We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cool, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hotel Elysee is perfectly located in Manhattan, NY, close to everything you could possible want to do in the city. The staff couldn't be more helpful or accommodating and genuinely enjoy what they do. All of them are very knowledgeable, too, and can assist with anything from inexpensive transportation to exclusive restaurant reservations. Pay attention when they recommend those restaurants, too. They have excellent taste! The only thing that makes me hesitate about singing their praises is there are already so many people who have discovered them, I don't need any more competition getting rooms there when I'm in town!

Room Tip: The King Suite is really spacious and comfortable, not like a hotel room at all. The bed is extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,098
    700
    102
    36
    11
See reviews for
859
1,913
172
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights after we got married and before we left for Aruba. All of the the staff we met was very attentive and friendly, unlike in some hotels. The cocktail hour and the breakfast were amazing--the food was fresh, there was a wide variety of food and drink, and it was constantly being refilled by the staff. Our room was clean and it was surprisingly very quiet for being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed six nights at this Hotel, we chose it on the back of very good reviews and were not disapppointed.We were greeted at the front desk by Rich a most helpful and friendly person you would ever want to meet ever wishing to please.We were celebrating our golden wedding the hotel upgraded our room and Hope presented us with a bottle of wine and chocolates.The room was excellent and quietly situated.The continental breakfast was varied and well stocked, the staff were always on hand to assist, an added bonus was the afternoon tea excellent after a days sightseeing.Two small points of concern the bath tub has no means of assist (a grab handle),the coffee/tea makers do not reach the plug socket! a small table would help. All in all my wife and I enojoyed this trip made all the better by the "Elysee"
David and Alwyn

Room Tip: Choose rear facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferryhillvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

After staying at the Casablanca a couple of years back, I wanted to try a sister property of the Library chain to see if it would live up to the same standards I had come to expect and I was so happy I did. Here are the highlights of our stay:

- Chris at the front desk was so helpful in making reservations, suggesting activities and remembering details of our evening and asking how we enjoyed our time. He as well as the other amazing staff members are the main reason why I'd go back

- The complimentary breakfast has good variety and since I'm gluten free, appreciated the gluten free toast offering -- Only suggestion, more newspapers please. I had a hard time finding an intact NYTimes to read and would have been happy to pay for a copy if available

- The rooms have a classic feel and decoration however had all the essentials I needed, a room safe, iron, hairdryer and the wifi worked well

Thanks for another memorable stay and I look forward to returning again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on lower levels are better as the elevator is small and slow. I took the stairs most of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat_live_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 10 nights for our honeymoon and it's the best hotel we've ever been to in terms of service. The hotel staff are so well trained and do their very best to accommodate all of your needs from asking where asking where to buy things, hailing a cab or borrowing an umbrella in a thunderstorm! Breakfast is complementary as is the cheese and wine between 5 - 8. The lounge is a lovely place to sit and relax and there's free tea and coffee all day. The rooms are very well cleaned every day, which is nice to come back to after a long day out. Our room was tastefully decorated on the 14th floor so very quiet. On our arrival, there was Prosecco and chocolates to welcome us and congratulate us on our marriage. Also a check out of 1pm and the hotel looking after our bags made our final afternoon very relaxing and fuss-free. When we return to New York, we would not stay at any other hotel. Thank you to all of the hotel staff for such a fantastic stay - you guys o a great job!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiel2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Locted in the best pat of midtown Manhattan on 54th Street between Madiaon and Park Avenues, the Hotel Elysees knows how to treat its guests. The front desk is welcoming, the accommodations luxurious without being "over the top", the lounge where you can enjoy a complimenrtary breakfast and complimentary cocktail hour is perfect for unwinding. Moreover, it has a goodly selection of newspapers, magazinesz, books and xcomplimentary computer access. Who could wish for more?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From Arizona to Alaska, from California to Connecticut and the many places in between, this is one of my favorite places to stay in the United States. This was my fourth time staying at the Hotel Elysee and the only problem I have in reviewing it again is trying not to sound too repetitive or saccharine. Read the five star reviews; I think they are very acccurate.

Suffice to say, this place combines the warmth and friendliness of a gracious B and B with the privacy and amenities of an elegant hotel. The closest I can come to describing The Elysee is that it is is a hotel with personality, a hotel with a refreshingly cool vibe, and a hotel with an understated sophistication minus any sense of pretension.

Yes, the location is great, the rooms are very clean, the club room is the perfect place to regroup, and the breakfast and happy hour are thoughful touches; but, it is the staff who makes this place so special and welcoming.

I very seldom take the time to review the places I stay, but I feel this one deserves special recognition.

Helpful hints? Well, I would opt for a king rather than a queen. The rooms in the front that face 54th St. are fine.....nice cityscape. However, if noise bothers you, wear eyeplugs or ask for a room higher up or in the back. The neighborhood is quite safe. A major subway line is about four or five blocks away. (I think that the subways are a safe, effective way to get around the city.) I have also found that most New Yorkers are wonderfully helpful.

The most reasonable rates seem to be offered on Sunday nights. Also, rates vary depending on the month. But, whatever the day or month, don't miss this wonderfu place.

The only downside is that I am still looking for a restaurant near the hotel that matches the ambience of the hotel. Great food......no attitude.

Room Tip: See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineb98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing