We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will definitely book here again if I come back to NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“will definitely book here again if I come back to NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Depending on taste, decor could be dated. But the service, location and Monkey Bar downstairs make up for that. Relaxed and non precious (yet professional), with comfy chairs, friendly (not OTT) staff, good wifi, good water pressure, good cocktails - that's the kind of place I like to stay when I go away... Complementary evening wine & cheese is such a nice touch.

If I had to find criticism, I would say there could have been more savory options for breakfast; and our minibar was not replenished

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,885
    658
    99
    32
    10
See reviews for
790
1,794
163
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights earlier this year. The rooms were comfortable and fairly quiet and not a bad size for a New York hotel. The staff were young and very helpful and courteous. We had a package which included breakfast and there was all day coffee/tea and small foodie delights. There was a wine and nibbles "happy hour" each week day which was a real bonus. These activities were held in a common room which allowed for travellers to mingle if desired. There was internet access and a really good feel about this hotel. Only drawback was the one slow lift! Easy walking distance to all the main attractions such as Times Square, Central Park and shopping areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Travelling on my own in the middle of winter, I wanted somewhere to feel comfortable and welcome. The Hotel Elysee more than exceeded my expectations. On arriving (and every other time entering and exiting the hotel), the staff acknowledged you. I asked a myriad of questions and every single one was answered with a smile and as much help as possible; my room request (quiet and high floor please) was more than met; the club room was a great location for breakfast, a cup of tea or hot choc at any time of day and beats sitting in your room working on your laptop (with free wi-fi)! The guests were as friendly as the staff and I heard numerous people say it was their hotel of choice (as it will now be mine). My only tiny gripe was that my aircon was sporadically loud and rattly during the night (but in fairness I didn't raise this with the staff as it was a very minor problem). Although the hotel doesn't have its own gym, it provides free passes to the NYSC gym - and it was massive with great facilities...only 5 blocks away. Hotel Elysee definitely goes to the top of my hotel list in New York now.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrish14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The experience in Elysee Hotel was very pleasant. It is an excellent situation. Near great restaurants, museuns , shops and easy to reach important points like Broadway and Lincoln Center. It has a very kind team who helps you in everything you need. The breakfast is very good , heathy and with good taste.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EneasBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The Elysee has become our favourite place to stay in New York. The location is great, and rooms are comfortable, spacious and quiet. Breakfast in the club room is a very pleasant and relaxing way to start the day, with a good choice of food available. All the extras that are included like wine in the evening, refreshments all day, wifi, newspapers and the use of a computer add up to give good value. The staff are very pleasant and, as the comfortable club room is available for use all day, you never feel restricted to your room. The only possible improvement we could suggest, would be that the choice on TV isn't great, so a larger DVD library would be appreciated . Unless we wanted a view of Central Park, we wouldn't look to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrbandmrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Wonderful stay! Perfect location, (including having Cellini--a favorite Italian restaurant--and a wine shop across the street),and such a friendly and helpful staff. The lounge is so welcoming after running around the city--to just relax any time, to enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese (lovely array) in the late afternoon, or to eat breakfast - complimentary spread with lovely fruits, muffins, bagels, cereals, lots of quality goodies. Being there right after a blizzard and all the stress of negotiating the city, this was an oasis for us. We will make this our hotel from now on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Celebrated my wifes birthday at the elysee. I ordered roses and chocolates , and got a free bottle of wine. The best roses I've ever seen. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.The staff are very friendly and helpful, and not too over the top. The monkey bar which was in "Sex and the city" is next to the elysee,so great for drinks and food. The hotels situated between central park (10 min. walk) and times square (15 min. walk). Great location.
A must stay hotel when visiting New York.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing