We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beacon hotel great venue for NYC”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #62 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Hotel Beacon Upper West Side NYC- Dec 2010. great location.

Arrived 17.12.2010 travelled with wife and 14 year old daughter, leisure trip. Stayed for 12 nights over Xmas, so we had a good deal of time there to assess just what type of
place this is.

Location adjacent, (100 metres from 72nd st metro stop) great location, this is 4 or 5 stops from times square centre of town, ie 42nd st for all theatres etc. Metro is $2.25 per ride per person regardless of distance, so get a card which you can place $ value on and then use it all over the system. Also can be used on buses. So 3 people going all over metro system per trip is really cheap. Super convenient safe clean system.

But the Beacon..... clean, safe, opposite fairway, i think, super market, 24/7 place with everything and anything you can imagine, also rooms are equipped with kitchenette ie micro wave, stove, fridge & sink etc . coffee making, haridryers, full bathroom including a tub king bed in main room. We got a jnr suit for a very reasonable rate but there are the following taxes applicable to all NYC hotel stays; state tax, city tax, occupancy tax and hotel unit fee so you have to factor that in to all accommodation. Sone of the rooms on our floor, 11th overlooking Broadway, are occupied/owned by fulltime residents. So i suppose it is almost like a serviced apartment block.

The Beacon is worth every cent, great housekeeping, polite reception even assisted when we got hit with a Blizzard in getting us onto our airline to get out of NYC to Vegas. Free internet room off foyer, we had a couple of housekeeping malfunctions, we notified hotel and literally within 5 minutes people were at our door who actually fixed the problem. The room had movies on demand if you got sick of the 100 plus channels. 24/7 security and they are able to get you tickets to shows, tours etc if you like.

We cant speak highly enough of this place and would not hesitate to recommend it to
others, regardless of age or trip reason. The hotel is 3 or 4 blocks walk from Central Park which is itself amazing, 3 or 4 blocks from Lincoln Centre which houses opera, ballet and movies etc. You can walk to 5th Ave or just down Broadway as a tourist.

Columbus and Amsterdam are 1 or 2 blocks East of the hotel and they are crammed with restaurants. Beacon has cafe Viand in the building, didnt try it. But the supermarket opposite has a breakfast floor which is great for brekky and reasonable if you dont want to use the kitchen.

The prices in Midtown are substantially more for similar quality of that offered by the Beacon we had friends there asnd saw there rooms. We stayed at the Woolcott Hotel on 34th Street for 5 nights also and though nice it was not a patch on the Beacon, more expensive BUT you could walk to 42 Street and Madison Square Garden.

Tips for Beacon use the free internet, walk to metro and use it to go both downtown and also uptown to Harlem directly. Walk to Central Park, walk to the Dakota Building where tragically John LENNON was murdered and Strawberry Fields rememberance area. Get all your groceries at the supermarket opposite Beacon which also has barb B Q chooks hot off the rotisserie for lunch, which are great for sandwiches for kids and pre packed salads very reasonably priced. Walk down to Lincoln centre and checkout movies playing if you want a quiet night in. Go out the hotel turn right heard uptown cross Broadway for 2 blocks and there is Nicks Hamburger joint which has huge menu and great burgers, pasta, fries shakes etc and all reasonable, open 24/7 dinner for 3 of us @ $40. Also chilli and peppers pizza joint in street behind hotel which is really cheap and sells pie by the slice with a nice salad, dinner for 3 of us was @ $25.

Also if you are looking to shop, get the metro up to Harlem. There is Marshalls store there which has heaps of sport gear like Nike, Reebok, And 1, etc etc all cheap and lots of street wear shops stocking levis etc. I priced a pair of nikeair max s in midtown and Macys then went to harlem and got the same shoes for $50 USD less!!!!!!! Also at Macys take your passport in and get a discount card for 10% on all purchases. There are lots of branded clothes and shoes discounted throughout NYC, (according to my 14 year old daughter and lots of nice boutiques in Amsterdam and Columbus near Beacon), also a great flea market on Sunday on West 78 St (I think), which has great jewellery and furs etc, also vintage clothes.

In our opinion if you are visiting NYC and you want safe,clean,friendly and competitively priced accommodation you cant go past the Beacon Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clariceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,675 - 2,681 of 3,855 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed at the Beacon for 2 nights on Dec 23 and 24th. Great price for a great hotel. The perfect place to say in Manhatten in the beautiful Upper West Side. Such an easy area to stay in, with lots of local restaurants, shopping and subway one block away. We had a one bedroom suite that was so nice and spacious. Modern with 2 flat screens, comfy bed and big kitchen area. Perfect to keep leftovers, snacks and drinks. The bathroom is a bit small, but nice enough and really didn't matter since the suite was so big. The staff was super nice and very helpful when there was a small snafu with our third party booking. The cleaning staff were also really nice and helpful when we asked for extra coffee and help with the TV (great reception.) We tether to the internet thru our Blackberry so didn't use the pay internet service. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit NYC.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ReinerSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Stayed at the Beacon with my 80 year old Mum, we stayed here 4 years ago before refurbishment and it is looking good. This time I booked a one bed apartment and it had a lovely little kitchen off the living room and we loved having a tv in the living room and bedroom staying here for a week was like home from home. Staff were wonderful from the minute we arrived and very helpful if we needed anything. Excellent location a short walk to the subway and as many as 4 buses servicing the area. Many nice shops and restaurants and a Starbucks on the corner. A little way from the hustle of Times Sq but lots to see and do in the area and quite a lively neighbourhood. Will definitley be back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I liked this hotel alot. We ran into a lot of Aussies there! In a good location right near the subway. Hotel staff were very helpful in giving out maps and explaining how to use the subway.

When we first walked in the door, we were greated with free Elton John tix for the following day's filming next door. We didnt go cause we were too tired to get up that early but it was appreciated anyways.

There is free internet use, but as there are only two computers there was often a cue to use them. I found 3am in the morning a good time! :)

The room was small but good size for NY. Little kitchenette was great. small sized bathroom but it was all you needed. Wasnt expecting anything big for NY.

Great Hotel. Would def recommend it !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Beacon. This hotel was recommended by a friend of my sister's and it lived up to its reputation. It reminded me of a small, boutique type of hotel with more personalized service. The Beacon is located on the upper west side, a perfect location...still close to all the action, but you feel like you are in a more residential area than the hustle and bustle of being downtown. Somehow, it reminded me of Europe.

I was in NYC to watch my niece graduate from college and so my husband and I, plus my sisters, mother and extended family all stayed at Hotel Beacon. We had a king room and my other family members had a king suites. The rooms were spacious and very clean. We had a small kitchenette which we really didn't use, but it was great to have just in case. We stayed for 5 nights and it was so comfortable that I felt like I was living there. The king suites were also very nice and spacious. The only suggestion I would make for fellow women travelers is to bring your own hair dryer because the ones that are in the rooms are the standard dryers that attached to the wall.

The location of the hotel was perfect! It is a block away from the subway, close to shopping and wonderful restaurants, and within walking distance to the American Museum of Natural History. There is a great wine shop next door that had a huge selection. Across the street is Fairway's Market and Citarella that had everything you could want...great selection of cheeses, salamis, desserts, food, etc. A few blocks up the street is the well known Zabar's which, in my opinion, if you are a food lover you must check it out. Also, next door to the hotel is Viand Cafe that had a variety of home cooked choices. Can't forget to mention that there is a Starbuck's on the corner! Also, if you ever forget something (i.e, clothes, scarves, hats, coats, etc..), there is a Loehmann's near by so you can buy something there.

I would definitely recommend and stay at Hotel Beacon on my next trip to NYC. It really is a great find! Love this hotel and surrounding area - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

First let me say it was a dream come true to even go to New York and I really wanted to soak up as much atmoshere as possible given that we had 4 children between the ages of 10 - 15 yrs with us and only 4 nights! GULP! I researched this hotel quite a bit and was impressed with two things the price and the loacation. On arrival after getting up at 2:30am in Aneheim to fly across, we were greeted by friendly porters and reception staff who quickly sorted out our luggage and keys. It was the 4th of July and so a very busy tourist day for Manhattan. The consierge kindly told us the quickest and best way to get to the Hudson River so we could see the fireworks and it was only a 10 min walk. We were impressed by the quality and size of our 2 bedroom apartment style rooms given the price. They managed to squeeze in 2 bathrooms which is a godsend with a family of 6. The Kitchenette had a fridge, oven and stovetop, another great plus for families.. The hotel has no restaurant but really this should not put you off as right next door is a great, economical diner that has been around forever and you can get a great breakfast, lunch or dinner there. There is also a Starbucks next to that so coffee is sorted. Even better was across the road there are 2 supermarkets, one is an upmarket gourmet foodies heaven with loads of pre made food, seafood, bakery items, cakes, pastas etc. The other is called Food World and has EVERYTHING you could possible want. We got breakfast items there like cereal and bagels. The apartment had a mini kitchen which meant we could save a little and eat in a bit more, after the family junk restaurants of Aneheim we craved fresh food. The hotel is a 2min walk to 72nd st subway station and 2 blocks to central park, if you walk down 72nd st you get to the part of the park where the John Lennon imagine memorial is. If you then head across and up you are hitting Park Ave before you know it and will have seen most of the major sites of the park on the way.
At night we would usually eat in Times Square, you must if you have teenagers take them to The Hard Rock Cafe, it has the best memorablilia and got our kids excited. Another top spot is the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co restaurant from the Forest Gump movie. My husband and I found a romantic Italian restaurant around the corner and managed a night out ALONE.
I have no complaints about the hotel, we will stay there again and next time for longer, it was nice to be a little removed from the 24 hr feel of Time Square and near all the Sesame Street like houses that we all imagine when thinking of NYC. It is convenient to be near the suway, so don't be scared to use it, we would just ask a local and most were more than happy to help the clueless tourists from Oz.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We tried Hotel Beacon on a mother/daughter holiday trip to New York based on the reviews from this site. The hotel did not disappoint. We had a very nice size room with two beds and a small kitchenette. The bathroom was small but not unusually so for New York. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The location was also a nice change of pace from mid-town or time square, more of a neighborhood feel. The subway is one block away so that is very convenient. There is a supermarket right across the street. I did not see a restaurant or bar but that did not bother us. The hotel staff was very friendly. The rate was great for December in New York. Overall very satisfied with this hotel and would stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UVA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 471 in New York City
2,460 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#187 of 471 in New York City
5,660 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 471 in New York City
3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,823 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 471 in New York City
6,708 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#112 of 471 in New York City
4,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing