We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreservedly recommended!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
NC, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unreservedly recommended!!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I will try to put an exclamation point on all the favorable reviews for the hotel by not repeating the details that others have mentioned of why the hotel deserves a five star rating: The superb location near the city’s iconic attractions, dining and shopping institutions, the plentiful continental breakfast in the morning that is book-ended by an equally hospitable wine and cheese spread in the PM, the highly attentive and very professional staff, etc.

When I saw the staff put on plastic gloves before they handled the food – this attention to detail ( whether or not it is a health requirement ) – correctly presaged perfect execution by the hotel of everything – including the limo service they recommended – during our recent three day stay. As an added plus, our young adult children, NYC sophisticates who spend very lavishly on their sybaritic lifestyle and are very hard to impress, thought the place was a “cool boutique hotel.”

If you want to be transported back to pre-war Paris in the heart of New York City this is the place.

Finally, these reviews tend to be subjective based on the writer’s experience. I have never given a hotel or resort a five star rating before – even assigning Palmetto Bluff which is arguably one of the best resorts in the country four stars.

Bottom Line: Unreservedly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldAntique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,973
    671
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
823
1,839
166
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Marland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a beautiful room with a great deal of space. Quiet (side) street at night. Monkey Bar immediately downstairs provides for good food as well as a nightcap. The hotel is a real find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nlsbhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A cute boutique hotel where service is at its best. Attached to the hotel is the famous "monkey bar" restaurant and bar where the food is exquisite ( especially their signature burger ) and again the service at the bar is top notch. As for Michael at the bar. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly and towels replaced regularly. Always ask for rooms on the top floors starting from the 10th floor to avoid any traffic noise. The only downside to the rooms are that even though there are blackout blinds, there is enough light that enters in The morning. Enough to wake up people like me who need pitch darkness. Otherwise a great hotel in all respects. Bathroom size is small but great for NYC. A complimentary breakfast is offered as well as free drinks from 5-7 pm daily. The breakfast room is cozy and inviting. Free wi fi is also great. A good selection of books are stacked at one end of the breakfast room if you are in the mood to just sit, relax and read. A highly recommended 4 star botique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ameros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We never bother to look further in NYC as this hotel meets all our requirements. The location is perfect. The staff are exceedingly helpful and, despite the very busy Front Desk, found us seats and tickets most efficiently. The 5 p.m. wine and cheese is welcome after a busy day. Perhaps a little freshening up of the public rooms is already on the cards - they begin to look a bit tired. We will return again knowing that this small hotel is a great place to stay, and nothing is too much trouble for the management team.

Room Tip: we We always ask for a high quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arrosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

All staff are friendly and attentive. Guests wanting everything to be fast or loud or abrupt should not stay here...it is definitely an "old world" sort of place. One is going to end up chatting with other guests in the lounge, just by being in line for the wine or the coffee or edible goodies. That is, unless one goes out of one's way not to talk to them! Free continental breakfast means I dont have to stumble out of doors to Starbucks first thing, in order to get my first cup of coffee in the morning. Really, I had no complaints about this hotel. Just know that it is a quieter place, you will feel out of place being loud or pushy or impatient here, if you see what I mean. And I found the antique look attractive.....a reproduction of Prince Albert holding baby Victoria was on my floor!

Room Tip: You may need the fan on early A.M. to avoid waking from street traffic, IF you are on the street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingconstance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location was excellent. Within walking distance of the theater district and lots of restaurants. The front desk staff was awesome. Breakfast was flawless. Newspapers from all over were provided in the coffee room. Wine, prosecco, cheese and crackers in the afternoon was a treat. The room was plenty big enough for the two required queen beds. I felt treated like a princess by all employees of the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor away from the street and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently stayed to celebrate our 20th anniversary and my in-laws 50th. It was our first visit to NYC and I was hoping to make it a very memorable trip for my-in-laws as he had proposed to her there. The staff at the hotel were more than capable of helping me with car service, flowers, cake, chocolates, champagne, and recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. They made our stay so enjoyable with all the extra attention that you did not get at the larger hotels. My in-law's room was stunning with the additional surprise of having a balcony with a little bistro table and potted flowers. We had a larger suite with a living room that had a pull out bed for our teenage son. It was quite spacious and had a beautiful fireplace with very nice furnishings. The staff really paid attention to our coming and goings and made sure the room was appropriately turned out which is not so easy when you have a teenager flopping on the bed all the time!

Our family enjoyed the breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres each day. We met many people from all over the world and it was so nice to have the time to chat with them in the lounge. Even when they were not serving food, there was always a supply of drinks and snacks available.

The location is superb with wonderful restaurants and shopping immediately available. It is definitely one of my favorite trips I have taken and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14 floor and didn't hear a thing. Not even a sound from another room on the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 4fun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing