We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel great value”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a great, personal feeling place in a great city location. The decor is a bit 1980's country house look but that adds to the cosiness of the place. The rooms are large, clean, well equipped. The service helpful and friendly. The beds are comfortable. Great breakfast with newspapers in what looks like a clubhouse salon. I would definitely return here for another weekend stay. Great value.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    682
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
832
1,866
168
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My sister and I were in New York for a special weekend and the Hotel Elysee staff exceeded our expectations, even after reading all of the glowing reviews. They gave us an outstanding room and were always gracious and helpful. Thank you for helping add to a weekend full of wonderful memories!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you like giant lobbies with hundreds of people milling around, this hotel is not for you!
Just steps off Madison Avenue, this lovely hotel is homey and elegant at the same time. You are greeted by friendly staff each time you go through the front door. Check in was hassle free. The rooms are comfortable and large by New York standards. The second floor is devoted to the comfort of the guests. It consists of several large rooms decorated with comfortable couches, tables and chairs. The main room looks like a large living room in an upscale New York apartment. To the side is a library with more seating and a computer/printer for the use of the guests. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. The continental breakfast is included as are appies and wine at happy hour and beyond. Coffee, tea and cookies are available throughout the day. The beds are divine with good linens and duvets. The perfect hotel to relax in after the hard work of sightseeing and shopping in Manhattan.
This will be my home away from home when in New York.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel Elysee is a gem in NYC! Despite the hustle and bustle of the city, after walking into Hotel Elysee you are surrounded by a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. My husband and I loved the feeling of a smaller boutique hotel instead of one of the many chain hotels. The amenities include a full breakfast, all day espresso and snacks in addition to a lovely wine and cheese reception every night for all of the guests.

We slept very well in the bed and appreciated the free wifi in the rooms for some last minute work we had to get done. We love finding unique hotels during our travels, and this one definitely has character!

Hotel Elysee is very close to Central Park, so we suggest grabbing your morning coffee and starting each day out with a walk through the park - it was so beautiful in the fall as the leaves were changing colors!

We were spoiled at the hotel and would definitely return next time in NYC!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The title says (almost) everything. The French would call it "bon marché". And the staff is courteous and polite. The buffet lounge on the second floor conveys such a charming atmosphere that I almost felt tempted to sit at the piano and play.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CASTRONEVES559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just great friendly service and nice comfortable, if not big, rooms. The breakfast is delicious and in a comfortable lounge great for reading the times and hanging out for a while. Room service at night from the Monkey Bar is adequate. Rooms on the back are quietest.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear KathrynSpike,

Thank you very much for your review. We were so pleased to have you return for another visit and I am happy that you again enjoyed our service, especially the efforts of the staff who truly work very hard to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant stay. We just hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We enjoy frequent trips to New York, and since discovering the Hotel Elysee, always stay there. It is impeccably clean, the staff are very nice and friendly. The services are plenty and delivered cheerfully. The ladies who run the breakfast are so kind and seem genuinely happy to provide the service. The hotel is well located for easy access to local attractions, also subway. We are never disappointed, and always sorry to leave

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing