We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home in midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“home away from home in midtown”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

There is a wonderful, personable feeling to this hotel. Yes, there is street noise. Yes, the breakfast is limited (and also included in the room rate). If a wait for the slow elevator is going to annoy you, if you are offended by worn, oddball furniture, if you prefer the soulless order and symmetry of a chain hotel -- then don't stay here. If you enjoy the European small village hotel feeling, very friendly and accommodating staff, and a fantastic location -- then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinksWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,098
    700
    102
    36
    11
See reviews for
859
1,913
172
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Good location in Midtown with friendly staff. There was a background level of noise when in the room but I think this might just be what you get in midtown NY. The room itself was clean and large (123) but no view.
I think we might have been the youngest people in the hotel (in our twenties and thirties) so it's not the most lively or modern place but it was fine for our needs. The décor is a little dated but that's just the style of the hotel and the other guests were commenting on the design favourably!

There was a good selection at breakfast, but try to get a table rather than sitting at one of the sofas if you don't want to eat from your lap!

All in all, comfortable and a good base for exploring Midtown and all the sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I found the Hotel staff to be very professional and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I really like the location it is in walking distance to Central Park, Rockerfeller Plaza, Times Square, all the shopping, and if you don't mind a little hike the Empire State Building. Also lots of restaurants. I really have nothing bad to say about the hotel I will continue to stay there when I am in N.Y.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
717 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is an older hotel, filled with warm and friendly people. The check in was flawless and responsive. The room was older, but everything was completely perfect. Bed comfortable, HVAC quiet, wifi fast and free. Bathroom small but like a marble jewel box. Very quiet at night. No view but no noise. Second floor living room lively, impressive free breakfast with a lot of very happy guests. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Hotel Elysee and it was even better than the 1st! Our room was great-very quiet! The complimentary breakfast was all you could ask for and the coffee was especially good! We never experienced the wine and cheese in the early evening so cannot comment on that but will sing the praises of the staff. Everyone was so friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable and there to please! The location couldn't be better and public transportation access is very convenient. We would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevator in the rear of the hotel. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324ellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I have been guests for more than 30 years at one 5 star hotel on a regular basis, and last year we decided after many unfortunate and unacceptable slip-ups on the part of the hotel that we would no longer patronize its facility. We decided to look into and try Hotel Elysée. We couldn't have been more pleased with every aspect of this hotel from the appearance, exceptional staff who were informative and knowledgeable, rooms (and suites) with extraordinary attention to detail, comfortability, quiet and which afforded us a most memorable and delightful stay in New York City. We will continue to stay at Hotel Elysée as it epitomizes elegance, and style, and unwavering care of it's guests. Thank You Hotel Elysée!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The perfect midtown hotel, love the place, love the staff, very happy to stay here once again. The free Wifi and included breakfast are hugely appealing, and there is an attitude that sets this hotel apart from the snootier, lifted pinky competition that might be glossier but is a far more expensive and colder experience. Of course the quirky, no two room alike furnishings and whimsical decor (and signage on the second floor) are also part of what makes staying here a personal experience, the exact opposite of a corporate box where every room is identical.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kskw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing