We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice room. Small bathroom without a separate shower.
If the room is on the front (best view) you hear the noise of the road. If it overlooks the back is more quiet, but dark.
Some problems to find a sitting place at breakfast, due to a limited number of sitting places and tables.
The staff is excellent, always helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cristiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,110
    703
    102
    36
    11
See reviews for
861
1,923
174
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

second visit proved just as satisfying. We love this property. It s very small but the location is amazing -- within a few blocks you have access to world class shopping, every imaginable cuisine, MOMA, Central Park, Rockafeller Center.
Inside an oasis of hospitality and good taste. The staff here is genuinely friendly.
Not aloof but helpful. The rooms are old school and charming and the real bonus is the clubroom (clubby it is) serving complimentary breakfast, all day coffee and cookies and evening wine and hors d'ouevers!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a wonderful, lovely stay here. The location was perfect...close to MOMA, the Frick (don't miss it), Central Park. We had hoped for a terrace, but when one was not available, we asked for an upgraded room, and were given a spacious, terrific suite with a great front view, for very little more than our original room.

We mentioned it was our anniversary, and a bottle a champagne and a little box of chocolates were left on our dining table.

The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms lovely, and all rooms spacious for New York standards. Breakfast and a wine and cheese hour were also terrific. The decor was elegant, and I especially liked the chandeliers in the bedrooms.

Special thanks to Chris, who was impeccable and gracious. Still very young, he has been with the hotel for 10 years, which is always a good sign. The service was great, and all staff remembered us as we came in, and asked us how our stay was going.

Just lovely. Go there. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmorris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

By NY standards, this is not a large hotel but it has what matters in terms of location, service and deft little personal touches that are impossible in larger establishments. A predominantly young and friendly staff add much to the charm and sense of intimacy that one feels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brigid732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed twice at Hotel Elysee and once at sister Hotel Casblanca. As always, the stay was perfect and we are already talking about booking our next visit. It's the staff throughout the hotel that make it such a gem - the front desk, the ladies in the breakfast lounge - all wonderful and so helpful. A couple of helpful tips. We discovered a great grocery store which is on the north-west corner of Madison and 54th, half a block from the hotel. They have great gourmet sandwiches and other take-out items which are perfect if you are feeling like a really casual lunch. Pick up a tasty sandwich- big enough for two to share- and a cold drink and head back to the Elysee lounge to enjoy a relaxing lunch. We wished we had discovered this earlier as we would have gone touring in the morning, back for lunch and a rest, then more afternoon touring. So easy to do as the Fifth Avenue - 53rd Street metro stop is right behind the hotel. We always stay for five days and use a $30 metro pass good for a week's unlimited riding on the transit system - the best way to get around Manhattan. If you are looking for a great, casual, Italian meal, check out Cellini, right across the road from the hotel.The hotel booked us a table and we were not disappointed. They also recommended Jubillee, a French bistro about fifteen minutes from the hotel - the best steak and frites or mussels and frites. Both restaurants very reasonable by NYC standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in room 57 (deluxe w/ 1 queen bed) for 4 nights. We got the MoMA package, which we had to explain in detail at front desk so we could get our free Vip tickets. But once you get those, you avoid lines to enter the museum. The hotel works: check-in was smooth, we were given a choice of rooms (front or back), the room was a good size with separate desk area, and with space for two armchairs and a coffee table in the bedroom area, clean, good amenities, complimentary water bottles, good choice of TV channels. At check in we were reminded that front room guests could be disturbed by the garbage truck during the night. Such noise is nothing if compared to the air con. It severely interferes with a conference call, for instance. There are always guests on the 2nd floor, which offers free: quite generous breakfast (choice of yoghurt, teas, bread, cereals, fruit); computer, printer and internet access; newspapers; ice cold water with slices of lemon, coffee and choice of teas and cookies throughout the day. They offer disposable cups with lids. Guests take a break there in between activities to discuss plans for the day, but it is never crowded. We did not try the hors-d'oeuvre. The staff is all welcoming and helpful: front desk reminds you where you are, the rest of it (housekeeping, porters and 2nd floor) are friendly as well. The adjacent Monkey bar has some good choices, sandwiches and plates. We tried great fresh oysters and hamburgers.

Room Tip: Whatever the room, take a noise cancelling headphone if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I dont write reviews of Hotels but I have to praise Elysee and its staff for a wonderful evening. I let the staff know I was proposing on the night of my stay and they went above and beyond to make it a special night. Juan, Price and Matt at the front desk left nothing to chance and the room was exquisite. The hotel has an incredibly warm feel and is immaculate. I plan on returning and would recommend this beautifully styled hotel to anyone who appreciates an exceptional hotel with very attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 466 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing