We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, ideal location”
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here March 18-22 based on reviews, and found it suited us perfectly. It's an easy walk to shops on 5th Avenue, Central Park, the Theater District, and Rockefeller Center. For longer distances, the subway is just around the corner.
The staff provided exemplary service all around. I particularly want to highlight the efforts of the breakfast staff - always gracious, remarkably efficient. They continuously replenished the buffet of fresh fruit salad, yogurt, hot- and cold cereal, pastries, bagels, juices, coffees and teas. Just ask, and the girls will bring you an espresso or toast your bagel as you visit with other guests or read the Times or USA Today.
We had a quiet room on the 6th floor. No view to speak of, but spacious (for NYC) and sparkling clean. The king bed's mattress and bedding were very comfortable.
I can't imagine staying elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentle_wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,976
    671
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
823
1,841
166
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

I stayed here for a week in March. I'm a bit fed up with paying top-dollar for big-brand hotels that don't offer much in return, so I thought I would try something more like a boutique.

The location is very good, with all my mid-town meetings within a few blocks. Staff were very welcoming on arrival and were sufficiently organized not to have lost the presentations I had delivered to the hotel, which was a relief. I was on the 10th floor. There is only one lift and the week I was there must have been spring break because the hotel was quite busy and at peak times the wait for the lift was occasionally pretty long.

Room was a pleasant surprise in terms of size: I had something approaching a junior suite, with a separate dressing room and decent sized bedroom. Bathroom however was a bit dated in appearance and pretty small. Wireless LAN is available free throughout the hotel which I have decided is a 'must' for all hotels I visit, I resent paying hundreds of dollars per night for the room and then being asked to pay another $20 for WiFi. If Starbucks can do it for nothing, so can hotels, right?

My main issue with the hotel was the noise: I guess I was overlooking 54th St and every morning around 5:30 or 6:00am the traffic noise was horrendous, with trucks sounding their horns etc etc. If you like to lay in late in the morning, ask for a room somewhere quiet or don't stay here.

The hotel wasn't really all that geared up for business travellers: breakfast was served in a lounge on the first floor, which was fine except that because it was included in the price (which was a plus), it was not really possible to have a breakfast meeting in the hotel. I tried one morning and the doorman pretty much tried to turn my colleagues away!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Elysee from 3/19 - 3/23. We had a fabulous room on the 11th floor on the back side of the hotel, which was fine because it was much quieter than if we'd been facing 54th Street. We even had what I jokingly call a "Partial Park Avenue View". Our stay at the Elysee was nothing short of spectacular. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, and the 2nd floor lounge served up a fantastic breakfast each morning (go early, it's a zoo by 9:30 AM) and delightful wine and cheese in the evenings. In the afternoon, the lounge was a great spot to just people-watch out the window, and enjoy some coffee and cupcakes from Crumbs. The rooms were nicely appointed, and the large shower with ample water pressure was much appreciated after a long day of sight-seeing. Our only regret is that the Monkey Bar had not yet reopened. My husband is up in NYC often on business, and will try to stay at the Elysee whenever he can. I know when I come up next, I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahdoggiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We spent 4 nights in early January 2009.....it is a great little hotel with all the amenities that we enjoy. Not for those who want "glitz". Service could not have been any better. Wine and appetizers nightly and a wonderful, filling breakfast each morning. Location for visiting the MOMA is perfect. Bus service or subway are handy. It is an older hotel but well kept. We enjoyed and plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Last minute trip to NYC, thought we'd try a different hotel. Have stayed at the Casablanca but needed to be near the Lex on the East side. After reading the reviews here, booked a king room and requested a high floor. A very nice staff member called to say that he didn't have a high floor available but could give us a larger and very quiet room. Spacious and elegant , it had an anteroom/dressing room which kept the large bedroom uncluttered with luggage and shopping bags ;0 The bathroom is small but serviceable with lovely fixtures. The breakfast buffet is similar to the Casablanca, beautifully presented, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, muffins, croissants.All-day coffee and cookies and the wine and cheese often salvaged us after a long day on our feet. Our new favorite and The Monkey Bar looks like it will be open soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The4Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
190 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

This was our third visit but the first with our teenage children. They had their own room on a different floor but we never worried about them. The staff is so helpful with restaurant reservations or city tours, anything you need. They always say welcome back and after 3 stays it feels like home to us. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I booked two nights at the Hotel Elysee after reading a few reviews. I was searching for that special hotel to stay in whilst in New York, I had a suprise proposal planned so wanted something special and romantic.

The staff of the Elysee were very helpful, courteous and swift when it came to arranging a few special requests via email and telephone. Upon arrival, we were both very pleased with every aspect of the hotel. The staff are friendly, knowlledgeable and polite, the public and private areas are very well appointed and looked after, and the facilities such as breakfast room/lounge and library are both cosy, romantic and welcoming.
I look forward to making the Elysee my regular New York hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haplo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing