We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

it is nice to find a hotel in New York that is at a human scale and nice & central to the Shopping and Central part of Manhattan. We stayed for 3 nights and liked the 2nd floor club room/lounge it was a nice place to pause & have a coffee & Biscuit before moving on to the next activity.
Rooms are not huge but certainly comfy The noise of the A/C unit and poor TV reception are why I stuck to 4* rather than 5. Would certainly stay again, this is not a modern feel hotel, the elevator has a chandelier! but an individual place we really enjoyed

Room Tip: try to be as high as poss the street (it is New York!!) can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,885
    659
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
791
1,794
163
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I will start by saying that I would give 4 and half stars if I could, and I hope I can explain my reasoning for that rating adequately.

My wife and I first stayed here in 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We returned over Memorial Day weekend this year (with my 62-year old mother, who was in a separate room) to find that it was just as charming and accomodating as before.

The location is beyond perfect if you want to be in Midtown - it's on a quiet block of East 54th between Madison (to the west) and Park Avenue (to the east). Visible from the sidewalk in front of the hotel is a large bodega called Smilers at 54th and Madison which sells food, fruit, newspapers and the like. A 24-hour CVS is a few blocks away at 53rd/Lexington, and a Duane Reade is just around the corner at 55th/Park. The 53rd/Fifth Avenue stop of the E and M subway lines is also about two blocks away, with all the Lexington Avenue lines (4 5 6) just a little further walk away to the east. Rockefeller Center is mere blocks to the west, and all the shopping you can handle is just nearby on Fifth Avenue. And the southeast corner of Central Park is probably a five-minute walk. Long story short, you cannot beat the location.

The first thing that greets you is the courtesy and efficiency of both the doormen and the front desk staff. When our hired car pulled up in front of the hotel at just after 12:00 noon on the day we checked in, the doorman swooped in to grab all of our luggage practically before we were out of the car. Even though we were three hours ahead of check-in time, the front desk was able to find two rooms that had been cleaned to put us in.

My wife and I had a king room on the third floor that faced 54th. The bed was somewhat too firm for our liking but the pillows were comfy. There was an iPod docking alarm clock, but that was about as high-tech as the room got. The TV, though barely turned on, was not very big and the picture quality was poor. I understand that expecting HD channels in all hotels is probably unreasonable, but the whole TV situation could be improved. However, wireless internet is free and worked throughout the hotel.

The bathroom was well-lit with a high showerhead (always important for this 6'4" traveler) in the bathtub and good water pressure. Plenty of toiletries abounded, with the usual suspects of shampoo and conditioner along with a sewing kit and a shoe polisher. The towels, though plentiful, were a bit on the thin and scratchy side. Interestingly, when my wife was blow drying her hair with the dryer she always brings when we travel, the lights in the bathroom went out twice but came back on their own after a few minutes each time. Somewhat odd, but not trip-altering in any way.

One of the highlights of the hotel is the club room on the second floor where breakfast is served in the morning and coffee, tea, and cookies are available the rest of the day. The breakfast is a good spread of juices, coffee, tea, croissants, muffins, cold cereal, bagels, and the like. Newspapers and books are also in this room available to be perused at all hours.

Why not five stars then? The building and rooms are starting to show their age, for one. There is only one elevator (at least that I'm aware of) and it's not the fastest you'll ever see. I don't mind taking stairs, and we were only on the third floor, but if you're near the top it might get old waiting for the elevator. The room didn't quite get as dark as I would've liked, despite the fact that there were only two windows. These are minor quibbles in addition to what I've already noted, but they come at the cost of half a star.

Overall, one word that might be used to describe the hotel is "quaint". This would mostly be used to differentiate it from more modern hotels like The Peninsula, or even the Hilton that's a few blocks away. The location is flat-out unbeatable. The staff, from front desk to door to housekeeping, are friendly and efficient. Minor faults should not take away from the entire experience, which was one of comfort and hospitality. The bottom line is that this hotel is European in style, character, and sensibility. If this interests you, look no further, because you will likely do no better in all of New York City, especially for the price. And even if it doesn't, give it a chance anyway, as you might end up being as pleased with your stay as me, my wife, and my mother were.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mburtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This could be a historic stay - we had NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER - our visit to NY was enhanced by the courtesy, friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff.
Being on reception cannot be easy, but the humour and quick wittedness of the guys and gals who welcomed us into the hotel is sorely missed, now we are back home.
If you stay anywhere else in New York , you'd be missing out on this elegant and gracious hotel staffed by some of the most efficient and pleasant people you could ever wish to meet.

Room Tip: views on the lower floors are not good. Air conditioning is a bit noisy, so take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank romajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned home from another great visit to NYC and another fabulous stay at the Hotel Elysee! This is probably our 4th or 5th time staying at the hotel, (since discovering it a few years ago, we have never stayed anywhere else), and each time it has been outstanding - the atmosphere, the room, the staff, and the location! We can't wait until our next visit to New York and our next stay at this great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriMichaelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Let me start by saying...when can I go back? Loved this place. First of all, the location is fantastic - between Park and Madison on 54 Street, near all of the stores, offices, Midtown sites that are on your list. The style of the hotel is "old fashioned" - but this works perfectly for me. It is charming, cozy, and elegant...and the service is exemplary, with all staff members "Johnny on the spot", and with perfect attitudes. The rooms are smallish, but very comfortable, with lovely beds and well-designed bathrooms. The buffet Continental breakfast is delightful - fresh baked goods, cereals, excellent coffee and teas, fresh fruits - and very pleasant atmosphere to boot, overlooking 54 Street. I did not have a chance to try the cocktail hour. The rates are high, but when you consider that you can walk to many destinations, or that they are a short taxi ride away, the extra $$$ is worth it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is our third stay at the Elysee and we just love it.
Staff are so helpful, friendly and obliging.
Love the facility of nibbles and wine at 5p.m. Lovely to meet your friends and relax.
Situation is excellent and really we can find no faults at all - try and we might!!!!
Would never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank egreen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have a 3 yr old and require a bit more space than most. We were sold the JNR suite and availability was short so we received the King suite. WOW for NYC.

Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Met my 3 yr old with a small stuffed toy that she is still toting around.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. great spot and convenient.

Note to anyone staying in NYC... Rooms are small compared to any other city.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go the JNR suite. !!!! Its not much more expensive than other standard hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KTMADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing