We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
Ranked #304 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Our room was huge and the hotel was well localized

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio_Matias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Great to hear your stay was awesome. We hope to have you return to the Hilton Manhattan east very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    840
    426
    175
    92
See reviews for
390
666
160
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property during a quick 3 day trip to NYC. Check in was quick and easy, the staff member (Christine I think) checking us in was very friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is very pretty with the lobby area hosting a great bar with a VERY nice bartender. The drinks were great, and the ambiance perfect.

We also found the rooms here to be a great size for being in the city, it was a much larger and much better appointed room than rooms we have had in other local hotels.

If you are at all interested in shows the concierge (Adam) was incredibly helpful, he spent about 20 minutes with us giving us honest opinions on his favorite shows, calling ticket brokers, making reservations, etc. We received excellent seats to a great show and were very happy with all the work he put into our evening. He also had excellent recommendations for dinner reservations and called to make them for us. Amazing service thanks Adam!!

Overall, great property, great stay and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: 1117 was a great room on the corner (but no view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Manhattan East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I rarely stay on the East side, but If you need to be on this side of town, this is a charming antique building offering the usual Hilton service and quality. We were upgraded to a suite - very nice rooms; the only downside was, our room's balconies were being renovated and were therefore inaccessible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opti-wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Manhattan East hotel and glad you enjoyed your upgrade. As you mentioned this is a charming historically landmarked building. So we apologize for the mandatory maintenance to the facade that we are undergoing. Thank you for staying with us , and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Nothing exciting but it was ok. It was clean (no bugs and housekeeping did a good job), well lit, had enough outlets to charge all my devices and had surprisingly fast elevators. The room was relatively small though and most of the TV stations looked like low def which the staff attributed to the cable provider. My room had no fridge, a broken deadbolt and safety latch (fixed upon request). Its essentially a renovated east side apartment building, so don't expect a grand lobby or a popular lounge/restaurant. Kind of pricey at $359
My biggest issue was the location but only because I had to get across town for work each day and the only way to do so is by cab. Easy enough in the morning but not as easy to return during the evening rush. Some decent restaurants in the area if you are willing to look for them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Took my friend to New York for her 50th birthday and stayed at this hotel for location! Great location in Manhattan and the room were nice and clean. The only draw back was housekeeping...... they cleaned room and left dirty towel in bath after it was made up and took all towels and did not replace them. The manager did make up for it by giving us a special gift for my friend's b-day!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubbyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is a renewed hotel where the old Tudor was in the past. Although the remodeling was hughe, still the rooms are small and less comfortable than the average Hiltons. As always, rooms are very clean and well furnished, but everything is too tight. The bathroom is OK, the view is depressing from the back of the hotel. I think that although it is a Hilton, due to its characteristics may be expensive based on what it offers. The location is ok, walking distance from Grand Central, UN and other interesting places. As stated above, it is below the average I am used for a Hilton

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cholupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We went to New York for a week having never been before. The hotel was ideally located for most of the major attractions - Chrysler Building, Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Grand Central Station all being within walking distance. The hotel was clean, stylish and quiet. Housekeeping was discreet, room service excellent and all our needs quickly met. The concierge, Adam, was superb! He had a wealth of knowledge about where to eat, how to get to attractions and he was always friendly and available.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hilton Manhattan East and would readily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#153 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#321 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#155 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#228 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#124 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Property: Hilton Manhattan East
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing