We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for first timers”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #75 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Within easy walk for subway and can stroll to central park too. We had two bedroom suite which was great as we couldsitinthe lounge together to plan or days. Spotless throughout and helpful staff. Supermarket over road and Viand cafe next door useful and make for an'authentic' new York experience.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 3rd floor - good views and no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitefamilyvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,585)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beacon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 3,585 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Really liked this location on the Upper West Side. Nice safe neighborhood with many good restaurants. The 72nd Street subway station is only a couple of blocks from the hotel. The Fairway Market is across the street and has most anything, including takeout food. The hotel was one of the cleanest we have stayed in. The room was an adequate size and nicely decorated, however the bathroom was very small. The sound proofed windows kept the outside noise to a minimum. The reception staff was friendly and provided helpful answers to our questions and directions to those places we were interested in visiting. We were able to check in 2 hours early since the type of room requested was ready. The ac worked well and there were no problems with the wifi. This is a well run hotel. Overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our room was spacious, clean, and boasted a refreshingly lightly colored decor; comfy bed, too. The tiled bathroom was a little cramped, but certainly adequate. A big plus was the kitchen area with hobs, kettle, microwave, and refrigerator- saved us eating out for breakfast. Any utensils and crockery that we used were replaced daily. Free in room WiFi was reliable. The rooms were well soundproofed, although in addition we were on the 15th floor and didn't face Broadway, which helped keep the city noise at bay. Location is great: A large grocery store sits across the road, and it's just three blocks from the subway. Joggers should note the hotel is only a pleasant, five minute warm-up walk to the pedestrian and bike Greenway that runs alongside the Hudson.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PhantomTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

had family come into town to visit and chose this hotel for the location and reviews and I wasn't disappointed, The hotel is nicely appointed, My family felt welcomed, The staff is well trained and the location is great for someone visiting out of town, central and practical!, I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakistar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great reasonably priced (for NY) hotel with a great UWS location which after a day in heavily traveled parts of city was a welcome respite. Great neighborhood with lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Subway very convenient with a stop just blocks away. Staff interaction was limited but always accommodating to requests and inquiries. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank MeelyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As noted by prior reviewers, this is a reasonably priced hotel in a great location, within walking distance to Central Park, the subway, the American Museum of Natural History, restaurants as well as two great places for take-out food, Fairway and Zabars. Even more important for us, since we were traveling with our adult children and two grandchildren (a 5 and a 3 year old), was the availability of a two bedroom suite. This was perfect for our group of 6 so we booked it 8 months ahead.
We were therefore quite shocked and disturbed to receive a call a day before our planned arrival from a D____ at the Hotel, telling us that they would not have a two bedroom suite for us on arrival but that we could all be accommodated in their one bedroom suite. When we said that this would not work, she arranged for us to have two rooms, a one bedroom suite and a regular bedroom.
On arrival (after 10 hours of traveling and with two sleeping toddlers in our hands) we were asked to sign the check-in and give our credit card. When I asked when our two bedroom suite would be available, we were told that we could move in any time the next day. The next day, around 11AM, when I went down to the front desk to see about our two bedroom suite, we were told that we should pack up all our stuff and leave it in the room and then they would move our things since the room was still not available. As anyone knows who has traveled with young kids, this necessitated picking up all their toys and repacking, etc.
Thankfully when we returned from our days activity, our belongings had been all safely moved to the two bedroom suite. The next morning when we attempted to make coffee in the Keurig
K-cup coffee machine, we ended up with coffee grinds in the coffee and all over the top of the machine. We called down to the front desk who promised that they would send up an "engineer" to fix our coffee machine. When the same thing happened the next morning, we called down again and were again told that they would send up the engineer again. This time we happened to be still there when she came up. This person argued that it is "normal" for this machine to spew coffee grinds into the cup of coffee.
On check out, we were presented our bill which only included the cost of the one room suite for the first night (in addition to the two bedroom suite for the subsequent nights). When I pointed out to this person that we had a second room the first night, she responded that the
hotel had decided to "comp" that room to compensate us for not having the room we had booked on our arrival and the inconvenience of moving. I thanked her and said that was very nice of them.
When I returned home, I found out that this was not true. Although we had not checked out,
the hotel had gone ahead and charged my credit card without informing us despite having our phone number, email as well as our still being present there. When I called to complain, the person who I talked to, E______, felt that the hotel was within their right to charge us without informing us. Call me old-fashioned, but to me the hotel has a responsibility to let you know before charging individuals. In this case, they had numerous ways to tell us and show us the bill (including our phone number, email, as well as us still being present in the hotel) before charging our credit card. Unfortunately these manager's attitudes detract from a great hotel with hard working and responsible hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricardo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Travelling as part of a tour group and arrived at the hotel late at night. Fortunately, the check-in went very smoothly and we were in our room very quickly. In fact, the room was like a small apartment with a fully fitted kitchen and it was kept spotlessly clean.

The location of the hotel was good - within walking distance of Central Park and easy access to the subway as well as good restaurants. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our say here, although it wasn't until we got home that I realised how much it costs to stay there! It may well be competitive with other NYC hotels, I'm not sure. I would certainly recommend it, but would just suggest that you have a look around to see what else is out there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 468 in New York City
2,412 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,243 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#226 of 468 in New York City
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 468 in New York City
2,100 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £147 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing