We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Hotel Elysee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay at Hotel Elysee”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Absolute gem in the heart of prime Manhattan. The best staff we have come across, so helpful and courteous. The hotel is classic and welcoming and there is the added benefit and charm of the first floor lounge where you can have breakfast, afternoon tea and a happy hour all of which is inclusive. The rooms are very well appointed and the best are extremely spacious. We can't recommend the hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Try higher floors to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,964
    671
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
820
1,836
165
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

With all the electronic devices people now use when they travel, it would be more convenient to have a charging center within easy reach on the desktop rather than crawling around on the floor looking for an outlet. Also, many of the outlets in the room are so old and worn that plugs would not firmly engage the socket and kept falling out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank G-man-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elysee54, General Manager at Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear G-man-Charlie,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. You are correct, it is inconvenient to have to reach the baseboards to plug in your charger or electronic device. I inspected your room and I agree with you completely. Already, I have contacted our decorator and we are considering a few different options. I did though check every socket in the room and found them all in working order but I offer you my apologies for any difficulty you encountered. We all hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Avina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

i decided to visit this hotel based on other guests opinions and I can by myself verify it's excellence. Elysee is a boutique hotel, with character and charm. Classic music in low volume accompanies the complimentary breakfast, classic paintings everywhere, fresh flowers all around in the public areas, friendly and efficient staff. Also complimentary offered variety of refreshments ,wines, cheeses, fruits, fresh vegetables, excellent quality biscuits (every day between 17:00 -20:00) served in the red carpeted room ,equipped with coffee tables, big armchairs and bookshelves all reminding rather a private mansion's drawing room than a hotel's lobby.
As for the bed, there are not enough words to describe the softness of the bed's linen, felt like I was enveloped in whipped cream or a fluffy cloud. The hotel offers also a variety of choices for a superb sleep such as "memory" pillows, "sleephones "(special soft headphones hidden in a head band) permits you hear relaxing music while in bed, and many more. The queen room was pleasant with light blue and cream stripes wallpaper, a comfortable sofa, lots of drawers, and an antique cabinet. The room as well the hotel was spotless clean.
In the same block with Elysee are fine restaurants as well as in the hotel itself.
The only inconvenience is the absence of "flexible -split shower" in the bathroom (fixed on the wall shower is not at all helpful). But the overall experience of the hotel Elysee is grate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOULIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for both business and family weekend trips for more than 15 years, Every time I walk in, the staff makes me feel like a celebrity. John Avina, the GM and Chris, the weekend manager, make sure my stay is always perfect. It's a small boutique hotel centrally located and convenient to evrything, I wouldnt stay anywhere else. BGiardina.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I arranged our recent stay with Graig Sammis the Front House Manager, and all we can say is a professional of the highest standard. We had a great stay, service excellent the room (a Junior Suite) was very large the largest I have stayed in in NYC. The staff we top notch through the full spectrum of responsibilities. As ever with the Library Hotel Collection of Hotels the breakfast, evening wine reception and complementary refreshments are an extremely thoughtful addition and well delivered. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sphere1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We picked Hotel Elysee based upon the TripAdvisor reviews and they ceratinly came good.

The hotel is priced correctly for midtown, the location is great, just 5-10mins from Central Park & 10-15 from Times Square.

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed, from the greetings at the desk, the size of the room (a king deluxe, which was large) and the bed was the most comfortable ever.

Our room (which was always spotlessly clean), was on the forth floor, towards the rear of the building. Yes, we heard a/c noises from outside, but it didn't bother, just a low hum - most of the noise came from the internal heating when that kicked in, but again, nothing to worry about.

The continental breakfast was a real bonus, and added great value to the experience. As did the complimentary wine (Prosecco) & nibbles from 5-8pm.

Would highly recommend, 100%

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtualRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. I have stayed in NYC hotels on many occasions and this was one of the biggest rooms I've had, though not the one with the nicest view. However, it was quiet for NYC and that was rather refreshing. I also liked the neighborhood because it was within walking distance to Carnegie Hall and the Lincoln Center. It is actually less time to walk than take a cab during most of the day. They have a nice and plentiful complimentary breakfast and happy hour and the servers are very nice. The hotel took care of a FedEx package for me and that also arrived. We usually stay in SOHO, Tribeca or the lower East side for the downtown vibe, but uptown was really fun and I would consider staying here the next visit -especially if I wanted to see music, Broadway or museums.

Room Tip: We had one on the 12th floor. It seemed to be quiet, but not much to look out outside except an apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JKim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing