We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was our second time staying at the Elysee and I think we might not stay anywhere else when we are in NYC from now on. The staff bends over backwards to make you feel at home, and the amenities can't be beat. The rates are no more expensive than any other midtown hotel, but when you add in the complimentary breakfast every morning and wine and cheese every evening I think the value is evident. We stayed one night, midweek and the hotel was not very full so they updated us to a suite when we checked in. As another reviewer mentioned it was the size of a small apartment. We never wanted to leave! The last time we stayed we did have the standard double room however, and it was certainly spacious enough for the two of us. The size of a typical Manhattan hotel room. Overall, I count this hotel as one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFL703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,009
    682
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
830
1,860
168
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The location of the hotel is just perfect. You can walk to the major attractions, including the central park. My husband and my kids (10 and 7) loved the room. BTW when we arrived they just update us to a suite, size of a small apartment with a little kitchen ( stove, microwave and small fridge). We did not use it because we were ON VACATION and the last thing I wanted to do is cooking.
For shoppers the local can not be more perfect.
Price was great with a complimentary breakfast and wine , chesse etc in afternoon.
Staff was great, rooms super clean and I am very pick abour it. The doorman was very friendly, all the time. We stayed there 4 nights.
Yes it has an old sort of feeling but very charming.
The italian restaurant in front of the hotel was very good and the deli was nice too.
We walked most of the time but the cab is very cheap.
Anyways... you will not be disappointed. I wish I could go back...

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor and still could hear some street noise. There was some construction on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel Elysee gets EVERYTHING right! Super clean; quiet luxury without pretentiousness. From check-in to the complimentary breakfast, snacks and wine/cheese hour everything was superb. We've stayed at the Library Hotel which is part of the same collection so I highly recommend that one as well (it has a more modern feel vs. the European luxury feel of Elysee). On our next trip to NYC we will try Hotel Giraffe. This small boutique chain of hotels really deserves it high rating. If it is within your price range don't hesitate to book a stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scipeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel Elysee was recommended first by a friend and then by a relative, neither of whom know each other. Their accolades were well deserved--very nice, clean, and comfortable accommodations and a really good location, plus extremely friendly, attentive, helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on a lower floor so we could use the stairs more than waiting for the elevator (not unusua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We always try to stay here when we visit NYC and need to be in Midtown. Once you have been here after staying at the big Waldorf so many times, this is the place for us. If you prefer small, quiet hotels with great service and staff then this is the hotel for you too. The running joke in our family is that my daughter calls it the "Henchman Hotel" since all the people behind the desk are good looking young men in black suits. We have stayed at the hotel maybe four or five times and have never seen a female behind the desk. Our room was smaller than usual this time with two double beds as we requested (room 37, second floor and noisy near the street...). The club lounge with small apps and drinks in the evenings is just perfect, the breakfast which is also included is just fine too. There is a small store directly across the street for anything else one might want while there. Out of all the hotels in NYC this little place is our favorite, very private, and very small, no lobby and place to hang out except in the club room. The staff and service are always very good and they are genuinely friendly and happy to meet any requests one might have. Will return again in the future, but will get the junior suite this time, in a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is the best small hotel in the City. Why? Friendly, efficient staff. Perfect midtown location. Comfortable rooms. All in pricing ... No extra charges for WiFi, business services, breakfast, evening wine and cheese. Daily turn down services. It's been my choice in the City for over ten years. My wife likes the easy access to shopping, Rock Center, theater ... Without the noise and crush of the tourist areas.

Room Tip: Go high ... Go front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is not my kind of hotel . It is too old, both inside and outside, sometimes stuffy, with little common areas and I do not particularly like the idea to have breakfast in a library . Several reviewers resorted to the term " European" to describe this hotel, but, as a European, I do not know what they exactly mean. "Old"? " Elegant"? "Très chic"? "Small? Or maybe "Topless"?
Having said that, the establishment makes a shrewd use of its scarce resources to the very best so that the stay, in the end, resulted in being comfortable and attractive enough to consider a come-back.
The price offered to me for the suite was also excellent for Manhattan.
What we did not like at all was the quotation given to me by the Reception for a limo to Connecticut : 336 USD versus 167-180 USD in the "outside" market ( for an identical service with an identical car).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anticorpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing