We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Chose this place from the high ranking of the Tripadvisor NYC hotels. All the positive comments are well-deserved! Used a car service the hotel set up to pick us up from Newark airport. So glad we did that! Going into NYC with traffic was an hour and a half, but we were comfortable and stress-free. We were given a King room with a balcony by the elevator. The weather was soooo cold we didn't use the balcony, but if it was nice I would recommend asking for one. From the outside the hotel has a nondescript awning and I was a little concerned. No worries. Inside the lobby is small, but very nice with a wonderful staff. Our super clean room was also very nice. The second floor has a lovely, cozy club room where we went for breakfast. The fruit was fresh and plentiful...lots of pastries, cereals and juice. There are a couple of restaurants across the street; Bill's had a line out the door one evening so assume it is good. Cellini's Italian must be good because the staff (or someone) had several pans of delicious smelling something delivered one evening while we were leaving. We like to eat at Pret-A-Mange soup/sandwiches and there is one at the corner. Central location; we did lots of walking. The car service picked us up to go back to Newark airport and with no traffic only took 20 - 30 minutes. Loved staying here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k&k007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,180 - 2,186 of 4,088 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a gem of a find. Great location in midtown, small attractive boutique hotel in good shape. Lovely decor, clean, excellent service. Very nice more-than-expected continental breakfast. Coffee and tea all day. Comfortable beds, internet access. The Monkey Bar is attached for a good meal in a cozy interesting atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This charming hotel is convenient to all the major shopping areas and about 2 blocks from the NY Metro. Very nice rooms, helpful staff and excellent continental breakfast selection. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ojaijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just can't say enough good things about the hotel and staff! Of course, the best thing ever is the location - just a couple of blocks to Rockefeller Center, St Patrick's, 5th Ave shopping, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, etc. The breakfast in the morning is so wonderful, such a cozy room and the breakfast staff is always super-friendly and helpful. The afternoon "tea" is great, lots of fruits, nuts, cheeses, of course lots of the vino, and all included in your stay. A nice break to come back to after sight-seeing all day. Our room was immaculate, and made up early for us every day. Luggage storage is available on first day/last day. It was quiet and well-appointed, with many amenities. The free wireless internet performed perfectly. The best thing; however, is the staff. I would especially like to mention Chris, always our favorite. ALL of the staff, from the doorman to the manager on duty, were friendly and very helpful, always available. We will NEVER stay anywhere else when visiting NYC.

Room Tip: We always ask for a back-facing room because we like quiet. We also enjoyed the king room more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SailCarpeDiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Despite many trips to NYC, this was our first stay at Hotel Elysee. It will NOT be our last. This lovely hotel is tucked into a perfect location just half a block from Madison Ave and all midtown has to offer. We were made to feel welcome right away. The room was lovely and a little more spacious than we have found elsewhere. The bathroom was small - no getting around that one, and the lighting in the bathroom was a little dim for applying makeup - but the fixtures were new and the pedestal sink was quite spacious. Very comfortable bed and linens. The icing on the cake is the very nice free breakfast buffet - fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereal, boiled eggs.......you get the idea. The same area serves free wine and cheese in the late afternoon/evening. The setting is quite nice and relaxed with multiple small seating areas and low tables. In addition, guests have free WiFi access throughout the hotel. Truly an oasis. Small enough to provide personal service and large enough to meet the needs of many.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Not cheap but definitely wonderful.
Beautiful breakfast and wine cheese fruit in evening. They even have cappuccino.
Bathrooms are marble but small.
Rooms in back off street are nice and quiet. Don't get one by elevator. I enjoyed by bathroom it had a stall shower.
Turn down service every night.
They greet you by name when you come in. They are very accommodating.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank nnemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Have stayed here twice; both times very enjoyable; small, unusually friendly hotel. Breakfast, and afternoon snacks & wine, are in a very pleasant space, and quite convivial. The rooms are quiet and very nice. The location can;t be beat, especially in this price range.




  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £198 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing