We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My sister and I were in New York for a special weekend and the Hotel Elysee staff exceeded our expectations, even after reading all of the glowing reviews. They gave us an outstanding room and were always gracious and helpful. Thank you for helping add to a weekend full of wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 4,087 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you like giant lobbies with hundreds of people milling around, this hotel is not for you!
Just steps off Madison Avenue, this lovely hotel is homey and elegant at the same time. You are greeted by friendly staff each time you go through the front door. Check in was hassle free. The rooms are comfortable and large by New York standards. The second floor is devoted to the comfort of the guests. It consists of several large rooms decorated with comfortable couches, tables and chairs. The main room looks like a large living room in an upscale New York apartment. To the side is a library with more seating and a computer/printer for the use of the guests. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. The continental breakfast is included as are appies and wine at happy hour and beyond. Coffee, tea and cookies are available throughout the day. The beds are divine with good linens and duvets. The perfect hotel to relax in after the hard work of sightseeing and shopping in Manhattan.
This will be my home away from home when in New York.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel Elysee is a gem in NYC! Despite the hustle and bustle of the city, after walking into Hotel Elysee you are surrounded by a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. My husband and I loved the feeling of a smaller boutique hotel instead of one of the many chain hotels. The amenities include a full breakfast, all day espresso and snacks in addition to a lovely wine and cheese reception every night for all of the guests.

We slept very well in the bed and appreciated the free wifi in the rooms for some last minute work we had to get done. We love finding unique hotels during our travels, and this one definitely has character!

Hotel Elysee is very close to Central Park, so we suggest grabbing your morning coffee and starting each day out with a walk through the park - it was so beautiful in the fall as the leaves were changing colors!

We were spoiled at the hotel and would definitely return next time in NYC!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The title says (almost) everything. The French would call it "bon marché". And the staff is courteous and polite. The buffet lounge on the second floor conveys such a charming atmosphere that I almost felt tempted to sit at the piano and play.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CASTRONEVES559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just great friendly service and nice comfortable, if not big, rooms. The breakfast is delicious and in a comfortable lounge great for reading the times and hanging out for a while. Room service at night from the Monkey Bar is adequate. Rooms on the back are quietest.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear KathrynSpike,

Thank you very much for your review. We were so pleased to have you return for another visit and I am happy that you again enjoyed our service, especially the efforts of the staff who truly work very hard to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant stay. We just hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We enjoy frequent trips to New York, and since discovering the Hotel Elysee, always stay there. It is impeccably clean, the staff are very nice and friendly. The services are plenty and delivered cheerfully. The ladies who run the breakfast are so kind and seem genuinely happy to provide the service. The hotel is well located for easy access to local attractions, also subway. We are never disappointed, and always sorry to leave

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have stayed at the Elysee for many years. Cannot say enough about the service staff and how they go that extra mile. The convenience of the concierge floor for breakfast,afternoon tea, wine and cheese, and late night beverages and cookies is a welcome convenience.

Room Tip: We think It's time to do a little face lift in the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £198 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing