We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your own private club in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Your own private club in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Hotel Elysee constantly makes you feel like you're returning to your own private club in the city complete with a staff who is happy to wait on you. The reception area of the hotel is elegant and ample in size but still intimate. The lounge rooms on the second floor become your own study and living room, complete with a staff to prepare you drinks and hors deourves in the evening and a paper and breakfast in the morning. At other times of the day, there are always coffee, tea and snacks.

At the end of a day of shopping, museums or whatever, it is so nice to enter the second floor lounge and unwind in a stuffed chair with your family or friends over coffee, wine or champaigne. (All inclusive.)

The hallways, rooms, everything is elegant. As many have mentioned, I can't imagine better service.

(Wish I could live here.)

Room Tip: There is street noise on 54th Street. It doesn't bother my sleep but if such noise does bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tango9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,885
    659
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
791
1,794
163
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you are looking for a home away from home go no further...this is the place to stay in NYC. The staff from the doorman to the front desk, to the refreshment staff and the chamber maids are polite and interested in serving you. They have great attitudes. The room was as clean as could be and very pleasant. The breakfast and afternoon snacks were delicious and served in a beautiful setting. My only complaint was the firmness of the mattress however the staff placed two feather toppers on the mattress to make it a bit more comfortable on my back. An excellent hotel that deserves to be recommended and I will stay there if I return to NYC>

Room Tip: There is some street noise being NYC so you may request an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navesink, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very nice, great staff. They don't try to squeeze you for add ons like other hotels. Free Wi Fi and nice complimentary breakfast. You are a few blocks from some of the nicest areas in the city. I will certainly return. Very clean and very upscale looking.


Room Tip: You are a few blocks from some of the nicest areas in the city. And away from the tourist mobs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I have frequented this establishment for over 30 years. The recent upgrades have not detracted from its bygone era charm.. The guest rooms remain elegant, lounges inviting and service close to impeccable... A NYC old time haunt that let's me feel as though Tennessee Williams is still at the bar... The prices here are at an all time high as my "City" is getting so expensive to play in these days... Those were the days...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great location - lots of restaurants,shopping and subway station close.
Monkey Bar and Restaurant good value
Bed comfortable
We will stay here again.
Only has a single elevator and it is busy at times


Room Tip: Make sure to request a bath if this is important to you,some rooms just have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Many of my Colleagues recommended I stay at the Hotel Elysee, for my last business trip to NY, now I know why. Not only was it close to my meeting, buts the Staff was amazing and the room very comfortable!!!! I arrived late and the restaurant was close, the Staff volunteered to order take out and charge it to my room. I could actually relax after a long flight. Thank you for taking care of me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at The Hotel Elysee for 11 nights with my mum in August. We chose the Hotel Elysee because of it's rating on travel advisor (although after our experience we would not rate it so high). Lets start with the room, we stayed in a twin deluxe room.The room was a good size (and I think fairly large for New York standards), the bathroom had a bath and was nicely decorated-no complaints here. I had requested a room with a balcony when i booked and paid for the hotel three months prior and the hotel stated that they would put a note on the system but were unsure if they would be able to accommodate our request-they didn't and we didn't end up getting a room with a balcony, a bit disappointing considering how far in advance we booked but hey, not a big deal. Our room view was non-existent, we had a very good view of a brick wall but at least it was quiet.

The breakfast in the morning was good, we would go down and have a bowl of fruit before heading out for the day and the wine and cheese reception was also a plus (although it should be noted that the cheese is the processed kind-no brie or anything so don't have too high expectations or you will be disappointed). the wine was good and the staff were very sweet and friendly. The hotel also only has one elevator so it means that at peak times you are waiting extended periods to get to your room, or down to street level.

The hotel itself is in a brilliant location; right near fifth avenue so we saved heaps of money on taxi's.

The hotel staff is what really let the whole experience down for us. Some hotel staff (like the young Asian women on the front desk) were friendly and helpful and others were so appallingly rude i could not wait to get back from my trip and write a review about them and warn you all.
There was many occasions where staff were rude but one example one is when we asked the hotel to arrange for us to see a doctor (my mum was very unwell) and the man who picked up the phone on the front desk was so rude and unhelpful, when I was asking questions about locum Dr's. I actually did a double take and was like "whaaaaat?" I was shocked, I actually confronted him about his appalling attitude and reminded him that i was a guest in his hotel-he didn't seem to care much.
From that point on my mum and I tried to avoid the hotel staff as best we could. It was like Russian roulette you didn't know if you were going to get one that was friendly or rude. Let me tell you my fellow Aussie's the customer service is nothing like what we get in Australia-be prepared for staff that are rude and unhelpful and too lazy to go out of their way for you (and believe me we tipped well).

Would we return? I'm not sure. There are so many other hotels in NYC i think we would probably roll the dice with another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieCossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear AussieCossie,

Thank you for your forthright review and your feedback. The kindness and professionalism of our staff is something we take great pride in. I would like to have a more in depth discussion with you to understand your perspective on where we might have failed to provide you with our signature hospitality that every guest deserves. The one example you offered was your request for a house call from our doctor on call. I am terribly sorry if you interpreted your exchange with my Night Auditor as rude or unhelpful. There is nothing more important to us than to assist our guests when they are not feeling well and so far away from home. My Night Auditor mentioned you were most upset with the cost of the house call. He mentioned that you did not wish to pay more than $100.00 and unfortunately in New York City, particularly after midnight, we are unaware of any doctor who would make a house call at that price. I wish we could set those prices but unfortunately it is not something that we can control. On the positive side, we have been working with our house doctor for nearly 20 years and hold him in the highest regard. We see the value when he offers our guests his expertise, flexibility, and dependability. I am glad that he was able to tend to your mother so promptly, even with a call after midnight. Thank you for commending our Guest Service Agent, Rubi and although she has only been with us a short time, she is incredibly talented and is as friendly as she is efficient and we are pleased to have had her join our team. I am distraught to hear that you felt you needed to avoid the front desk staff, as I believe you would have found they are all wonderful, caring individuals. As you can see from the wealth of the positive reviews we receive, guest satisfaction is of our utmost concern.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed not only the size of your room but its décor. You are correct, as indeed, you were placed in our largest deluxe room with two full sized beds. We arranged this particular room for you and your mother because of your long stay. Unfortunately, there were already numerous requests ahead of yours for the one room with a terrace, since many guests book up to one year in advance. I completely sympathize with your disappointment; however, since we have only one two bedded room with a terrace, even booking four months in advance cannot guarantee that we will be able to meet that request. For the benefit of future guests and our fellow TripAdvisor members, there are only 4 terraces at the Hotel Elysée. That includes one deluxe room with a queen bed, one deluxe room with a king bed, one deluxe room with two full sized beds and one Presidential Suite. Our 100 rooms are nearly sold out every night and nearly 1 out of 3 reservations we receive at the hotel requests a terrace, so you can imagine how we feel having to give so many guests such disappointing news. Because of your feedback, we have decided to create a new room category for the terraces so that they can be guaranteed in advance; therefore, hopefully eliminating so much disappointment. Also, you mention having a view of a brick wall. Since we were one of the first buildings erected on our block back in the early 1920’s; sadly, we have been eclipsed by taller buildings lessening our views of the city. Your comments and opinions regarding continental breakfast and our wine and hors d’oeuvres were noted and discussed amongst my management team and I am glad you found our breakfast to be adequate. Regarding our cheese selection, please understand that we have to appeal to a wide audience whose tastes and expectations are greatly varied and it can be difficult to satisfy each and everyone. In the past we served Brie and due to your comment I will bring it back for another try. Lastly, I am pleased to hear you found our location ideal, you are correct we are close to many of New York City’s most popular attractions, like St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, MoMA, Central Park, and the fabulous shopping along Fifth Ave. If you are interested in giving us another chance to show you the full level of the gracious service we are known for, I would be delighted if you would contact me personally to arrange a future stay. Should anyone in the TripAdvisor community have any questions regarding these issues, please feel free to contact me personally at john@elyseehotel.com and I will be pleased to assist you. We have had great feedback from the vast majority of our Australian visitors and we hope we will get another chance to prove that to you first hand.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing