We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time a charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“2nd time a charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

We visit NYC often and this hotel stands out above all others for many reasons.

I was so impressed the first time staying here with my girlfriend that I vowed to bring back my husband one day.

It was a special anniversary for my husband and I. I just happened to ask for an upgrade, mentioned the special occasion, and voila, we received a great upgrade for the night. My only regret is not being able to stay a night or two longer. Our suite was spacious, beautifully appointed with antiques, and had a charm that no cookie-cutter hotel can offer.

As usual, service was attentive without trying too hard, the breakfast and the late afternoon snacks were a treat. However, the cafe au lait/cappuccino in the a.m. is not good if you know your coffees. Stick with regular coffee.

Thanks to everyone at Elysee for another wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast, comfort, just about everything.
  • Disliked — Morning cappuccino - tasted like watery milk with a bit of chicory flavour.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank puilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,885
    658
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
790
1,794
163
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

Just returned from a two-night stay at the Hotel Elysee in midtown Manhattan. Having lived in NYC for over 15 years, I can say that the hotel's location just can't be beat! For tourists, it's an easy walk to many attractions plus shopping, dining and theater.

We booked a rather large, 1 BR suite for about $375 a night directly from the hotel website. I would estimate the suite to be about 650 sq ft--large by NYC standards. The suite featured a large sitting and dining area, tiny kitchen area (with dorm fridge, sink and micro--very convenient), nicely appointed, double-sink bath with tub and separate stall shower, and separate bedroom with king bed. The sitting area had a queen-sized fold-out sofa--comfy enough for two kids.

Our room was located on the 10th floor, but there were really no views to speak of. Everything was meticulously clean. The king-sized bed was quite comfortable and the linens of high quality. Towel supply was more than ample.

It was noted by one previouis reviewer that the rooms are not sufficiently illuminated. While this is a small point, I would certainly concur. More lamps or higher-wattage bulbs might be a good idea.

The hotel offers complimentary "happy hour" Monday through Friday. Red, White and Champagne were offered as well as coffee, tea, water, juices, cheese, olives, cookies and fruit. This was a lovely touch and many guests seemed to avail themselves of this respite. Also complimentary is daily continental breakfast. There was an impressive array of items available, and for a family of three, this would represent a $50-$75 savings over eating breakfast in most NYC hotel dining rooms. Quite a deal if you don't need Eggs Benedict and mimosas.

The front desk and lobby staff were welcoming and efficient. I think the faded "monkey bar" motif in the elevator area and hallways could use a bit of an updating.

All in all, our stay was quite pleasant. This is a small, old-world hotel, however, so if you are seeking glitz, fawning service and an extensive list of amenities, you may need to look elsewhere. For us, the premiere location and undeniable value made for a satisfying weekend.

  • Liked — Room size. Hotel's location.
  • Disliked — Dimly lit rooms, lack of view, small stall shower.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giddypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

My girlfriends and I stayed one night at the Hotel Elysee for a weekend trip to NYC. We chose this hotel based on location and the reviews on this website. The reviews for this hotel are spot on. The front desk staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms were incredibly quiet, clean, and the bathroom was large. We stayed in a suite with a king bed and queen sized sofa bed pullout. Both were very comfy. There is free high speed internet access, free access to the NY Sports Club which is 5 blocks away, complimentary bottled water and chocolate, and an included continental breakfast in the very comfy 2nd floor club room. The club room has coffee/tea and snacks every afternoon (which we missed because we were out and about) and the breakfast every morning from 7a-11a. The breakfast was impressive with coffee, tea, juices, milk, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, boiled eggs, bagels and toast. The breakfast is well staffed and staff will toast for you, make lattes, and clear away your dishes for you. The club room is otherwise open for guest use and has comfy chairs, couches, a TV, and is very well lit and comfy. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

Everything was perfect. Very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff. Exceeded our expectations!!

  • Liked — Professional, very clean , nice size rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank makanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

My husband and I have been staying at the Elysee for over fifteen years and we now consider it to be our "home away from home" while visiting NYC. The staff is professional, pleasant, courteous and endeavor to make our visit as pleasant as possible. We have stayed in many rooms over the years and have yet to be in one that was not to our liking. The best kept secret of the hotel is the 2nd floor concierge level where all guests may partake in breakfast and evening snacks. Coffee, tea and cookies are provided throughout the day. We enjoy this small boutique hotel for its superb location, warm staff, and great amenities. You will not be disappointed should you decide to stay there. John Avina, the manager, has done an excellent job maintaining the high standards for which the Elysee is known.

  • Liked — staff and the location
  • Disliked — Waiting for the elevator
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dcn0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed at the Hotel; Elysee January 2009 and just loved it
The rooms are perfect, decor is done to make you feel at home and not in a hotel room. the breakfast are quiet and set in a beautiful room. Club room absolutely great for a nice relax after a big day out, with so much food and drinks.
the location of the hotel is just perfect, away from all the busy tourist areas, but still close to everything.
We did not want to leave and would love to go again

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madiso040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MF2321
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

This is the second time I've stayed at the Elysee and both times I have been extremely happy with my experience. The rooms are nicely furnished, the staff is extraordinarily friendly and the location is perfect if you are planning on doing business in midtown. Although I've stayed there on business, its very close to some great shopping and night life. The concierge reccommended a place called The Modern to get drinks and I wound up having a great night. On my previous trip I did dinner and drinks at Tao, which was only about a block away from the Elysee and had an excellent time there as well. I would highly reccommend this place for its comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and great location. Also the beds are incredibly comfortable! This is by far the best value I've had for midtown and I wouldnt stay anywhere else!

-Matt

  • Liked — The location and overall value
  • Disliked — No real complaints
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MF2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing