We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Location and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #327 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Comfort, Location and excellent service!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Front Desk Director, Robert sent a welcome email and made sure that we had an enjoyable stay. The location is great and within walking distance to Grand Central Station and MidTown. Hotel staff and concierge were helpful and made you feel welcome!

Room Tip: Stayed in corner room 1420. Great space, quiet with nice bathroom, good natural light and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Timw68,

We were all delighted to read your great comment about our hotel and your 5 star review. Robert does his best to ensure all of our guests are contacted before they arrive and after as well to ensure we have done all that we can to exceed all your expectations. Our balcony rooms are one of our best rooms and I am happy to see you were able to enjoy one. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    879
    452
    192
    114
See reviews for
416
704
173
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
581 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location for Midtown East. Easy walk to 3rd Ave as well as UN area. Rooms were good size - I understand you want to ask for the "South Tower" for the better rooms.

The bar area was small, but accommodating for a nightcap - plenty of better places to hang out in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for the South Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Jon E,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Given your seasoned travel in the NYC area I was delighted to see you gave us a good 4 star review and were able to enjoy your time with us. We certainly sell well due to our location and we have a great staff to add to it. We hope on your next visit you decide to stay with us once again.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 20th anniversary in NYC. Not knowing where to stay - I researched hotels online and came across the Hilton Manhattan East. Our room was exactly what we expected, clean safe and quiet. AMAZING staff all the way around and fantastic location. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC. You are so close to so many things including Grand Central, Times Square and more. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom - really nice little lobby bar to have a drink and hang out. Wonderful NYC Gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Anne-Marie H,

I would say your review is AMAZING as you certainly told the world how great we truly are. We were very happy to have you with us for your anniversary and we can't wait to have you back with us. I am glad to see you ejoyed our team and were able to have a good time in our Lounge. We hope to be seeing you back with us soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my first stay at the hotel and I look forward to going back! The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was a nice size (especially for NYC) and it was very clean. The location was a few blocks from Grand Central so it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Amy B,

I want to thank you for taking the time to send in a great review of our property. It is always a delight to hear a guest had such a great time thye cant wait to come back to us. We are all glad you were able to have a great experience with our staff and enjoy our locaton. We are looking forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location for what I wanted to experience for my New York vacation. It was close enough to the heart of the action that I was never far away from a great time. Also far enough east that I felt like I was escaping to a quiet place at 4am. Great decorations and a really comfortable lobby and bar area. I didn't get to go to the restaurant but it looked nice. The business center was conveniently located so I could easily print my boarding pass. The maid service was okay. They skipped a day and the next day I had to call for service. Maybe they assumed I didn't want new towels. The room was cute and comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side but it was mostly just me. Overall the hotel had a classic decor with modern nuances throughout that kept me comfortable. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alarice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Alarice,

Your review was very much appreciated and I do like the amount of detail you included for everyone to read. I am happy to see you enjoyed our location and got to use some of the other outlets on property. On your next visit to NYC be sure to contact us so we can personally handle your needs.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been staying at the Manhattan East frequently over the past several years, but started staying there many, many years ago when it was still the Tudor. I liked it back then and even more these days. The rooms are clean and quiet (for Manhattan) and the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimsceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Aimsceo,

It was a true pleasure to read your great review of our property. Your loyalty is truly a remarkable value and we are very happy after all these years we are able to still keep you happy and coming back to us. We hope anytime you visit the NYC area you will always be with us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hilton Manhattan East is a great old world Hotel. It is superbly unique. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the East River. The staff is is among the most attentive I have ever experienced in a Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Phil B,

I wanted to personally thank you for giving us a great 5 star review and posting that lovely photo of one of our balcony rooms. We were glad you decided to give us a chance and choose us over the other Hiltons in Manhattan. We will be sure to continue to exceed your expectations and have you stay with us consistently in the future.

Best,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#224 of 468 in New York City
3,297 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#329 of 468 in New York City
4,621 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#196 of 468 in New York City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing