We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #10 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This was our second time at the Hotel Elysee and it was just as nice as the first. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The first time we had a room facing the street, which was a little noisy with street traffic. This time I requested a more quiet room, which faced the back. Although the view wasn't much, we usually have our curtains closed so that was not an issue. The room and bath were kept very clean. The bed was comfortable and the addition of a flat screen TV was nice. There is a nice breakfast and evening wine reception, and throughout the day and evening coffee and tea, fruit, and cookies are out for the guests. The location is perfect, away from the hustle of Times Square yet walkable to the theater and the park and shopping just around the corner. The hotel does not have a fitness facility but does provide complimentary passes to the New York Sports Club, which was only a few blocks away. After staying many places in New York we have finally found our favorite.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexington_KYPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,065
    691
    102
    34
    11
See reviews for
846
1,890
169
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This little boutique hotel is located in a perfect location in midtown Manhattan. It has a european charm that makes it more special than staying in a large box hotel. We went for my birthday 2/26-2/28/09 and the hotel was kind enough to upgrade us to a small suite (room #60). The room was lovely although as every other reviewer has noted the bathrooms are small. The room rate includes breakfast on the 2nd floor (bagels, croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee, teas, etc.). They also have a wine and cheese hour (5-8 PM) in this same room. We were able to walk to 5th Avenue and cruise all the designer stores and were easily able to get a taxi to get to our other destinations. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The Hotel Elysee hit every note just right. We were three ladies in the city for one night to relax, see a matinee and enjoy a nice dinner. Very last minute, called Hotel Elysee the night before - the reservation clerk took quite a bit of time with me to determine the best room combination for our needs. Upon arrival Saturday morning, car was whisked away and we were given an early checkin. The rooms were perfect! I have stayed at the sister hotel, The Library, which I like very much - but their rooms are a little cramped. The Hotel Elysee rooms were roomy and I appreciated the seperate temp controls. (Can't sleep in a stuffy room). Decor is French something - pretty, not trendy and the beds were quite comfortable. Very clean, bathrooms had just been remodeled, shower actually had pressure instead of the usual dribble.
My favorite part of this hotel group is the club floor which is open all the time with coffee, tea and cookies. Filled with comfy chair clusters, it is the perfect place to unwind between activities. This is where they present a very generous continental breakfast which was available all the way until 11:00, constantly refilled. Service was great, from the front desk, to the bellhop to the club room. Just love this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy8gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We picked this hotel purely on trip advisor recommendation, and whilst fairly expensive it really was a beautiful hotel in a very good location. The rooms are spacious and immaculate and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay a great one! The complimentary cheese and wine (5-8) is an absolute must, but be warned don't overindulge especially if goin over the road to Bills bar where the friendly atmostphere and great barman 'Richie' will take care of you 'New York' style. Look out for 85 year old greeter Aldo whos mother used to cook for Rocky Marciano!
Some great eateries around but Bobby Vans Steakhouse 2 blocks away is a must- expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skutter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Although my daughter is in college in NYC, I rarely visit because of the high prices and unfriendly service at most hotels and restaurants. At the recommendation of a friend, I stayed at the Hotel Elysee with my family for several days during late summer. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the club floor is available to all guests with food, drinks, etc. offered during much of the day. On the day of our departure, we had purchased a few food and drink items from a nearby grocery store and had them packed in a cooler to take on the road with us. When the doorman saw us, he went into the hotel and brought back a bunch of crushed ice from the hotel kitchen and put it in the cooler for us. We were just amazed. I called this evening to make reservations for May and the gentleman I spoke with went out of his way to find me a lower rate and to provide friendly feedback and service. This is the way to win customers and keep them!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaS1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Having stayed at many NYC hotels over the years the Elysee is a tremendous fine. Old world charm combined with superlative attention to detail and service. The staff are always warm and welcoming and the hotel exudes a homey sense of warmth and personal style. Highly, highly recommend this hotel to the discerning traveller that does not want to be just another cold number in a faceless big city hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We chose to switch our hotel reservation from a much larger NYC hotel last-minute because we discovered all the added complimentary benefits to staying at the Hotel Elysee. The free wireless internet was a lifesaver when searching for city addresses, subway stops, and dinner reservations, and we really were able to cut down on dining costs by taking advantages of the continental breakfast each morning. The deluxe room in which we stayed was by no means "economy." It was spacious, clean, comfortable and was stocked with high-quality amenities. This trip was for our honeymoon, and we have decided to revisit this hotel every year.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smsullivan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing