We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Elysee is the place to stay in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel that is in the perfect location. We went as a family and wanted to be close to Central Park, FAO Swartz, shopping, Times Square & Rockefeller Center and this location was perfect. The hotel itself is very charming and the staff was pleasant and helpful. When we arrived our room was not ready and they offered to upgrade us to a room that was ready for the same price. The suite we were in was Fabulous! Beautiful decor, roomy and clean. The complimentary breakfast was definitely a plus as well as having drinks and snacks available throughout the day on the second floor.

Our suite was on the front of the hotel, away from the elevator, on the 13th floor (or 12A as it is marked inside the elevator) and there was a lot of noise from the city streets below. However it is New York City and we expected that. The only other very small complaint we have is that the bagels they serve tasted terrible. We tried them a couple of times and tried different varieties to find that they all had a very odd smell and taste. But there were plenty of other great options to choose from like bread for toast, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, boiled eggs, etc.

We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we visit NYC.

Room Tip: On the back of the hotel away from the elevator if you want decreased noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerfromtexas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,120 - 2,126 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel Elysee is now my favorite hotel in NYC. It is a gorgeous hotel with comfortable beds and quiet rooms. The staff is professional, friendly, and caring. The free breakfast is delicious and plentiful, and the wine, crackers, cheese and olives in the afternoons are delightful. Cookies and tea every evening as well! We are especially grateful to the hotel staff for being so gracious to our friend who suddenly needed a room while her husband underwent an emergency appendectomy. Check-out time is normally 1:00 pm, but the hotel allowed an even later check out time to accommodate the husband who was still in recovery. Very caring staff!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristinka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wow. I'd wanted to stay on many visits, and finally spent Christmas Eve there this year. It is is a fantastic location - out of the madding crowd, of glorious 5th Avenue, and Rockefeller Center etc., but just blocks from it. A sweet, quiet little street, where one can breathe. A small hotel, pre-war building, I'm guessing, with higher ceilings, with moldings etc., so more character. Decorated in a French antique style - beautiful charming, enticing and warm. The staff are professional and perfect, friendly, polite and helpful. The street side view is classic NY. One, if not, my very favorite "petit coins", neighborhoods in the city. Could be 1960, outside, and a scene from "Mad Men", or "The World of Henry Orient". Right off the lobby is the very famous: "Monkey Bar" restaurant, where one can dine without even putting on a coat! It also has a small bar attached, but with a different atmosphere. During the afternoon, there are cookies, fruit and coffee/tea available in the lounge on the second floor, and from 5 PM to 8, in this same delightful, living-room space, they put out wine and cheeses, raw vegetables and dip. People gathered before heading out to a play or dinner, warm and cozy, and socialized. It was lovely. In the morning, this lounge serves the cold breakfast, with everything imaginable but hot food etc. You can have a selection delivered to your room as well, for a $5.00 service charge. Off of the lounge is little business center, with computers etc., and plenty to read. The hotel is immaculate, as pretty as a wedding cake, comfortable, quiet, and a perfect delight! What a beautiful place to wake up in, on Christmas morning! I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: They have no gym but are affiliated with one, nearby. I saw several rooms, and all were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InlovewGstaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From the moment I called to find out about this hotel, and spoke to a wonderful woman named Hope, I knew I had found THE ONE! What a beautiful gem of a hotel, right in the middle of Mid-town. With a very European flair, this property, which is part of the Library Hotel Collection, gives you the feeling that you have just walked into a beautiful "home" where breakfast is offered as well as beverages and cookies all day, followed by wine and cheese in the afternoon. We had a beautiful room on the 14th floor - and what a treat, it had a terrace!. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a beautiful job at having the room spotless. But the best part of this visit was the professionalism shown by each and every member of the staff. From the time we exited the taxi on arrival to the time we departed we were made to fell welcome. Many thanks to all of you ,and a special one to Cheryl, for making our anniversary stay so terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel has European elegance. It has the ambiance of a private club that is not pretentious. The second floor lounge is comfortable any time of day. The service is excellent. The hotel bar is The Monkey Bar and it is great fun. Many regulars and locals. Great conversation and congenial bartenders.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was first time for me to stay in a smaller boutique hotel and it was a different experience from what I am used to but I would rank it high overall. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were clean and quiet. We took advantage of the morning breakfasts everday but, as this was a popular feature, seats for the four of us traveling together weren't always readily available. Also, for future guests, the elevator was VERY slow so build time into schedule for this. The location was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

First time staying at this Hotel, not disappointed. Staff extremely friendly, room very clean, warm and nicely decorated. Hotel location great. The perks given with the wine and cheese, and breakfast were exceptional. Staff assigned to this task extremely professional, friendly and catering. Having these amenities were greatly appreciated and makes this hotel a standout. Highly recommend and plan on staying here again when we return to NYC

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £207 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing