We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #338 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a Hilton in midtown Manhattan to be excellent but was sorely disappointed. Room phones didn't work, even 3 days after we told the front desk, there was a strange black mold all over the shower, the lamp next to the bed was broken, and of course no free wifi. Won't be coming back.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank rjped1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear rjped1,

I first off wanted to thank you for providing us with your feedback of our property. It is unfortunate that you stayed with us during our new phone installations as the phones were operational but were not programmed to reach other departements. They were however calling down to the Front Desk with no issue. The shower condition is unacceptable and we plan on having our Housekeeping provide a deep clean for that room. As for the wifi, every full service Hilton in Manhattan charges for internet. We do offer rate packages that include wifi during your stay or if you are a Diamond or Gold member. If free wifi is a priority of yours I would suggest trying one of our other Hilton brands as some do offer free wifi for the stay.

Best,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife an I both enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is in a great location (lots of amenities near by). The staff was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. Our breakfast experience was very enjoyable. Azm and the others on staff made our stay with the Hilton Manhattan East and real pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jacque K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We were very thrilled to see you enjoyed your time with us especially your interactions with Azm. Our breakfast buffet is a top seller on property and great team members like Azm are part of that reason. We hope to see you on your next visit to NYC.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was extremely gracious, clean and the service was excellent. Starting from the Manager "Paul" who was superb and an excellent host. The rooms were clean, quite, roomy and well lit. His staff, Mike, Michael, Dennis and Cynthia were all top of the line employees with excellent customer service skills. I would stay here in a heart beat, truly excellent choice of a hotel. Thank you, Paul, Mike, Michael, Dennis and Cynthia for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, the view to the east river was breath taking. The rooms are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Cesar F,

I am humbled by your kind words and my entire team thanks you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was great to see you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This property overall was more on par with a Hampton Inn, not a Hilton. While Hampton Inns are not bad properties, it wasn't what I expected, especially for the price. Initially given 2 single beds in a very small room, although I'm a Hilton Honors member and my profile has my bed preference.

As silly as it sounds, the shower was very complicated. So much they posted instructions how to use it. Lighting in the bathroom was dim. Looked as though lights may have been out.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieF416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear MelanieF416,

Thank you for stopping in to send in a review of our property. It was unfortunate to read that our property was not up to your standards. I do thank you for letting me know some of the issues during your stay with us as we will be sure to have our Engineering team resolve those issues in your room. We do try to meet all of the preferences and requests for our guests especially Hilton Honors members however on high occupancy nights we are not able to accommodate every request we take. On your next trip to NYC we hope you choose to give us another chance to show you we are a great property.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We (2 adults + 2 children) have just returned from a 4 nights stay at the Hilton Manhattan East. The hotel is in a great location - near the Chrysler Building, UN and most importantly Grand Central Station. If you want to travel by bus or subway then you can go anywhere from Grand Central - we did use the subway but we also found it an amazing base for walking to where we wanted to go - whether it was Time Square area, Central Park area or Macy's area. There are also numerous places to eat right nearby. The hotel is more of a boutique hotel on New York standards and is very clean BUT above all what makes this hotel so fantastic are the staff. I contacted the hotel prior to arrival as I needed to ask some questions and the way the staff helped me pre arrival gave me a good feel for the hotel (thank you Kevin) Robert Ibanez the Front desk Manager was brilliant and very helpful as were all the staff -too many to mention - but to name a few Kevin and Cristina nothing was ever too much trouble - we are gold hhonors members and therefore got a complimentary breakfast - again the staff made us feel at home with great service - I can't remember all the names but Azm remembered our choice of beverage in the morning. We shall definitely stay here on our next trip to New York - Thank you Robert and your team

Room Tip: we had a room on the 19th floor away from the street and it was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sharonbu,

Since the day you sent me an email letting us know you were arriving we made sure we all took the right steps in taking care of you. I was confident in putting you in the hands of Robert to take care of all your needs. It was also great to see that our Front Desk team and Azm were able to help make your trip a successful one. We hope anytime you visit us you choose to stay at the Hilton Manhattan East.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good location - within walking distance to Times Square and Bryant Park. The staff was nice and welcoming. I enjoyed the free fitness center which was clean and had good equipment. Comfortable bed, clean rooms...overall decent for NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarantular50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear tarantular50,

Thank you for taking the time after over staying with us a month ago to write in a review of our property. We were glad to see you enjoyed our fitness center which is also conveniently open 24 hours a day. Our location is excellent for any traveler given our proximity to most attractions and transportation ports. We hope on your next visit you decide to stay with us again.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice place to stay !!! Staff very nice every one smlies and says have a nice day ask if you need anything .What can we do to make your stay better. Breakfast is very good..the rooms are nice and very comfortable. Will be staying there again :):):)

Room Tip: very very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Cary B,

We all thank you for taking the time to write us a great 5 star review. We were thrilled that the attitude of our staff stood out to you as we do have a very professional yet friendly team here. It was also nice to read you enjoyed our breakfast. On your next visit be sure to let us know so we can take care of your reservation.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#227 of 473 in New York City
3,662 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#194 of 473 in New York City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#328 of 473 in New York City
5,164 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#190 of 473 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Address: E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing