night before we were flying home to Australia. The staff are friendly, courteous and happy. The rooms are lovely, reasonable priced and walking distance to a lot of sightseeing and must do's in NY. Will definitely be going back and staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 466 in New York City
2,359 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
4,961 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 466 in New York City
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing