We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #328 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very classy place.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location, nice and affordable!

Stayed there for a week in May. A few blocks from Grand Central so makes traveling very easy. Room was clean and staff was cool. Would have been nice to have a pool, but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDizzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Vdizzle12,

We would all like to thank you for sending in your 5 star review. It was great to read you were able to enjoy your time with us. We do have a 24 hour gym on property but as your pointed out no pool. I hope on your next visit you choose to stay with us once again.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    878
    451
    192
    114
See reviews for
414
704
173
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Let's be honest, unless you pay a fortune, most hotel rooms in NYC are going to be small. The bedroom is certainly tiny. However, the bed is really comfy and at the end of the day, how much time will you spend in your room when in New York?

The hotel has a tiny bar and restaurant area. Again, you'll be better served outside of the hotel although it would be nice to have better facilities if you didn't want to leave the hotel.

Bathroom is fine albeit small.

I can't believe that you have to pay for wifi in your room, virtually every other hotel I stay in provides this free.

This is very much an old hotel with the quirky features that you'd expect. It's not cheap but as it's only a couple of blocks from Grand Central, it's location is good for venturing about.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyTim6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear LuckyTim6691,

I want to thank you for taking the time to send i na review of our property. It was great to see a big time traveler as yourself was able to find some joy at our hotel. We certainly pride ourselves on having a great location and one of the best staff in the entire city. We do offer complimentary wifi to our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members as well as have rate packages that include internet. We will also take your feedback about our internal outlets and see what we can do about making it more competitive with the outside market. We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My friend and I visit NY each year and this year we chose NY East Manhattan because of it's proximity to the UN which I had seen but my friend hadn't. I have stayed here once before and like the quiet and the fact we could see the East River from our room. Very residential area so nice to be among the locals. You can take the M115 bus right down to Seaport/Ground Zero, very handy. I did mention a couple of concerns to the hotel by email and Jose Ramirez called me right away! Never had that before. Offered us points on Hilton Honours and even registered me as a member, that's good customer service. Staff was friendly and the fellow that held our baggage/concierge until we could check in was knowledgeable re the area. Take a look at the Tudor area, they are just renovating the beautiful buildings and there is a lovely garden to walk through. We walked over to the High Line walkway, went through the Flower District - beautiful, down to Chelsea Market - wonderful. All in all a great visit!

Room Tip: corner unit facing the East River - 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppence199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Tuppence199,

I woud like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your great detailed review. It is unfortunate you faced a few challenges during your stay with us but I love to hear that our staff was able to recover and keep you happy. Our location surely is a beautiful one that most overlook and I was happy to see you were able to get a nice mini-tour of the area. We hope on your next visit you choose to stay with us once again.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Front Desk Director, Robert sent a welcome email and made sure that we had an enjoyable stay. The location is great and within walking distance to Grand Central Station and MidTown. Hotel staff and concierge were helpful and made you feel welcome!

Room Tip: Stayed in corner room 1420. Great space, quiet with nice bathroom, good natural light and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Timw68,

We were all delighted to read your great comment about our hotel and your 5 star review. Robert does his best to ensure all of our guests are contacted before they arrive and after as well to ensure we have done all that we can to exceed all your expectations. Our balcony rooms are one of our best rooms and I am happy to see you were able to enjoy one. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
581 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location for Midtown East. Easy walk to 3rd Ave as well as UN area. Rooms were good size - I understand you want to ask for the "South Tower" for the better rooms.

The bar area was small, but accommodating for a nightcap - plenty of better places to hang out in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for the South Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Jon E,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Given your seasoned travel in the NYC area I was delighted to see you gave us a good 4 star review and were able to enjoy your time with us. We certainly sell well due to our location and we have a great staff to add to it. We hope on your next visit you decide to stay with us once again.

Best Wishes,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 20th anniversary in NYC. Not knowing where to stay - I researched hotels online and came across the Hilton Manhattan East. Our room was exactly what we expected, clean safe and quiet. AMAZING staff all the way around and fantastic location. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC. You are so close to so many things including Grand Central, Times Square and more. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom - really nice little lobby bar to have a drink and hang out. Wonderful NYC Gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Anne-Marie H,

I would say your review is AMAZING as you certainly told the world how great we truly are. We were very happy to have you with us for your anniversary and we can't wait to have you back with us. I am glad to see you ejoyed our team and were able to have a good time in our Lounge. We hope to be seeing you back with us soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my first stay at the hotel and I look forward to going back! The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was a nice size (especially for NYC) and it was very clean. The location was a few blocks from Grand Central so it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Amy B,

I want to thank you for taking the time to send in a great review of our property. It is always a delight to hear a guest had such a great time thye cant wait to come back to us. We are all glad you were able to have a great experience with our staff and enjoy our locaton. We are looking forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Schwartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#226 of 468 in New York City
3,290 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#329 of 468 in New York City
4,612 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#199 of 468 in New York City
198 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#363 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Manhattan East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. As of January, 2017 it is now Hilton New York Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing