We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best values in NYC”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best values in NYC”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I've been here two times and love everything about the Beacon. It feels like a true NYC hotel, with its old elevators, some residents and their dogs, and a location that can't be beat.
The fully equipped kitchen is a bonus and their recent renovations are tasteful, on par with the latest look in small luxury hotels.
My only minor complaint is they haven't taken the extra step of upgrading bed linens, still maintaining the old blanket-style coverings and lower grade pillows/sheets.
I feel like a true New Yorker instead of a visitor when I stay here - very comfortable.
Even though we are on a busy section of Broadway the windows and doors provide excellent sound insulation.
Try the great breakfast at Viand Cafe next to the hotel, fresh eggs, OJ, HOT coffee, homefries, and toast for less than $6.
Zabar's is 5-6 blocks north and Fairway supermarket is across the street, both outstanding places to purchase goodies to bring back to the hotel.
Beacon is within walking distance of top shopping and restaurants, and a 2 min walk from the restored 72nd street subway stop, which connects you anywhere in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,136
    1,162
    145
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,388
996
120
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We loved this hotel. The location is FANTASTIC, just across the road from a market, close to subway, walking distance from Central Park.

The room itself can only be classified as a "suite", we had 3 closets (one fit all 5 of our suitcases) a bedroom, small lounge and kitchen. Kitchen could have had more utensils and crockery but that is a common complaint amongst all hotels.

All halls and elevators were clean and lovely. We didn't experience too much noise from traffic or other guests.

There was one lady, who cleaned the rooms, who had been at the Beacon for 30 years - she was an absolute delight to speak to. Everyone was very friendly.

This hotel greatly contributed to our delightful New York stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

They had me from "Hello". The lady who booked my room was an angel! From the moment I walked in the lobby, I was impressed. Booking online can be very scary, especially in NYC. So I called up and spoke with Dawn in reservations. She was so nice! They say New Yorkers are rude, well not so. These were the nicest people. From the front desk to the housekeepers, all lovely.

Anyway, when i walked into the room, I thought there must be a mistake, I must have been accidentally upgraded to h-e-a-v-e-n! The room was nicer than the pictures online. I wish I had known the hotel is connected to the Beacon Theatre. I would have checked who is playing in advance and bought tickets for the show. Next time!

All I can say is, this is my hotel now. I will never stay anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AvidEater2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I have stayed at the hotel beacon twice, once in 06, and once in 08. Both trips have been great. My first trip, the apartments had not been remodelled, but I still found my room very large, comfortable, and similar to any apartment an urban dweller would find as a comfortable home. My second trip, I was like, WOW!, new furniture, LCD tv''s, marble bathrooms.... I wanted to take it all home to my place in San Francisco. I really love the beacon hotel because of it's location, the size of the rooms, and the friendly staff. The best place to be for an authentic New Your experiance!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmbritt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The upper west side of New York City is a great place to love, especially with children. And the Hotel Beacon on 75th and Broadway is a great place to stay in NYC with Children. Away from the tourist areas of times square and the business areas of midtown, we stayed in a 2 bedroom with kiving room and kitchen. We shopped at fairway and Citronella across the street; and took a short walk to Zabars and H&H bagels. While this wouldn't be considered a luxury hotel by any means, it was safe, clean, in a great location close to the subway, and we would stay here again. The diner on the corner delivers at a fraction of what room service would charge. And I am a hotel snob. But how could a family of 4 comfortable stay at The Plaza? Nope, Hotel Beacon for me. And a bargain at twice the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matt424242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

master bedroom is fine - the rest is not as advertised: the sofa bed mattress is torture, the 'free' wifi and access to gym is not free and the staff was not very helpful with any requests/ questions.
Location is good but other than that I would pass.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAFRMIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Best NY hotel i've stayed in so far. Good value for money, close to subway, shops, bars. Nice Neighborhood feel to the area. Felt safe at all time of day.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffDeadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,590 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing