We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peakin' at The Beacon”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #63 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2009

King Suite was great, and I thought the price was reasonable for the location. It was great to have the kitchenette, even though it was a pretty tiny area. We went across the street to the Fairway Market to stock up on beer, coffee, and breakfast items. The bed was really comfortable. There is a diner right next door, and a Starbuck's across the street. 2 different ATMs within a few hundred feet. Overall a great experience, with a few minor drawbacks. We could hear everything the people in the room next to us said or did, and I'm sure they could also hear us. The bathroom was pretty small, and it was an a weird location right by the door to the room. The bathroom door was right beside the front door, and you could see right into it when entering the room from the hallway. But those were minor inconveniences, considering that the Beacon Theatre is next door, and so much to do in the area. I'm planning to stay there again next March.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobiasFuenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,775 - 2,781 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

Much better than expected! Had 3 queen beds (one being a pull out couch) for less than $300 a night with a full kitchenette and more than enough space and closets. A perfect location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room did not have the expected iron but after calling the front desk, there was a gracious staff member at the door in minutes. Front desk was more than helpful with directions and providing us with several extra keys. Room was very clean, modern and comfortable. For the price/location/cleanliness, I would definitely recommend it for a stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wynrush9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

A great, quiet hotel on the Upper West Side. Our rooms were spotless, bright and modern. Staff was extremely helpful with neighborhood recommendations for eating and getting around. The kitchenette came in handy for stocking our own drinks and snacks. And with the spectacular Beacon Theatre literally next door we just had to step out one door and into the next to take in our performance. It truly did feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desilu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My husband and I stayed in a suite at the Hotel Beacon for 7 nights. It had been recommended by fellow Australians and we were certainly not disappointed. Located on Broadway Upper West side near W75 Street, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the 72St subway and about 5 minutes walk from Strawberry Fields in Central Park. Across the road is the amazing Fairways Market which in our view is Deli Heaven!! Having our own kitchenette with full amenities was a real bonus although there is a good choice of restaurants and cafes near the hotel. The refurbished rooms are spacious and spotless with all mod cons. It was truly a home away from home with friendly helpful staff, good service and in my opinion well priced.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanettesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

What a pleasure! The freshly renovated, attractive & comfortably furnished accommodations really do look like the photos on the hotel's website, but the photos do not show just how airy and spacious the bedroom of our suite was, the size of the walk-in closet (with window), how well-equipped the compact kitchen is (toaster, microwave, basic cookware, small range with oven, microwave, sink & refrigerator). The bathroom, however, is quite compact, and the towels are not luxuriously thick.

In addition to the closet space, there were ample drawers for the 3 of us; the large flat-screen TV was directly across from the sofa; excellent climate control, an ergonomic desk chair; and the iPod docking station was a nice touch -- all features, I might add, that were not to be found in the Sofitel suite in which I stayed 2 weeks later at twice the price. And, my friend reported that the sofabed was surprisingly comfortable.

This is not a deluxe hotel with full-service amenities, such as a bar & restaurant. But the immediate environs offer a variety of those & food markets; a gym [day passes available to hotel guests at a discount] and a good wine shop are just next door; and the neighborhood, one of my favorites, delighted my out-of-town friends as much as I hoped. For those staying longer, there are also coin-operated washers & dryers in a pleasant-enough laundry room on the 7th floor. Lastly, the staff was unfailingly pleasant, welcoming and professional.

If I could afford it, I'd be tempted to give up my apartment to live at the Beacon year-round; I'm sure you too will be pleased with your stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CockleCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My friend and I selected the Hotel Beacon because it was next to the Beacon Theater. We had tickets for Leonard Cohen and the hotel location was convenient. We were pleasantly surprised with a great room. There were 3 closets; important if you travel with kids. The bedroom had 2 double beds and a TV. The living room/kitchenette contained a loveseat size sofa bed, a chair and ottoman, bistro table with 2 chairs, coffee table, TV on top of a bureau, fridge, sink, stove and oven, and cabinets. The bathroom was small but looked newly tiled in marble and was fine for us. The room was clean and the furnishings appeared to be on the newer side. Close by are plenty of places to eat in a variety of price ranges and the Fairway market across the street was an experience in itself. I will definitely stay here again even if I attending an event in mid-town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Stayed here for a tradeshow and it was great! We were in one of the 1 BR suites and for the money, it was unbeatable. The kitchen, sitting room and extra TV were perfect. The room we had was freshly renovated and very clean. This is not a luxury hotel but has more of a NYC apartment feel in a WONDERFUL neighborhood. Right across the street from Fairway and Citarella.. you really can't go wrong! Staff at front desk helpful too!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank intlarrivals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,441 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,474 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 469 in New York City
4,444 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#229 of 469 in New York City
3,753 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing