We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, poor internet - not friendly to business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #343 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This a very conveniently located hotel for those in Manhattan, within walking distance of many attractions and business. The staff is noteworthy for the friendliness, I commend especially those who attended at the restaurant / breakfast.

Bad review for the internet connection that charged a high of $17.50 a day except in the lobby. Even paying, the room connection was lousy and would require plugging in many times in a sequence of a few minutes. Incompatible with a business oriented hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of the poor internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took out of your day to leave us a candid review. We can assure you our hotel is working really hard to make sure the internet is working properly. We do offer free Wi-Fi in the lobby and on your next visit if you would like to you can reach me at pschwartz@tpghospitality.com and I will personally go over this with you. We definitely hope to see you again so we can correct the issues that happened during your stay. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Nice hotel to stay in. Staff is very well organized and helpful. I would like to comment about one, but they all were great during my last stay. I enjoyed the breakfast and room service as if it was a home-like setting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had during your visit to our hotel. Our job is to make sure we can please each guest with our courteous service and helpfulness. Your opinion really matters to us and judging by your experience we hope to see you back soon. Yours in Hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I'm in NYC on business 50 nights per year. I've stayed in excess of25 properties over the past 30 years. This is truly a little gem. In an era of cookie cutter hotels that look- and feel- too much alike, this is a hotel with history, with warmth and with style. Totally redone, but in a way that retains its historic charm while embracing all of the modern amenities it should. Over the top, wonderful breakfast and even a dinner menu with lots of comfort food for the nights when I just don't want to go back out. And the staff are so very helpful- genuinely so. Special mention to Cynthia, Kevin and Portelina who each go out of their way. Thanks guys. Dr. Craig Dreilinger

Room Tip: Ask for/upgrade to balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our property. We strive for excellent service and make sure each guest is satisfied with their stay. Were happy to see we met your standards and we hope to see you back soon. Yours in hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel with a great location and friendly, helpful staff from March 1 to 5. Why would a hotel catering to the business crowd (a block from UN buildings) not have free Wifi in its rooms? The room rate included a free breakfast, but no wifi, which was a nuisance, as you had to visit the lobby each time you needed to be connected. Make wifi free and charge for breakfast, and guests would likely be happier.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your sincere review of our property. We are diligently working to make sure our Wi-Fi connection exceeds everybody’s expectations. We certainly hope this doesn’t derail another stay in the future with us. If you would like to contact me my email is pschwartz@tpghospitality.com and I will see to it your next stay is great. Yours in hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I would like to commend the Assistant Front Office Manager, Mr. Jose N. Ramirez, at the Hilton Manhattan East, for excellent customer service. I recently experienced a difficult situation in regards to a reservation I had made. Mr. Ramirez handled my problem with kindness and professionalism and I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Edie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. At our property we make it a point to make sure each guest is comfortable with their booking and if there is anything else we can do within our property to make your stay better we will. We definitely hope your back soon. Yours in hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Kevin and Tess work the front desk and are a tremendous asset. They know you by name and do a great job. Room service is good and the hotel is close to midtown. I recommend this hotel if you are a Hilton fan. The rooms are small but the location works well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdw2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. The services we offer is impeccable and were glad you see it that way. Our staff’s main priority is to make sure you’re comfortable and judging by your review you believe so. We definitely hope your back soon yours in hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Over the years, I have stayed repeatedly at this hotel. Although the rooms are small and dated, the staff has consistently proved to be attentive, professional, and attentive. The location meets with my business needs and permits easy exploration of a less visited corner of the city.

Although many choose to wake up with the Breakfast buffet, in the small downstairs restaurant, I prefer to start with a classic Eggs Benedict. No store bought Holandaise sauce here! For my money the best EB in the city. Ask for Pablo, for exceptional service. He has greeted guests, with quick and competent service. No need to ask for additional fresh squeezed orange juice, or a coffee refile.

Daniei J. W.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our property. We definitely agree our breakfast is second to none, and our service is something we take pride in. Eggs Benedict is something you will always find and Pablo will also be here to help you. Hope your back soon. Yours in hospitality, Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 470 in New York City
3,546 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#193 of 470 in New York City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#335 of 470 in New York City
5,003 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#214 of 470 in New York City
4,744 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 470 in New York City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £105 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing