We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just great friendly service and nice comfortable, if not big, rooms. The breakfast is delicious and in a comfortable lounge great for reading the times and hanging out for a while. Room service at night from the Monkey Bar is adequate. Rooms on the back are quietest.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear KathrynSpike,

Thank you very much for your review. We were so pleased to have you return for another visit and I am happy that you again enjoyed our service, especially the efforts of the staff who truly work very hard to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant stay. We just hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,339 - 2,345 of 4,223 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We enjoy frequent trips to New York, and since discovering the Hotel Elysee, always stay there. It is impeccably clean, the staff are very nice and friendly. The services are plenty and delivered cheerfully. The ladies who run the breakfast are so kind and seem genuinely happy to provide the service. The hotel is well located for easy access to local attractions, also subway. We are never disappointed, and always sorry to leave

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have stayed at the Elysee for many years. Cannot say enough about the service staff and how they go that extra mile. The convenience of the concierge floor for breakfast,afternoon tea, wine and cheese, and late night beverages and cookies is a welcome convenience.

Room Tip: We think It's time to do a little face lift in the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is one of my favorite places to stay in Manhattan. You can walk to the theater district, shopping, and museums so the location is perfect. But what I like is the friendly staff. There is tea or wine in the library every afternoon and breakfast in the mornings. I have met so many other travelers just relaxing and talking during these hours. The rooms are clean and nice. Some of the rooms have a balcony so on a beautiful day it's perfect for coffee and the newspaper. I know NYC is all about rushing, but here time can slow down a little bit.

Room Tip: You can ask for a balcony when you book but those rooms are in high demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loriko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great staff very helpful. Location is perfect for shopping and Central Park. Nice pastries and fruit for breakfast that is included in stay. Also included is wine and cheese between 5:00 and 8:00. I would like to see the rooms updated, that would be my only suggestion to the hotel. We went into the Monkey Bar downstairs for a drink at the end of the night. The waiter staff we very rude and we left without the drinks we had ordered twice. Would recommend not using that restaurant for anything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Catherine P,

Thank you for your feedback. We are indeed in the early stages of planning an update; however, the hotel will retain its classic style. I was most concerned with your encounter in the Monkey Bar and we were sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one. I have informed their management team and we will work diligently with them to prevent any of our guests from experiencing a similar incident.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had a two night stay at the Elysee having been recommended by a friend. Flying into JFK I took the air train into Manhattan, signs from the airport to the Airtrain and changes for line E at the Jamaica station were fairly easy to follow. The journey took about 35 minutes to underground station 53rd on 5th avenue which is an easy four minute walk to the Hotel Elysee on 54th Avenue. The hotel's red awning sign makes it visible from a distance.
Check in was easy and the reception staff friendly and helpful, when my magnetic door key stopped working they quickly replaced it. The room was on the fourth floor so I mostly used the stairs as the single lift was slow at times. The standard room was comfortable, and fairly spacious, ample supplies of good quality gels and hair products are in the bathroom.
The hotel is well situated for getting around town with 5th,Maddison, Lexicon and Park Avenue being close on the East Side.
Complimentary breakfast was very adequate and in the comfortable club room coffee and cakes were freely available all day and a drinks event held every night.
The only minus point was that my room on the fourth floor had several large air-con units outside one of the windows which were continually noisy, should I stay again I would ask for a room away from this area.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Nooosey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

There is a wonderful, personable feeling to this hotel. Yes, there is street noise. Yes, the breakfast is limited (and also included in the room rate). If a wait for the slow elevator is going to annoy you, if you are offended by worn, oddball furniture, if you prefer the soulless order and symmetry of a chain hotel -- then don't stay here. If you enjoy the European small village hotel feeling, very friendly and accommodating staff, and a fantastic location -- then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinksWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,842 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £150 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing