We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best place to stay for getting the feel of NYC neighborhood!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #62 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I can't recommend this hotel enough. I have stayed there easily 6 or 7 times in the last 12 years. The suites are spacious and simply perfect for a middle of the road hotel experience. Lots of shopping and a good place for foodies. The rooms are always quiet. Nice view of the streets from whatever room you end up with. Shop around for price on this hotel and make sure you go to their website for pricing. If you call the hotel directly you can end up with a good deal or getting scalped! Beware of the laundry situation, in other words, don't send out your laundry. The only thing is, the location isn't great if you are going to Midtown every night for shows. But, it is a great location for Lincoln Center events.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,558 - 2,564 of 3,730 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Thanks for the champagne and chocolates on arrival, what a lovely touch, we had a great room King bed and lots of space, bigger than the other hotel rooms we stayed in, great view of the hudson river and the upper west side from the 23rd floor! No restaurant but a cute diner right next door, perfect for walking to central park, or subway station just 5 mins away gets you to Times Square in no time perfect for seeing a show on Broadway . Gorgeous room decoration, nice and clean, supermarket across the road, only problem was the too small internet service, its free but only 2 computers, hard if you need to do some research whilst in NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupcakebows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

It was the 1st time to NY and the states for me and the missus and the beacon hotel was exactly what we were looking for,to keep it short there's nothing bad at all to say about it, the staff are great the rooms are well kept and very spacious we had two double beds in our standard room along with a kitchenette.
Downstairs right next-door is a brilliant restaurant/diner serving fantastic food till late, wherever you want a quick snack or a full meal we ate in there daily!
Right across the street opposite is a mini-market if you wish to take any food/drink back to the rooms.
The subway is just 2 blocks south (literally 2 mins walk) and central park is only a 10 min walk away and you have the theatres down Broadway if you fancy it, I can honestly say that we will definitely be returning to the hotel beacon in the near future as we wished we could've stayed longer. Fantastic hotel in Outstanding location,you will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooltez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed in a King suite, cooked own breakfast as excellent food shopping across street. Wonderful restaurants within easy walking distance, room quiet and very large

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMountainsOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed here on the eve of our first wedding anniversary. And we were lucky enough to get a suite thanks to our tour rep. The holding room we were put in was extremely nice, whilst we waited for the suite to be ready.

The suite was amazing; small kitchenette, living room, bathroom, large closet with a safe and a huge bedroom. The bed was really large and comfortable and each room had its own television with cable and DVD capabilities.

The staff at the front desk, the concierge and the night porter were all extremely welcoming and courteous.

The location is great for a trip to New York, close to the subway with great local shops and restaurants.

We were travelling as part of a coach party on a tour of New England and Canada

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Arriving on 12/30 to meet friends from AU who were visiting - we were not expecting the hotel to be as lovely as it was at the price we were paying! Beautifully clean; only 2 blocks to a subway; only two blocks to Central Park; and the nicest staff you could hope for! A small fridge and a microwave in each room - with a Fairway supermarket close by - was a real convenience.
The only "fly in the ointment" was the fact that the hotel charged $9.95/daily for internet access! After everything else they DID provide, that was a bit strange....and they didn't volunteer the information that there WAS a charge!
We had a wonderful stay...and would go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbumbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Hotel Beacon Upper West Side NYC- Dec 2010. great location.

Arrived 17.12.2010 travelled with wife and 14 year old daughter, leisure trip. Stayed for 12 nights over Xmas, so we had a good deal of time there to assess just what type of
place this is.

Location adjacent, (100 metres from 72nd st metro stop) great location, this is 4 or 5 stops from times square centre of town, ie 42nd st for all theatres etc. Metro is $2.25 per ride per person regardless of distance, so get a card which you can place $ value on and then use it all over the system. Also can be used on buses. So 3 people going all over metro system per trip is really cheap. Super convenient safe clean system.

But the Beacon..... clean, safe, opposite fairway, i think, super market, 24/7 place with everything and anything you can imagine, also rooms are equipped with kitchenette ie micro wave, stove, fridge & sink etc . coffee making, haridryers, full bathroom including a tub king bed in main room. We got a jnr suit for a very reasonable rate but there are the following taxes applicable to all NYC hotel stays; state tax, city tax, occupancy tax and hotel unit fee so you have to factor that in to all accommodation. Sone of the rooms on our floor, 11th overlooking Broadway, are occupied/owned by fulltime residents. So i suppose it is almost like a serviced apartment block.

The Beacon is worth every cent, great housekeeping, polite reception even assisted when we got hit with a Blizzard in getting us onto our airline to get out of NYC to Vegas. Free internet room off foyer, we had a couple of housekeeping malfunctions, we notified hotel and literally within 5 minutes people were at our door who actually fixed the problem. The room had movies on demand if you got sick of the 100 plus channels. 24/7 security and they are able to get you tickets to shows, tours etc if you like.

We cant speak highly enough of this place and would not hesitate to recommend it to
others, regardless of age or trip reason. The hotel is 3 or 4 blocks walk from Central Park which is itself amazing, 3 or 4 blocks from Lincoln Centre which houses opera, ballet and movies etc. You can walk to 5th Ave or just down Broadway as a tourist.

Columbus and Amsterdam are 1 or 2 blocks East of the hotel and they are crammed with restaurants. Beacon has cafe Viand in the building, didnt try it. But the supermarket opposite has a breakfast floor which is great for brekky and reasonable if you dont want to use the kitchen.

The prices in Midtown are substantially more for similar quality of that offered by the Beacon we had friends there asnd saw there rooms. We stayed at the Woolcott Hotel on 34th Street for 5 nights also and though nice it was not a patch on the Beacon, more expensive BUT you could walk to 42 Street and Madison Square Garden.

Tips for Beacon use the free internet, walk to metro and use it to go both downtown and also uptown to Harlem directly. Walk to Central Park, walk to the Dakota Building where tragically John LENNON was murdered and Strawberry Fields rememberance area. Get all your groceries at the supermarket opposite Beacon which also has barb B Q chooks hot off the rotisserie for lunch, which are great for sandwiches for kids and pre packed salads very reasonably priced. Walk down to Lincoln centre and checkout movies playing if you want a quiet night in. Go out the hotel turn right heard uptown cross Broadway for 2 blocks and there is Nicks Hamburger joint which has huge menu and great burgers, pasta, fries shakes etc and all reasonable, open 24/7 dinner for 3 of us @ $40. Also chilli and peppers pizza joint in street behind hotel which is really cheap and sells pie by the slice with a nice salad, dinner for 3 of us was @ $25.

Also if you are looking to shop, get the metro up to Harlem. There is Marshalls store there which has heaps of sport gear like Nike, Reebok, And 1, etc etc all cheap and lots of street wear shops stocking levis etc. I priced a pair of nikeair max s in midtown and Macys then went to harlem and got the same shoes for $50 USD less!!!!!!! Also at Macys take your passport in and get a discount card for 10% on all purchases. There are lots of branded clothes and shoes discounted throughout NYC, (according to my 14 year old daughter and lots of nice boutiques in Amsterdam and Columbus near Beacon), also a great flea market on Sunday on West 78 St (I think), which has great jewellery and furs etc, also vintage clothes.

In our opinion if you are visiting NYC and you want safe,clean,friendly and competitively priced accommodation you cant go past the Beacon Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clariceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,444 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,492 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 469 in New York City
4,452 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 469 in New York City
3,760 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £128 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing